nVidia GeForce GTX 280 Deals

By Edward Chester



June 26, 2008, 3:33 am

"What can we say about Counter-Strike: Source that hasn't been said before? It is simply the benchmark for team-based online shooters and, four years after its release, it's still the most popular game in its genre."

I would argue against that one a quick look at www.xfire.com shows COD4 at about 9 mil, COD2 at 5 mil and CSS at 2 mil minutes played today.

Otherwise a very interesting article, the only thing it makes me sad about is the size of my wallet :)


June 26, 2008, 1:19 pm

Okay, it's obviously taken a hit in recent years. I'll amend that line. still doing damn well for such an old game, though.


June 27, 2008, 6:20 am

Well call of duty is a full production game. with single player mode and many different versions of multi player... Cs is A Mod it is not a stand alone game. And there is only one mode of play (i.e. there is no capture the flag or free for all modes)


June 27, 2008, 7:17 pm

Sorry, I'm not sure what your point is Intex?


June 27, 2008, 11:16 pm

I thought this was a fantastic review Ed, very in-depth and informative. Looking forward to a GTX260 review, as there is no way I'm shelling out 400 quid on a graphics card! The 260s seem to be going for 𧶲-300 at the moment... which is still very high in my book, but tempting given the potential performance gains over my current 7900GT KO.

P.S. Ed - I think Intex was replying to Exitialis, justifying the currently lower usage stats of CS:S.

Varis Vitols

July 3, 2008, 4:25 pm

life said on 27th June 2008

In that case, why don't You have a look at Radeon HD 4870? It outperforms GTX 260 in almost every case, particularly with AA enabled - by 20 percent. In many cases it stands very close to GTX 280, with AA enabled, but costs only 185-230 pounds at online stores, depending on manufacturer.


July 3, 2008, 11:43 pm

What are your comments on the explosive heat and noise that the GTX 280 generates?

Flight Instructor

March 27, 2009, 6:49 pm

I like your reviews, in particular when they refer to games hardware, but I only use flight simulator, is it possible to include this type of game when reviewing hardware.

comments powered by Disqus