Home / Computing / Software / Nero BackItUp & Burn / Image Gallery: Nero Express

Nero BackItUp & Burn - Image Gallery: Nero Express

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Xiphias

June 11, 2009, 6:44 am

The backup software looks good but I'm not paying £30 for a bundle of stuff I'm not going to use. Make is availible on it's own for a tenner and then I'd give it some consideration.





Also, my experience with Nero Express is that it's suitible for occasional use but if you need to use it often the wizard interface will drive you crazy - Nero Burning ROM in the Nero 9 package is likely to be much nicer.





The review makes it sound like BackItUp is included in the Nero 9 package but it's not listed on the website so could you clarify? If it is included then spending £10 more on Nero 9 package (It's availible for £40 in several places) to get Nero burning ROM as well as all of the other disc tools seems well worth it. It also includes audio, video and picture editing tools but I don't know what their quality is like.

Chocoa

June 11, 2009, 9:57 am

I guess, as you point out Ardjuna, most savvy folks will opt for freeware equivalents. Those not sure sure will probably buy this. But, like many commercial outfits, Nero have a bad habit of creating bloatware in product revisions - as a 'crusade' of price justification..

Steve

June 11, 2009, 1:12 pm

I don't see the point of this. It's just a stripped down version of the real product and I think they've got a nerve to ask for £30. Nero 8 is available from the likes of play.com for £25 and that's a fully featured package!

Andy Vandervell

June 11, 2009, 2:04 pm

In fairness to Nero, though, this is kind of meant to be the exact opposite of its larger suite, so it's significantly less bloated than that.

basicasic

June 11, 2009, 4:03 pm

The main problem with software suites like this is you end up with one thing you tend to use and 10 tonne of stuff you dont.





I always think its best to just get the piece of software that does the job you want it to do. As Chocoa said there are plenty of cheaper/freeware alternatives out there for those in the know.





IMO Nero is bloatware in a box.

Chris

June 11, 2009, 6:15 pm

@basicasic: To be fair, there are a grand total of 4 pieces of distinct software in the BackItUp suite, compared with 21 in the full Nero 9 package. I wouldn't call that bloatware at all, but if you want to level that accusation at the full suite then you wouldn't be the first ;).





Also, I think Xiphias may be right. It looks like Ahead have removed BackItUp from the full Nero suite with version 9. At least, if they haven't, it's an error on their website. Maybe they've greatly expanded BackItUp's functionality with the intention of selling it as a separate product, but if that's the case they should really have called it something else...

Chocoa

June 12, 2009, 4:49 am

I may have mislead some here. I am not saying this reviewed package is bloat-ware. But that over time, just as the 'definitive' Nero package has done, they get burdened with addons. - Most are of dubious real value. More about justifying a revision and usually an increased asking price to boot. I think many packages like the reviewed pander to the fearful rather than the needy. - But hey, that's marketing!

TechVegan

June 15, 2009, 6:12 pm

@Xiphias:


Good point. To clarify, though Nero has run occasional promotions where you get BackItUp free with Nero 9, it isn't currently included in the company's suite. Sorry about any confusion.





@Chocoa:


To be honest I think the packages Nero bundles under the BackItUp name work well together, with the only part that might be superfluous to most users being BurnRights.

Mark Berger

June 10, 2016, 11:22 am

nice review

comments powered by Disqus