Home / TVs & Audio / Surround Sound System / Monitor Audio Apex / A40 Centre and AW-12 Subwoofer

Monitor Audio Apex - A40 Centre and AW-12 Subwoofer

By Danny Phillips

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Monitor Audio Apex

Summary

Our Score:

9

Moving to the Apex A40 centre, it incorporates much of the same technology as the Apex A10s, except it adds an extra 140mm C-CAM mid/bass driver for extra authority. In the middle of these is a 25mm gold-dome tweeter, with front-mounted HiVe ports at either end.

The centre channel can be laid on a tabletop after fitting the adhesive feet but its natural home is on the wall, and for that reason it comes with an attached mounting bracket and a template in the box. Once in position, the angle can be adjusted up or down by 22.5 degrees to suit the position of your screen. Naturally its build quality is incredible, but with its 610(w) x 140(h) x 100(d)mm measurements and 6.85kg weight, make sure your wall is sturdy enough to support it.

The final piece of the puzzle is the AW-12 front-firing subwoofer, a beautifully constructed unit that’s remarkably compact but weighs a ton (well, 22.56kg to be precise). It has been created specifically for the Apex system and is styled in a spangled black lacquered finish with those snazzy metal side trims. You won’t want to hide this baby away in the corner.

On the inside is a proprietary 300mm long-throw C-CAM driver, which teams up with a 500W (!) Class D amplifier. On top is an aluminium panel that houses the volume dial and buttons for selecting between two EQ modes. On the back you’ll find the crossover control (ranging from 40Hz to 120Hz), low pass filter and phase switches plus line input and output (should you be bonkers enough to daisy chain another sub).

PGrGr

August 20, 2010, 2:05 pm

In the publicity photos which your review sports, there don't seem to be any wires. Is this truly possible?!

Hamish Campbell

August 20, 2010, 2:47 pm

Is it only me who finds these remarkably ugly?





I'm sure build quality would help get the pill down, but my wife would never let these in our lounge, and I can't blame here.

Dave 1

August 20, 2010, 5:28 pm

Possible yes, but not the case here - if you look at the bottom of the stands the terminals can be seen on the rears. It mentions in the article that the stands have a passthrough for the audio connections.

Mark Etheridge

August 20, 2010, 6:50 pm

I don't think the lady in the first picture is really getting the surround sound experience!

Randy

August 20, 2010, 7:01 pm

@haim





Agree.





In a World where Apple has a final word on style, at least in press photos they look chaotic in my opinion. I think it's because there's too much going on on front panel of those satellites. Tweeter is clean, yellow and covered with metal mesh. Next is the white textured mid-range speaker, followed by bass hole with it's own styling details. It looks as if 3 different people were styling it independently, if you catch my flow.


And i think that theese curved edges and square subwoofer is similiar to low-end speakers so we subconciously avoid them.





God it must be pain in the ass to make new things theese days when people are busting Your proud design from the word go. ;)

Jmac

August 20, 2010, 9:43 pm

Seems TR has received a glut of very high quality speaker packages in 2010, with these, the Teufel System 8 THX Ultra 2, the Teufel Theater LT 6 THX Select, the Klipsch WF-34 and the Monitor Audio Silver RX6 AV12 all coming in at £2-3k and scoring an overall 9. It's great to see, but decisions, decisions! Realistically I'll probably end up balking at the price and getting the Crystal Audio TX-T2-12 at £1300, but it's still great to see this kind of choice of quality product in the marketplace.

V.Dawideit

August 22, 2010, 4:12 am

@Mark Etheridge





In a room like this, with no curtains, no carpets and a glass table, it probably wouldn't matter anyway...

Jaybird

October 7, 2010, 9:40 pm

Lot's of cute comments about visuals of the marketing photos but have any of you heard them yet? They're amazing! Danny's review is spot-on.


Haim, I did catch your flow, but did you notice the magnetic grill with a grill cloth designed to cover the woofer, tweeter, and 'bass hole'?


John, review scores cannot begin to describe the sound of such different systems as Klipsch, Teufel, and Monitor. Listen before purchasing!!

Delboi

January 4, 2011, 7:17 pm

When you tested this set of speakers, what AV receiver was it partnered with?

buttman52

December 19, 2012, 4:29 am

If you can afford this over priced junk then your not looking hard enough ,there are lots of better speakers,than these fuckin price is a joke.

Alok Agarwal

November 17, 2013, 1:10 pm

Which on wall speakers do you recommend?

Chris

January 24, 2014, 10:11 pm

Have just bought these for bedroom, so I'm impressed have gx in my lounge not a lot in it as sound goes in tv,.. Have pl in music room, no words to describe.. The guy at top or page says too pricey not good speakers, if your looking to match your old tandy system, yes will be difficult...

Clifford Schall

January 9, 2015, 6:49 pm

Buttman52 is a good name for someone that has heard [ or most likely not heard the speakers] .

comments powered by Disqus