Microsoft Surface Pro 2 Deals

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell



October 22, 2013, 2:45 pm

Aren't the cameras on the Surface Pro 2 still 720p front and back? I've read TR for years but these sort of mistakes shouldn't make it to print, it's a simple check of the spec sheet.


October 22, 2013, 3:37 pm

Apologies, this is my mistake. I thought I was looking at the Surface Pro 2 specs page with the Surface 2 specs side-by-side, but turns out I was on the Surface 2 specs page which is the other way around.


October 23, 2013, 7:29 am

Interesting to read how when a device attempts to have some sort of connectivity, such as a USB 3 port, micro-sd slot etc, its considered limited. But its never an issue on an ipad :-/ Anyway, i`ve dabbled with the original surface pro and loved the fact of how versatile and slick it is.


October 23, 2013, 8:47 am

Maybe it's because the iPad doesn't run the same operating system that you would find on a desktop machine?

Or maybe it's because the reviewer sees the Surface Pro as a "a tablet, laptop and desktop in one"? As per the very first sentence of the review.


October 24, 2013, 11:52 am

If the stylus really is "an essential part of the Surface Pro experience", you could have dedicated a little more attention to it.
Edge accuracy and cursor/brush lag in particular would have been good to know about.


October 24, 2013, 12:52 pm

Apologies, I spent less time on it principally because:

1) It hasn't changed at all from the last version
2) I'm not so well qualified to judge it from a creative perspective.

Short version, however, is that it's very accurate, very fast and a pleasure to use. I can't think of a tablet that's better to write and draw on.


December 21, 2013, 2:39 pm

It absolutely is an issue on the iPad, not being able to directly plug in a USB stick or hard drive is a bl**dy nuisance. The iPad is basically a toy, once there is something better - and that's not going to anything Windows based - ill be moving off it. One USB connector is IMHO inadequate. If that breaks you are stuffed.


December 22, 2013, 3:01 pm

I have been using an iPad for a couple of years but wanted a windows tablet and opted for the surface pro 2.

I am a little disappointed in the charging solution which is a bit fiddly and is far too close to the mini-dp port. I keep accidentally dislodging the power when the dp port is connected. I also have a problem with the weight when compared to an iPad. However I do not regret the purchase and will use it every day.

7/10 and improving. Shame about the bad update - Microsofts quality standards are slipping in relation to updates being released too soon


January 2, 2014, 1:33 am

Installed the Intel HD 4400 Driver and it'll solve your dynamic contrast issue (turn off the driver power optimization from intel) and it'll also dramatically improved the gradation quality (no more banding) and finally able to calibrate the screen properly.


January 3, 2014, 5:57 pm

I just got mine yesterday, I'm actually on it right now lol! It's perfect in my opinion. I'm just glad I got a hold of one, since they're practically sold out everywhere

comments powered by Disqus