Motorola Atrix specs

By Edward Chester


Key Features

  • High res 4.0in screen (540 x 960)
  • Android 2.2 operating system
  • 1GHz dual-core processor
  • 5.0 megapixel camera with LED
  • A range of docks for adding extra functionality
  • Manufacturer: Motorola
  • Review Price: £439.99
Quick Glance
Screen Size (inches) 4.0
Operating System Android OS
Touchscreen Yes, glass capacitive
Operating System Android OS
Height 117.8
Width 63.5
Depth 11
Weight 135
Touchscreen Yes, glass capacitive
Screen Size (inches) 4.0
Screen Resolution 540 x 960
Processor and Internal Specs
CPU 1GHz Dual-Core Nvidia Tegra 2
Talk Time 530
Standby Time 400
Internal Storage 16GB
Camera 5
Camera Flash 2 x LED
Front Facing Camera Yes
Charging/Computer Connection microUSB
3.5mm Headphone Jack Yes
3G/4G Yes
WiFi Yes
Bluetooth Yes
App Store Yes

David Horn

July 15, 2011, 7:44 pm

"The result is that while it's not the fastest phone going..." certainly goes nicely with "The Fastest Phone in the World".


July 15, 2011, 8:22 pm

Hi David - If you're referring to the homepage teaser: "The most powerful smartphone… in the world." That was our attempt at a Clarkson-ism. Of course the humour gets lost when you explain it, but the review itself should expand upon (and debunk) this claim. Thanks for your comment.

David Horn

July 15, 2011, 8:42 pm

Thanks Cliff - what actually piqued my interest is that I think one of the networks in the UK advertised the Atrix with exactly this slogan, which confused me.

Apologies for the complete sense of humour failure!

simon jackson

July 15, 2011, 8:52 pm

I've been using the atrix for a month or so now and i've been very impressed with it. I ditched the motoblur launcher in favour of golauncher. Not because i have any particular problem with motoblur - i actually don't think its anywhere near as bad as some people would have you believe - but just because i wanted more in the way of customization options.

The performance of the phone is great, not withstanding nonsense claims about fastest phones in the world. Processor wise its pretty much the same layout as the SGSII - two arm cortex a9 cores - albeit without support for the ARM NEON instruction set. How much difference this makes is up for debate. Also, more instructions = more silicon = more power consumption, so its a double edged sword. What seems to make a much bigger difference is the OS version - and the reviewer has missed out a big improvement in gingerbread over froyo: the EXT4 filesystem. It offers greatly improved performance supposedly, and is the default for gingerbread. The SGSII therefore, already benefits from this. Check out this quadrant score for an overclocked LGOptimus 2x:

Faster than an SGSII with the same clock, but that's probably just down to the variability in repeat quadrant runs. Linpack score is up from 36 to 54, which is a huge improvement, and a lot of that is attributable to EXT4.

Gingerbread (with an unlocked bootloader) is imminent on atrix, so it might be worth doing an update when it drops, because it should offer significant improvements. Motorola are usually pretty good when it comes to device updates, unlike samsung, which is why i originally decided to go for the atrix.

Another big reason i opted for tegra 2 is gaming. Not that tegra 2 is more powerful than an sgs2 - a lot of people believe the opposite - but because it is more widely supported. Plenty of games wont run out of the box on sgs2 because its GPU uses some proprietary texture streaming mode. You have to use chainfire 3d to get stuff to run, which is a faff i can do without.

Other things that swung it motos way were the high resolution screen for web-browsing (although it is a pentile screen, which is worth pointing out - it doesn't bother me, but some people aren't keen) and the huuuuuge battery.


July 15, 2011, 11:34 pm

Lots of games only work natively on Tegra 2 because Nvidia paid lots of games developers to write their games to exclude everything else.

That's from reading the Clove blog, which I trust.

Craig Turner

July 16, 2011, 1:09 am

I'd love to know a bit more of the flash player and the phone's capability. I refer to how well it handles HD Flash?

Whether using the lapdock or just the phone itself, will it play a HD flash video from like youtube?

I can't seem to find an answer to this.


simon jackson

July 16, 2011, 2:31 am


There are issues with texture streaming on the SGSII which is how chainfire 3d came about. You're quite right though, and that's precisely what i meant by "compatibility". Whether software is intentionally hamstrung so it wont work on other hardware or not, the result is the same: without faffing about with custom roms you will not be able to play the game on other hardware platforms.

One other thing I would caution against though is underestimating the value of optimising software for particular hardware. Tegra 2 versions of games no doubt run well on other powerful smartphones. They may well run better on tegra 2 though.


July 18, 2011, 6:29 pm

Hi Craig, I've just investigated this for you. Results are that it's nearly impossible to get HD video to play on the phone itself - youtube doesn't offer it on the mobile version and it's darned difficult to get the desktop version to select an HD version. As for the lapdock, 720p video just about works but it doesn't stay in sync well and drops plenty of frames. All told, sticking to 480p is the way forward.

Craig Turner

July 18, 2011, 7:01 pm

Thanks for checking Ed! :)


October 19, 2011, 3:27 pm

Long story but I had an atrix but had to send it back but nothing to do with the phone. I am now thinking about getting it back or go for the S2.Spoke to a friendn about the Atrix & was told that the software fails after about 3 months can anyone spread any lighht on this claim thanks

comments powered by Disqus