Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Moto G / Battery Life, Call Quality and Verdict

Motorola Moto G - Battery Life, Call Quality and Verdict

Andrew Williams

By Andrew Williams

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

10

User Score:

Motorola Moto G – Battery Life

The Motola Moto G has a 2,070mAh battery, just a tiny bit smaller than the battery of the Nexus 4. As with the camera, packing a large battery into the phone clearly wasn’t a massive priority.

Battery life is fairly good. You'll get a full day's use out of it, and this can be stretched to almost two days if you use the Battery Saver mode.

Quite simply, this turns off 3G background data access for apps when your battery is low. This is the most effective way to stretch out the final minute's of a phone's battery. Try turning off mobile data completely for proof - your phone will last much longer. With battery saver engaged you can squeeze about a day and a half out of the phone, which is about standard for an Android phone.

In our standard video playback test, the phone lasted for around eight hours. This not exactly a jaw-dropping performance, but gives you enough stamina to watch a few films on a long flight.

Moto G

You can't carry around a spare battery here, though, as it's locked into the Moto G.

Motorola Motom 6

Motorola Moto G – Call Quality and Sound Quality

The Motorola Moto G has pretty unremarkable call quality, lacking both the beefiness and top-end clarity of the best phones. Top volume could also be a little higher. However, calls are still perfectly functional and the phone does have a secondary microphone on its top edge to provide active noise cancellation for calls.

The phone's loudspeaker sits on the back, right up by the camera lens rather than down on the bottom edge as is the fashion with some manufacturers these days. As with the call quality, it's not one of the most impressive elements of the Moto G.

It's a mono speaker with decent volume, but the treble is a little harsh. However, unlike some other budget phones we didn't have any major distortion issues at top volume.

Motorola Motom 8

Should I Buy the Motorola Moto G?

The Motorola Moto G is the finest £135 phone ever made. It’s not perfect and it doesn’t have everything that a more expensive phone has, but at every turn Motorola seems to have made the right design decisions, while pushing the price down even further than penny-pinchers ZTE and Huawei have done in recent years.

This is a phone that can do almost everything a Nexus 5 can – or at least everything 90 per cent of the population would want to do with the phone. If you want a sub-£150, or even sub-£200, phone, this is the one to go for.

It's more powerful than more expensive competitiors like the HTC Desire 500 and Sony Xperia M, but it's the screen that seals the deal. It's just in a different league to rivals.

Verdict

The Motorola Moto G is one of the best phones of the year, and the first time we’ve seen a phone of this calibre launch at under £200 SIM-free. That it’s so much cheaper than £200 is a minor miracle. This phone deserves to sell by the bucketload.

Next, read our Nexus 5 review

Overall Score

10

Scores In Detail

  • Battery Life 8
  • Camera 6
  • Design 8
  • Performance 9
  • Screen Quality 9
  • Software 8
  • Value 10
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

geoff5974

November 15, 2013, 6:27 pm

I bought 2 from p4u £100 for one 4 Xmas present 4 my mummy lol n £115 for other cos of diff network payg s n so far its a great phone and as said seems 2b faster than my s4 which I can't stand lol eBay fodder very soon . phone is simple n simple 2 use n no bloatware that other phones seem 2 have . 9 out of 10 at this price :-) cheap can be great .

RJ

November 15, 2013, 7:52 pm

I bought one of these at Phones4us this morning for £119, unlocked, plus the obligatory £10 payg sim. They had just arrived overnight. I admit I didn't need it, it's a weakness I have and I should probably seek help. I only got my Nexus 5 last week. I argued it was a good second phone, a back up, an insurance policy to dropping the Nexus down the toilet... Anyway, guilt over, what do I think of it?

It really is superb, and indeed would be brilliant at twice the price. At this price point it is peerless. Build, screen, feel, weight, responsiveness.....just like a slightly less favoured sibling of the Nexus 4. It feels as good and fast as my 'old' Nexus 4, in fact feels better in the hand thanks to its back being matte plastic not slippery glass.

If you like vanilla Android, want a premium feeling phone for half price, this is The One. It sort of replaces the Nexus 4 at a much lower price, whereas the Nexus 5 is an upgrade at a higher price.

Rick

November 15, 2013, 7:55 pm

I bought this phone today, and it's honestly the best budget phone I've ever bought. It easily rivals some £200 devices; mine was £120 from Phones 4 U (plus a £10 top up which can be applied to a contract) for the 8GB version. The only down side is the lack of a micro SD slot, but otherwise it is incredible value. I'm really pleased with it and reckon if you need a new phone, this is the way to go. It's a mid-range phone at the price of a crappy entry level one!

