Microsoft Surface Book video review

By

Updated:

Read the full Microsoft Surface Book review

Microsoft reckons the Surface Book is the ultimate Windows 10 laptop, and for good reason. Not only does this 13-inch super slim convertible look great, it’s packed full of top-end hardware and featuresUnlike past Surfaces, the Surface Book comes with a physical keyboard dock. It’s a massive step up from Type Covers because it has full size backlit keyboard and trackpad.The dock also has a custom hinge that’s designed to balance the Surface Book evenly, ensuring it doesn’t become top heavy like some laptop style hybrids can. However the dock’s biggest selling point lies under the hood. The dock features a secondary Nvidia graphics chip that promises to radically improve performance. It activates when you combine the tablet and dock sections and means the Surface Book can deal with tasks that would turn the Surface Pro 4 into a shuddery mess – like 3D modelling.However be warned, the chip isn’t powerful enough to play many current generation AAA games, like Rise of the Tomb Raider or Metal Gear Solid V.It’s not all new. The Surface Book’s comes with the same Surface Pen as the Surface Pro 4, and this is no bad thing.Based on NTRIG tech, the Surface Pen offers robust palm detection tech and over 1,000 pressure sensitivity levels.This, combined with the Surface Book’s robust graphics and Intel processor options, makes the Surface Book a great productivity aid for creative types regularly on the move.But there is room for improvement. While the 13.3-inch screen is very good, it covers a piddly 60% of the Adobe RGB colour space – a serious limitation for creative professionals.And the Surface Book is expensive. Very expensive. Even the basic Intel i5 configuration, which doesn’t have Nvidia graphics, costs £1,300 or $1,500. You have to spend at least £1,600, or $1,900, for the cheapest version with dedicated graphics, and even more for the i7 versions.If money is no object then the Surface Book arguably is the ultimate Windows 10 laptop, but not before you rule out Microsoft’s other Surfaces, or one of Dell’s stellar XPS laptops.

More Laptop Videos

Paul

February 18, 2016, 6:32 pm

smells like another lustful apple victory

Prem Desai

February 18, 2016, 6:38 pm

Why on earth are you talking about Apple on a Microsoft product review - to which Apple has no competition.

It has not been pitched against ANY Apple product, so how could it be an Apple victory??

Something does smell - and it's you!

Paul

February 18, 2016, 6:41 pm

i see you edited.

good boy.

and everyday is a good day for apple, not even the fbi can **** with them

Coburn_Alpha

February 19, 2016, 8:55 am

He's an Apple troll. does it all the time

Paul

February 19, 2016, 5:33 pm

shut up shitty arse

eaglesgift

February 20, 2016, 10:04 am

It's really funny to see people act like football supporters over large corporations whose only interest is taking as much of our money as they possibly can. Do you realise how ridiculous you sound?

Solomon Steve

March 25, 2016, 5:14 pm

Paul, infact u are a stupid fool

F J

April 3, 2016, 11:45 pm

How did the touchpad only get a 8/10? Its the best touchpad I have used on a windows device. Its not far from the Macbooks if not its on par,

MotorMouth

April 17, 2016, 5:13 am

The review mentions the screen's poor coverage of the Adobe RGB spectrum. It failed to point out that the Adobe RGB colour space is only useful for people dealing with print and that for professionals who work in TV, video, film or web graphics, the sRGB gamut is far more important, which is probably why the display covers most of it.

Matt Williams

July 29, 2016, 10:39 am

It is a good touchpad but my wife won't let me use it in bed because the left and right clicks wake her up.

F J

July 29, 2016, 10:41 am

I can totally agree with you on that. Loud clicks no matter where you press it. You could always tap to select, but that defeats the purpose of having the ability to click it.

Alastair J. Archibald

August 24, 2016, 2:38 pm

Well, I've been looking for travelling laptop Nirvana for what seems like forever, I've tried iPads 1, 2, Mini and Air, MacBook Air and MacBook Pro, Surface Pro 2 and Surface Pro 4. I thought for a while I'd reached it with the SP4, but the Type Pad keyboard wasn't fast enough for me (I write novels semi-professionally) and the touchpad left a bit to be desired.

Now with the Surface Book 1TB + GPU, I am there. The touchpad is the best I've ever met possibly apart from the MBP's version. The keyboard lets me type at my full speed for hour after hour. The visuals are gorgeous, much nicer than Apple's frankly outdated Retina display. Multitasking is great with 16GB of RAM, and the GPU is OK for XCOM 2 at reasonable frame rates when I am relaxing.

Peter Wright

January 23, 2017, 8:41 pm

I have had a love hate relationship with this machine for 6 months now. It is great when it works. That is less than when it does. The keyboard regularly stops working. bringing the Book back from standby often ends in hang up. This requires a hard reboot hanging on to the power and volume keys for 30, yes 30 seconds.
I wanted to use it for yacht race navigation and after it failed and I had to use my smartphone to keep a million pound superyacht off the rocks, I can no longer trust it. It stays ashore as we are not allowed useless weight aboard.
I spilt a couple of drops of water onto the keyboard. The ampersand and apostrophe keys (wouldnt it be great to save 15 keystrokes) stopped working. Mia culpa and on to the phone to Microsoft because no-one else can fix them. The want £500 yes FIVE HUNDRED FEKKIN QUID , half the cost of the machine to fix it. Well I now have half a laptop and a very expensive tablet.
Microsoft have an arrogant attitude to their customers and their over rated, overpriced equipment. I have gone back to my HP laptop and the next laptop will cost less than a Microsoft repair. Buy this at your peril.

comments powered by Disqus