CES 2018 Preview: News, rumours and what to expect in January

In less than a month, the world’s leading manufacturers will come together to showcase their latest products at the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas, Nevada. Here’s everything you need to know about the event, including what will be on display – and when.

CES 2018 Dates: When is CES 2018?

Don’t be fooled into thinking you’ll be able stroll into voluminous halls of the Las Vegas Convention Center to take a look around. CES 2018, which will run from January 9 through January 12, is a trade show, meaning you’ll need to have an industry affiliation to be in attendance.

Most of the interesting announcements, however, will take place before those dates, with a number of manufacturers scheduled to hold media-only events on January 7 and January 8 – and we’ll be reporting live from the show floor to keep you in the loop.

So, to recap: CES will kick off in Las Vegas, Nevada on January 9. It will end on January 12. There will be media briefings on January 7 and January 8. And your go-to source for all the latest information should be Trusted Reviews (follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date).

But what’s going to be announced, you ask? Let’s find out.

CES 2018 News and Rumours: What will be announced at CES 2018?

Here’s what we’re expecting to see from various brands at CES 2018.

Google at CES 2017

Even though it’s yet to send out invitations to an event, Google has revealed that it will be at CES 2018. The firm has booked a large booth in the centre of the venue and eight hospitality suites at the Aria Resort and Casino – but we don’t know what it’s planning to show off.

Some believe that Big G will use the gathering as a chance to showcase its Made by Google hardware, which consists of the Daydream View, Google Home, Google Home Mini and, of course, the Pixel 2 and Pixel 2 XL, while others are speculating that a new PixelBook will also be on display.

Lenovo at CES 2017

Chinese technology giant Lenovo has penciled in an event for January 9 at 11:00 PT (07:00 GMT). It’s unclear what exactly the company is planning to unveil, but we’d bet our bottom dollar its the firm’s much-rumoured standalone Daydream VR headset, as hinted by Google’s VP of Augmented Reality.

LG at CES 2017

LG B7

Here’s a date for your diary: LG is holding a press conference on January 8 at 08:00 PT (16:00 GMT), where it’s expected to take the wraps off a new series of high-resolution OLED 4K TVs – B8, C8, G8 and W8 – in addition to a number of new budget-friendly and mid-range smartphones.

Related: LG OLED55B7V

Samsung at CES 2017

Surprise, surprise. Samsung is intending to host an event at the Consumer Electronics Show. Leaks and rumours suggest that it will uncover a 150-inch Home LED Display, a number of high-end MicroLED TVs and successors to its existing range of mid-to-high-end QLED TVs.

Over the course of the past few weeks, a number of reports have surfaced claiming that the firm will tease its upcoming flagship smartphone(s) of 2018, the Galaxy S9 and Galaxy S9 Plus, as well as the illusive foldable Galaxy X at CES 2018. And who knows? We could even see a new smartwatch – or two.

Sony at CES 2017

In typical fashion, Sony is throwing a get-together on January 8 at 17:00 PT (01:00 GMT on January 9) to highlight new consumer-grade products; a number of Bravia OLED TVs and 4K HDR projectors are tipped to headline the invite-only conference.

Related: Sony VPL-HW45ES

Moreover, we think Sony could be preparing to announce the much-anticipated all-screen Xperia XZ Premium 2, in a bid to win over potential Galaxy S9 customers before Samsung takes to the stage to unveil the handset later in the year.

What about the rest?

Here’s a list of all the other major manufacturers timetabled to hold a press conference at the Consumer Electronics Show:

  • Huawei – January 9 at 14:00 PT (22:00 GMT)
  • Intel – January 8 at 18:30 PT (02:30 GMT on January 9)
  • Nvidia – January 7 at 20:00 PT (04:00 GMT on January 8)

Dell, Dolby, Fisker, Ford, HP, HTC, Nikon, Panasonic and Toyota are expected to deliver a keynote address at some point, though we’re waiting on specific dates. We’ll be sure to update this post as soon as have more details – so be sure to check back.

Are you looking forward to CES 2018? Be sure to let us know over on Facebook or Twitter @TrustedReviews.

Black Friday Deals