Logitech Z906 pictures

1 of 4 pictures

5.1 home cinema speaker system

Logitech Z906 controller
Logitech Z906

4 Pictures - Logitech Z906

  • Logitech Z906
  • Logitech Z906 controller
  • Logitech Z906 IO panel
  • Logitech Z906 Speaker

stranded

May 24, 2011, 9:05 pm

Sound quality compared to previous model, Z5500?

krencey

May 25, 2011, 5:15 pm

Exactly, I completely agree with stranded. Why isn't the system put into context with some competing products and its previous generation? These might just as well be the same thing with a face lift. The Z5500 seem a bit more stylish and living room friendlier to me though.

decee1

May 15, 2013, 4:08 pm

It's the best Speakers I ever got good price, Good quality.
I've spend 1200DDk on another speakers, and the quality Isn't that good then thise then.
I bought Thise Logitech Z906, because my others sucks, and use too much space in my room. Now I have thise Logitech Z906, and
I have never got any Problems. :)

Jaco603a

November 14, 2013, 2:51 pm

can they play full volume?

Rodolfo Pomida

December 11, 2013, 3:32 pm

yes

Stretch Mcilkenny

August 28, 2014, 10:37 pm

how do i connect my panasonic smart 3d tv to the z960

Daniel Paiva

September 5, 2014, 5:43 pm

But if I use PowerDVD 14 through analog inputs, I can have decoded DTS-HD and Dolby Digital HD... right?

prathamesh

December 10, 2014, 3:35 pm

Is there any new model coming up in this range ?

Nthan

August 25, 2015, 8:06 am

I don't know whether Powerdvd could support Dolby Digital HD since I never used it before. Macgo could support this format.

bkubie

November 23, 2015, 3:20 am

Shouldn't be....1000w is pretty hard to top...if anything check back next year!

produKtnz

April 7, 2016, 9:38 am

I just wanted to wade into this review because I've now got both units side by side. The Masterpiece but poorly manufactured Z5500's and the new Z906 Logitech speaker sets. Sadly the downsizing of the subwoofer cabinet and subwoofer itself does it no favours.

The ZX5500's subwoofer reaches noticeably lower frequencies and NEVER EVER distorted, she just kept soldiering on with some epic excursion and teef smashing bass to boot.

The Z906's in comparison? The bass isn't anywhere near as strong down low and the over-simplification of the controls is absolutely abysmal. Long gone are the days of having a beautifully weighted volume control knob which was both a joy to use and to spin to maximum whenever the moment took you.

On both units I used the Asus Xonar DSX pci-e sound card and an optical connection to the speakers, so be fair on them both, the sound production environment was kept the same by using the same songs at the same volume levels... speaking of levels - I miss 'Music' mode on the Z5500's.

My Z5500's died after nearly 8 years usage.
I can't see the Z906's hanging on as long sadly...

Damion Jones

April 28, 2017, 8:17 am

Just to add my thoughts on this...

I got a set of the Z906 a few months ago.
I have been using altec Lansing ADA995 setup for a good 10 years or so now and they are flawless, I just wanted to go Digital.
The Z906 are abysmal junk.
They are not even in the same league as the Altec Lansings.
The Logitech are back in the box.

I am not one bit impressed by them.

I have tried them on a handful of my PCs, using a few varations of SoundCard.

Creative Recon3D, Z and ZxR
Asus Strix, D2X and Essence

I have also tried Analog, Digital AUX and Digital Optical, in 2 and 5.1 Audio and, as I said... Unimpressed.

Vipin

June 7, 2017, 9:59 am

Thanks for the review.
Can you be more specific about the downsides of the set ,Like the sound quality or the performance in low mid and highs.

Damion Jones

June 8, 2017, 12:55 am

More specific?
Erm, well for the lower, deeper bass sounds, it does not seem to go anywhere near as low. Its a great sound please dont get me wrong, but its simply not there...same with the higher end of the scale.
I gave myself a sort of half arsed solution to that, by simply buying a few tweeters to help me hear the TISS TISS TICK TICK sounds that I know and love, that I hear crystal clear with my Altec setup.

I think the bass is strong enough for me to not moan too much, but the treble is awfully bad and that annoyed me greatly.

For what its worth, it is still in its box and it is still stuffed under the desk and it might yet get some use one day, maybe perhaps if my current setup that I was given over 10 years ago ( and even then it was old ). when that setup fails me, I might dig these Z906's out as an emergency why I look for a good setup, but they are simply overpriced for what you get,

Vipin

June 8, 2017, 2:07 am

So it simply means there is no question of audiophile quality but then still company claims a thx certification.
I was more curious about knowing about the mids and bass distortion on increasing gains .

Damion Jones

June 8, 2017, 3:19 am

Years ago, I was all for THX Certification.
My Altec lansing setup are indeed THX certified and yes the speakers all have the THX badge on them, and to be honest with you, I absolutely love the sound out of them. I have a few soundcheck CDs and they are demo CDs with some music, some percussion beats andsome musical instruments as wel las sweeps and sounds that push speakers all the way from the lowest of the low, to way up high, so that the sound go above and below the ranges that any human ear can hear, and these really test the hell out of speakers and the Altecs handled everything I threw at them with zero distortion.

These Logitechs also handle the tets, absolutely they do, but on things like the bass sweep where it starts off in the mid-ran ge and then the sound goes lower and lower until you eventually stop hearing it then you get a feeling in the gut etc as its going even lower... These simply dont do that.

They simply cannot play at really low frequencies and its the same with the high sweeps.

To be fair, with the multiple frequency tests where it plays some music that has seriously low and high ranges with percussions and synths, and also does sweeps etc, it handles them all fairly well and again you hear no serious distortion but again, all the audio is forced into a range that is too narrow.

For example... the logitech freq range is 35Hz-20K This is really really good to be fair. but the altec system is 25Hz to 22K

Now the 25 to 35 difference is nothign short of massive, and the 20K to 22K you would think isnt tht much, but it certainly does shine through.

I have do admit, that right now, I am using Mission speakers as my main front speakers ( Altecs are the rear ) and the Bass speakers are Sonos. The original Altec Amp is mostly the same.

I have played with better speakers than teh supplied ones with the Logitech and it made a great difference. hence why simply adding a pair of tweeters was a huge improvement over just the stock speakers.

Also, one other thing that does make a huge difference...

The Altecs, when faced with a simple 2 channel input, still play bass through the bass speakers.

The Logitechs can do this, but you have to set it to do it.

So, Im always piddlign about with the control box on that and I dont touch a hting on the altects no matter if Im going to or from a movie, music, or gaming... Silly things like that matter to me.

Although I think I wil dig them out i na bit to have a play again...

Vipin

June 8, 2017, 3:54 am

I see lots of mixed reviews about the z906. I was confused to whether get one for myself because I was really not sure whether it would do any justice to my love for pure music.
This reviews of yours was hugely helpful.thanks for that.
Any way would you suggest any good music system within or a bit higher in budget similar to z906.

comments powered by Disqus