Home » News » Games News » PS3 Update Pulls 'Install other OS' Option

PS3 Update Pulls 'Install other OS' Option

by | Go to comments

Share:

It is traditional that hardware gets more powerful and adds features with every generation - unless you're Sony...

Following on from controversial decisions such as to strip the PS2 hardware emulation from first generation PS3s and the option to install Linux as an alternative OS from the PS3 Slim, Sony has decided to even things up a little: by stripping this latter option from all PlayStation 3s.

The update - which launches on 1 April, though Sony insists isn't an April Fools - will come with firmware v3.21.
/94/1e3226/c81e/12994-image.jpg
"{It} will disable the “Install Other OS” feature that was available on the PS3 systems prior to the current slimmer models, launched in September 2009," said Sony Senior Director of Corporate Communications & Social Media, Patrick Seybold. "This feature enabled users to install an operating system, but due to security concerns, Sony Computer Entertainment will remove the functionality through the 3.21 system software update. In addition, disabling the “Other OS” feature will help ensure that PS3 owners will continue to have access to the broad range of gaming and entertainment content from SCE and its content partners on a more secure system."

Naturally enough, committed Linux users can choose to skip the upgrade, but Sony warns this will mean you lose the following (fundamental) features:

  • Ability to sign in to PlayStation Network and use network features that require signing in to PlayStation Network, such as online features of PS3 games and chat
  • Playback of PS3 software titles or Blu-ray Disc videos that require PS3 system software version 3.21 or later
  • Playback of copyright-protected videos that are stored on a media server (when DTCP-IP is enabled under Settings)
  • Use of new features and improvements that are available on PS3 system software 3.21 or later
Yep, that pretty much equates to 'use Linux OR have a PS3'. All users currently with a Linux OS installed will also need to back-up their data prior to the firmware update since "they will not be able to access that data following the update."

So understandable elimination of a novelty feature of another prime example of Sony misunderstanding its user community? You let us know...

Link:
via PlaySation.blog

Go to comments
comments powered by Disqus