Motorola Defy+ specs

By Edward Chester


Key Features

  • 3.7in, 480 x 854 pixel LCD display
  • 1Ghz TI OMAP 3620 processor
  • Android 2.3 OS
  • 5 megapixel camera
  • Manufacturer: Motorola
  • Review Price: £213.00
Quick Glance
Screen Size (inches) 3.7
Operating System Android OS
Touchscreen Yes
Operating System Android OS
Height 107
Width 59
Depth 13.4
Weight 118
Available Colours Black
Touchscreen Yes
Screen Size (inches) 3.7
Screen Resolution 480 x 854
Processor and Internal Specs
CPU 1GHz single-core TI OMAP 3620
Talk Time 430
Standby Time 384
Internal Storage 2
Camera 5
Camera Flash 1 x LED
Front Facing Camera No
Charging/Computer Connection microUSB
3.5mm Headphone Jack Yes
3G/4G HSDPA 900 / 2100, 850 / 2100, 850 / 1900
WiFi Yes
Bluetooth Yes
App Store 300,000+


December 7, 2011, 10:37 pm

Have they fixed the issues surrounding the ear piece though? This is one of the few phones that'd make me tolerate the dogs mess that is Android.


December 8, 2011, 12:57 am

All I can say is 'so far, so good'. I've been using a handset on and off for a couple of weeks, with it being dunked a few times during that period, and have had no issues. There is a chance there will be a repeat of the issues as the basic hardware has changed so little but I think the original handsets only had sporadic problems anyway.


December 8, 2011, 4:04 am

Sporadic is enough to put you off though, especially if you'll buying it second hand like I'll be. A solution exists though for those inflicted, involving replacing the damaged ear piece with one from an old Sony Ericsson handset.


December 8, 2011, 4:17 pm

I mean sporadic as in it only effected some handsets. Assuming you buy a working one there's little to suggest it will then stop working.

Martin Daler

December 8, 2011, 8:15 pm

How so Ed? From what I understood, all the fautly earpieces started out working, and developed the fault thereafter.


December 9, 2011, 11:56 pm

Have had a Defy for a year now. It is noticably slower than our Atrix but you get what you pay for. Screen size is perfect for use as a hiking gps (Backpack app is awesome). I think the reviewer misses the point there. A larger screen would mean a larger phone and that wouldn't really help in an "active" device. The defy has rubber flaps (so does our indestructable Sonim btw). They are used every day nearly for the headphones and charging. They are still as good as new. The screen has a few scratches but nowt major. Very good, limited speed phone. Perfect for outdoors as it has survived mud and water over and over. Even a fall in the river. It's not a patch on the Sonim xp3.2 Quest pro, it isn't supposed to be. BUT it is smaller, lighter and can do so much more. A friend has the shiny new Sony Xperia Active. It's tiny with a very nice screen that responds better in the rain than my Defy but the battery is unbelievably poor. Doesn't last an 8 hour hike, makes it a bit pointless. He's looking into on of those Duracell recharge on the go units. The Defy battery has to be charged every night. The Sonim lasts for yonks, days at a time.

Martin Daler

December 10, 2011, 6:28 pm

Thanks Paul B, exactly the kind of "how does this device stack up in real, everyday use, especially the particular use for which I would buy this particular device" type of info which reviews, forever trapped in their "formula", often seem to lack. For example, the 'use in the rain test' is not in the formula for a phone review, so it never rates a mention, but here it is useful and relevant. It is the sort of detail which only jumps out at you is you have actually lived with and used the device to it's full. Well done!


December 12, 2011, 5:01 pm

Because the reports seem to suggest the problems occurred fairly quickly, in which case a working second hand device is reasonably likely to be okay. It is of course a risk though.


December 12, 2011, 5:08 pm

Couldn't agree more. It's great to hear from our readers giving constructive advice back to the community. Especially as in this case we didn't really envisage this phone as being for quite the usage you put it to, so such tests weren't on our radar. Thanks Paul B.


December 14, 2011, 11:38 pm

hi all

comments powered by Disqus