1 of 9 pictures

Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod
Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod

9 Pictures - Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod

  • Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod
  • Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod
  • Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod
  • Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod
  • Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod
  • Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod
  • Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod
  • Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod
  • Manfrotto MKC3-H01 tripod


January 27, 2012, 1:48 am

A Manfrotto with a ball-head for £50? Wow. This is going on my birthday wish list!


February 24, 2012, 4:52 pm

Dixons Travel had this at the airport for €55. Impulse purchase, confirmed after checking out this review. Thanks. It got great use on holiday. I like the clips, but never extended the last (most skinny) length or the centre pillar (for improve stability). I was shooting with a micro four-thirds and it's perfect for that. The handgun lever for the ballhead is intuitive, the rubber tensioner is well positioned and effective. The only gripe for me is that the photo/video switch has limited use, so there is no way to ensure smooth panning without a steady hand. There is always some risk of vertical shifting. That said, for still shots, the ball is so easy to manipulate, especially when switch is set to photo. I have no regrets about the purchase.

Ovidiu Stefan

December 26, 2012, 10:28 pm

I'm using this amazing tripod with my Nikon D5100 and 50-200 mm lens ( a total around 2.5 kg) and it's working great. For a perfect shot I just don't open the last legs.

The materials from which is made are high quality and resist very well.

I recommended it with no problem


February 2, 2013, 1:55 pm

Hi, I just bought this tripod but im not sure if it'll support my Nikon D7000 + 24-70mm lens. (~1.6kg). I was planning to return it to JB Hifi, until i saw this post. But just out of curiosity, D5100+ 50-200mm = 850g. So, was it really 2.5kg? was it with all your other equipment ie. flash etc?

Pete Johnston

February 6, 2013, 8:09 pm

Actually, both of the "bug some users" comments are incorrect. If you remove the little rubber protector on the base of the central column you will see two holes to allow attachment of said hook. Removing the protector also allows the central column to be completely removed, then inserted from the bottom. This allows the camera to be held at ground level, admittedly upside down but not really too much problem.

Bogdan Coticopol

May 10, 2013, 9:51 am

i used with with my D5100 & 55-200mm lens, it's pretty stable even with the all legs opened. i doubt the camera & lens have 2.5kg, tho.. :)


May 11, 2013, 7:16 am

I got this tripod last minute from Argos for £40 for my recent holiday to Crete as my current tripod was too big to fit in my suitcase. I've gotta say that I was really impressed.

For the price this tripod was surprisingly compact and lightweight, whilst being very stable and extremely intuitive.

I found it quick and easy to get into position and I was able to take some nice long exposures with my fairly compact D5100 18-55/55-300mm setup which weighs up to around 1200g with filters.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tripod. It is one of the best compact travel models I've come across and for a measly £40 I really can't fault it and would have to give it 5 stars.

Jeffrey Byron

May 11, 2013, 4:25 pm

Thanks for the info, I was good with buying this to upgrade from my now ancient cheapo tripod, now I have even more good ticks on getting it.

Chris Milbourne

September 12, 2013, 1:32 am

Would this tripod be possible to change head to a fluid video head in the future making panning/tilting shots more cinematic or would i need a more "pro" tripod. Thanks

Jacopo Scarpa

July 23, 2014, 11:02 am

As already said by others, very light and solid, works fine with my OMD e-m5. Central column can be twisted upside down, so the minimum height is far lower than 49 cm (as stated in the review): once you've removed the rubber stop at the base you can use it for macros at ground level. 5 stars, I've not felt a significant difference with my carbon Benro in most cases.

comments powered by Disqus