1 of 18 pictures

MetaWatch Strata
MetaWatch Strata

18 Pictures - MetaWatch Strata

  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
  • MetaWatch Strata
 

Jedibeeftrix

September 13, 2012, 12:59 pm

i have followed metawatch for a long time, not least because of the open support for any OS platform a developer may want to make metawatch work with.

likewise, i am delighted they have finally got to consumer level products following generations of developer/hacker hardware.

looking forward to a consumer analogue metawatch in the same vein as the original developer version.

Gordon394

September 17, 2012, 9:16 pm

Very interesting to know Jedibeeftrix. I think it has the potential to open up a whole new segment of watches as smartphone accessories. With that in mind I'm amazed Apple moved away from the Nano 'watch' design - it seemed an ideal candidate to go down this route.

Then again I'm sure the likes of MetaWatch breathed a sigh of relief. Though of course Apple could simple have changed the Nano as it want to distant it from a future iPhone watch companion product to be introduced at a later date...

Gadgety

October 6, 2012, 1:53 pm

Metawatch is OK, although I will not buy as it doesn't have a color screen and the design is horrible - it's got "cheap" all written over the materials choice. But this is the segment they're reaching for. I don't want the Pebble either. A slightly smaller MotoACTV with a vibration alert would get my attention though.

As for Apple stepping away from the watch format I agree it's odd. Even if they choose to introduce a BT watch (at least their "watch" aspect of the Nano got massive attention), why increase the size of the Nano? Better have similar specs utilise the volume gathered.

mikepotts

January 7, 2013, 10:17 am

I have owned the generation 1 Metawatch in analogue and digital form factors for the last year running the Metawatch Manager Community Edition on Android Samaung Galaxy Note1.

I now own the Strata Stealth and while the function by comparison to earlier models is a work in progress, it shows great promise with a significant advance in design and performance; substantially improved battery life, light, comfortable fit, promising user interface on android phone (now compatible with iOS), easy setup.

Awaiting; more function beyond sms and phone call notifications, next calendar appointment, need a variation of widgets that allow four full screens of information, operating music controller, 3rd party application connection to get the ball rolling. All of this is available on the generation 1 platform after a year of volunteer community development.

Summary; Love that watch!

Gordon Kelly

January 8, 2013, 1:03 pm

Very interesting to hear your comments Mike. I collected our MetaWatch review sample just a few days ago now the company deems it close to an official launch. We are awaiting a couple of software updates before the review (email and more robust music control are central) but so far the experience has been very interesting indeed.

I suspect this could be the year the wristwatch makes a return, whether it be an Apple iWatch or various Android pairing watches but either way the multi-platform functionality of the MetaWatch makes it a potentially major player.

Jussi Wacklin

June 17, 2013, 9:33 pm

I'm a Metawatch fanboy, so treat my comments with a caveat. The latest software they released is delivering stable features and Strata price is very affordable. While some dislike the design and the screen, I find the Frame design very durable and smart unlike some other plastic watches out there.

Scherle

August 16, 2013, 4:57 pm

Metawatch isn't going to be a player and the company seems to be in trouble. I was super-enthusiastic about their product early on, but they are suffering from hardware and software problems that they don't seem to be able to get their heads around.

The last device they shipped to me was DOA, and I had to open a PayPal dispute just to get them to return the defective device. (They are still fighting it, claiming I was just "evaluating" the device.)

At this point, my hopes are on Samsung.

j4ckl3

September 10, 2013, 2:00 am

I just received mine today and so far with initial tests, i am extremely pleased. It does simply what it set out to do. I am enjoying the widgets that are out there. I can't wait to get the firmware updated and take it on the road. Being able to see my sms texts as they come in as well as note my phone calls will be very satisfying. Lets see after a few weeks of serious workout will it perform as well as it does currently. Texts and call info are extremely responses to my android phone.

Kevin

November 5, 2013, 2:57 am

I had a metawatch for 16 hours. It's no worth owning. Galaxy gear has it correct. 1 text out of 50 came through to my watch from my I phone. The apps are so limited that on my four screens a had to double up on the apps because there are not enough choices. It looks nice but that's about it. You can't respond with it,no emails. I'm waiting it out for I phone to come through with there own watch.

comments powered by Disqus