1 of 5 pictures

Need for Speed Rivals

Need for Speed Rivals
Need for Speed Rivals

5 Pictures - Need for Speed: Rivals

  • Need for Speed Rivals
  • Need for Speed Rivals
  • Need for Speed Rivals
  • Need for Speed Rivals
  • Need for Speed Rivals

Anthony Maddison

November 28, 2013, 1:27 pm

I'm not sure I can take this review seriously, “Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2012)was a gripping remake of a flawed classic”. MW 2012 was the most soulless NFS I’ve ever played, it was an utter chore to grind through and I couldn't wait to finish it so I could get rid. “Gripping” certainly isn't a term I’d have used anywhere near that game. “…the woeful Need for Speed: The Run?” Again I have to ask the question, do you actually play these games prior to a review? The Run was probably the best of recent NFS. The comments are absolutely laughable.

In fact the more I think about it the more I know I can’t take this review, and
perhaps anything you review in future, seriously.

Stuart Andrews

November 28, 2013, 1:48 pm

Hi Anthony. As I never tire of saying, reviews are always personal opinions, and your opinion happens to differ from mine. Still, taking a quick squint at Metacritic, I see my opinion on Most Wanted 2012 isn't vastly out of whack with the general consensus, while most people seem to regard The Run as the worst of recent Need for Speed games. Who knows? I might be wrong and I certainly don't take Metacritic as the source of all wisdom, but in the end it's just my opinion, though I do take these things quite seriously.

Anthony Maddison

November 28, 2013, 2:38 pm

Hi Stuart, totally understand that there are differences of opinion out there and I appreciate more than most that people will see two different things when looking at the same picture. However, while I’m pleased to hear you do take the reviews seriously (to be honest I wasn’t questioning your professionalism, just your verdict), I do feel somewhat concerned that there is such a difference of opinion
here, in fact we’re at the opposite end of the spectrum on this one. Perhaps we just look for different things in racing games, I don’t know, what I do know is that I’d have to strongly disagree with your opinion on this.

Also I notice that the user reviews on Metacritic show The Run 0.1 ahead of Most Wanted 2012 though, not much I know but the point stands.

Finally, don’t feel I’m slating your review here, I’m not. I haven’t played the game yet and I’m not in a position to comment one way or another. I’m simply saying that I personally wouldn’t be comfortable taking your opinion on the game after bearing in mind your opinion on the others in the series being so different from my own.

Stuart Andrews

November 28, 2013, 3:04 pm

Hi Anthony. Thanks for the considered reply. You're welcome to strongly disagree with my opinion and let that influence your decision on whether or not to buy a game. All the same, I think it would be a shame if you missed out on this one. I still think The Run was a poor Need for Speed (bad structure, endless rubbish cut-scenes), but Rivals is the best since Hot Pursuit - and at the moment I think I like it more.

Anthony Maddison

November 28, 2013, 3:14 pm

Thanks for the reply Stuart, at the least I'll almost certainly try it, I've not missed a NFS game in years.

Once I've had a chance to play through I'll put another comment on as to how I find the game, who know's, I might even agree with you after playing it!


Ethaniel Ayala

November 30, 2013, 3:05 am

Hi, I will get this game for Christmas, I really liked Hot Pursuit, I love being a cop and ramming the racers,flipping them and junk. Will it have some decent crash scenes? Just wanted to know because Forza Horizon bored me, I didn't like that the crashes and stuff weren't realistic,but the races were eh. They had an amazing array of cars. Plus, what do you mean by the horrors of need for speed underground 2, I loved that game. In fact, I still have that game. I really liked the in depth customization. The game was fun, but we all have the opinions? Is this a good game?


December 1, 2013, 5:12 am

I literally stopped reading after the first few sentences because no matter what score or what the reviewer says about Rivals, I know his priorities are horribly messed up. Underground 2 was a great game, and the original Most Wanted is quite possibly the best Need for Speed of all time. The remake of that was a huge disappointment, so I know this dude has no idea what he's talking about.

Skinny Pete

December 20, 2013, 4:37 am

Hi Anthony & Stuart, Donkey was the best videogame ever


January 3, 2014, 9:07 am

I have to agree with you somewhat. NFS Most Wanted (original) was undoubtedly one of the best NFS games out there, and the remake of it was an absolute joke. But then came Rivals and I was a little skeptical about it because I hated the remake of Most Wanted but Rivals was definitely worth it. Although I do have to say I really miss the extreme customizations you could do to you car like in Undercover, Most Wanted (original), Underground 2, etc. The customization in Rivals is a little better comparing to Most Wanted (2012). I have to say I was expecting more. But its great that you can upgrade you engine, strength, etc. to make your ride tougher and faster.

Daniel Brito

February 4, 2014, 2:02 pm

Did you just diss NFS Underground 2 and the original Most Wanted?! To pile on you praise the HORIBLE Most Wanted remake?! This is obviously written by something (not someone) who has no idea what there talking about. This isn't even compatible to Forza Horizon! The only reason I got this game was for cop chases and cause Xbox gave it for 30$ & even so I feel I overpayed. You need to just stop writing reviews, at leastbflr racing games. I cannot believe you just dissed the best & then saidnthia crap was good and compared it to forza! Horrible just horrible!


February 26, 2014, 6:39 pm

Underground 2, Most Wanted (2005) and Carbon in my opinion was probably the best ones ever made, many of which would agree also. The fact that Slightly Mad studios (SHIFT - was bad), Ghost games and Especially Criterion games (developers) have contributed in making horrible remakes of the legendary Most Wanted and Hot Pursuit games In hopes to outshine its predecessors. Sadly I find it tragic In what they've done to the game and its reputation. Sure their graphics and handling were smoother but everything else sucked. We need EA Black Box and EA Canada back to make an Underground 3! seeing as criterion already killed Hot Pursuit and Most Wanted. Also this reviewer is terrible, I Still can't believe he trash talked Underground 2 and The Run. What makes it worse is that the reviewer is even more wrong claiming Rivals isn't a Criterion production, but the work of a new studio, Ghost Games. Right... Ghost studios is 80% criterion and a few others from EA Gothenburg. I'm actually glad its a little bit of an improvement.

comments powered by Disqus