BritishGuy94

November 15, 2013, 8:57 pm

This seems like a good mid range phone at a very low price. This is definitely Google's attempt to stop windows phone from gaining share in South America and Europe. The current market seems to be:

High end - Android and IOS.

Mid range - Android, Windows Phone and to a lesser extent IOS.

Budget - Windows Phone and Android.

The low end android phones do seem to be low end except for a few but the low end Windows Phone seem to be mid range in specs. However, with this new one android is now leading in the low end market again possibly limiting windows phone growth and maintaining androids dominance.

Luciano Carvalho

November 15, 2013, 9:14 pm

Moto G is in fact performing better than the Nexus 4 on benchmarks, and the camera quality is actually better than N4's. So, Moto G is actually a superb replacement for a Nexus 4. The stock Android experience also is a big plus and will feel like a natural replacement for Nexus users.

aksolanki

November 16, 2013, 12:06 am

Hi, does this handset have a notification light? Not a single review has mentioned this. I was hoping trustedreviews would have covered this.

Andrew_TR

November 16, 2013, 12:16 am

Hi,
Yep, there's a nice white LED above the screen - didn't spot it at the start. I'll add this to the review when I get a chance.

Revitalize

November 16, 2013, 7:59 am

Andrew,can I ask you something?
What type of sim did moto g use?mini sim,micro sim or nano sim?

RJ

November 16, 2013, 8:47 am

It's a micro sim. You have to prise off the back cover, breaking off finger nails along the way. It's the only reason to take the cover off as the battery is fixed and there is no SD card.

RJ

November 16, 2013, 8:52 am

It's a tad more intense than the Nexus 4 or 5 - but still a bit wishy washy compared to e.g. Blackberry notification lights.

mitchell dennis

November 16, 2013, 10:59 am

i have one of these and guess what. it does it glows white when i get emails :)

mitchell dennis

November 16, 2013, 11:00 am

oh btw this phone id freaking amazing! puts other OEMs to shame

andy roid

November 16, 2013, 11:33 am

I have an xperia T - how is the motorola G in comparison please? My main interest is battery life, music quality through headphones and gaming performance - camera is of no interest to me! I really need to know as im thinking of selling my xperia T to get a motorola moto g! :-)

betelgeuse

November 16, 2013, 2:08 pm

average battery life mr williams,every other review has stated the battery life as the single standout feature lasting a full 2 days

Andrew_TR

November 16, 2013, 5:57 pm

We'll be adding more detail on battery life soon. It's one of the tougher bits to test empirically (with a phone). You'll get about a day and a third to a half if you keep data on and use it a bit. Battery testing is something we're looking at improving in future reviews.

toboev

November 16, 2013, 6:51 pm

Good to hear. Buy yourself a lightmeter also - most of the reviews just stick screen brightness to 50%, ignoring whether this is brighter or dimmer than others. Given that the screen sucks most juice, it would be a big source of error.

Revitalize

November 17, 2013, 4:25 am

Oh,its like that,thank you bro,
Im will buy Moto G when it enters Malaysia next year

MC Wong

November 17, 2013, 5:04 am

Possibly also in response to upcoming tizen phones from Samsung. This should checkmate Samsung's attempts to replace android.

Igor

November 17, 2013, 11:19 am

Does this phone have a constant blinking LED notification light?

Rusty Shackleford

November 17, 2013, 2:29 pm

yeah, many recent events suggest google seriously feels threatened by windows phone.

Neil Anderson

November 17, 2013, 4:10 pm

were do you buy this for 135 pounds pls

Stormwatch

November 17, 2013, 7:57 pm

Why is "no microSD card" not in the cons list? That's a deal killer. 8GB is extremely little storage these days.

RJ

November 18, 2013, 7:45 am

No idea where you can get it for 135, but you can get it for 119 at Phones4Us, unlocked :) - in store or online, with a free extra back cover.

RJ

November 18, 2013, 7:49 am

It's a funny thing, battery life with smart phones. If you want to maximise battery life, say if on the road without a charger, you can shut down so many functions (GPS location, Google Now, as well as the usual screen brightness and timeout etc) - with that I can 2 days easily on my Moto G or Nexus 5. With all the bells and whistles on it drains like crazy. A lot of people don't tweak their phone power variables to suit their particular set of power requirements.

Alex

November 18, 2013, 8:47 am

I guess the weighting of the score is strongly biased towards value. In fact you could say they have completely ignored all other scores. The score should have been closer to 8 if the categories were equally weighted.

There is no excuse for no SD slot and there is no excuse for pathetic battery life. But having said that, many much more expensive phones suffer from those complaints.

comments powered by Disqus