Home » Computing » Peripheral » Logitech K750 Wireless Solar Keyboard

Logitech K750 Wireless Solar Keyboard review

Gordon Kelly



  • Recommended by TR
Logitech K750 Wireless Solar Keyboard


Our Score


User Score


  • Stunning design, Superb typing action, Limitless solar power, no cables,


  • No Mac Solar App support as yet, High-ish price

Best Deals

Review Price £64.42

Key Features: Stylish design, No power cables, Superb, typing action

Manufacturer: Logitech

Keyboards. In all honesty they're not very exciting. Except for this one. With 'K750 Solar Keyboard' Logitech has grabbed us by the scruff of the neck and shouted "Get a load of this!"

What is 'this' exactly? The descriptive name tells you the basics. It is a solar powered keyboard. What the fairly soulless branding doesn't imply, however, is what a remarkably good job Logitech has made of it.

The positive impressions start the moment you begin unboxing. Logitech has used minimalist recyclable packaging and it could almost fit through your letterbox. Open it up and you'll find the setup instructions, support numbers printed on the box itself - there is no manual or CD. Four pieces of reclaimed cardboard hold the keyboard in place and just the keyboard, its wireless receiver and a wipe cloth are enclosed. It's elegant and an PVC-free example to others how a little bit of thought can go a long way.

Lift out the K750 and the first thing you'll notice is how thin it is. At just 7.5mm thick it is certainly the slimmest keyboard we've have seen, but it feels no less durable for it. A near unibody design means the K750 suffers from none of the creaks, groans and rattles of a typical keyboard and you will want to fondle it in a way that is positively indecent.

Build quality aside, the second thing you'll spot are the two long solar strips. Here is where the magic happens. Much like any other solar device, the K750 uses light (both sunlight and artificial light) to charge its internal (but removable) battery. Where it differs is what Logitech says this solar technology can achieve. In contrast to the typically weak stamina of most solar products, the K750 is exceptional.

Logitech claims the battery can last for up to three months in total darkness. This should satisfy everyone outside of the Arctic Circle. Meanwhile in average daily use it is purported that the K750 battery will never run out. Given there is no power cable supplied with the keyboard this is a boast in which Logitech is supremely confident.

So that's the theory. How is it in use?

As you might expect from the tone of this review, the K750 is revelation. This begins with installation. Simply switch on the keyboard and plug in the tiny wireless receiver. A driverless install completes in less than a minute then the Solar App (just 3MB, pictured below) downloads and installs automatically. You're done.

Next page

Hamish Campbell

March 23, 2011, 12:00 pm

Hey, that's actually really impressive.

Ask them to make an ergonomic version for me, could you? I like a bit of ergo curve on my keyboards.


March 23, 2011, 12:22 pm

I absolutely love the idea of this - I can't believe nobody has really nailed this idea before. With feverish excitement, I started to visualise a future where not only the did the panels charge the keyboard, but they wirelessly dripfed back to the PC, which when switched off would return energy to the network, probably making me around £0.02 per annum based on the size of those solar cells.

Anyway, dreamland over, it looks great, the solar doesn't appear to be a gimmic - what's not to like? Well, if they'd added in a backlit keyboard then that would have been 10s across the board for me, especially with user defined colours.

If solar cells can be used so elegantly here, and crucially fairly cheaply here, admittedly for a low drain device I wonder what other peripherals could benefit from a similar approach?

Technology changes, and so sho

March 23, 2011, 1:42 pm

Could you elborate on a repeated word in the article?
How can it be Bluetooth and yet only compatible with six 'compatible' peripherals?
It may work on 2.4GHz, but it doesn't sound like Bluetooth.


March 23, 2011, 1:44 pm

Mac compatible?


March 23, 2011, 1:47 pm

No mouse to accompany this product that is also wireless, solar-powered and sexy?


March 23, 2011, 2:08 pm

Such a great idea.
I have to say the issue of having to constantly replace/charge batteries has deterred me from buying any wireless peripherals up to this point but this seems to solve that.
What are your thoughts on whether this technology could be applied to a mouse? Logistics aside (i'm imagining a fingerprint issue on the solar panels), could solar cells power the workings of an optical mouse?

m memmory

March 23, 2011, 2:13 pm

@technology changes

I imagine that it's compatible with up to 6 at the same time through the one bluetooth dongle


March 23, 2011, 2:33 pm

I've been using the Logitech k340 wireless on 2aa batteries for over 6 months and they are still going strong.


March 23, 2011, 2:49 pm

I have the Logitech Illuminted Keyboard. Its wired but the design appears to be very similar but using an integrated palm wrist and backlit keys.
Typing action is really good. Best keyboard I've had! (and you can change the brightness of the backlight with a single button press)

Chris Beach

March 23, 2011, 3:00 pm

Can it be used without drivers? I'm thinking about using one at work, and our pc's are locked down.
Also what about using two in close proximity? (we have two pc's at work, for reasons to daft to go into here:)


March 23, 2011, 3:22 pm

Are you sure it is Bluetooth? Sounds more like Logitech 'unifying' receiver technology. Based on my experience of Bluetooth peripherals to date dropping in and out all the time, Bluetooth would put me off. The Logitech wireless tech just works.

Energizer Bunny

March 23, 2011, 3:29 pm

Looks amazing. A couple of questions:

1. Is there much input lag? Is it ok for gaming. I use a wireless mouse so I'm not going to go nuts over a couple of miliseconds, but something more substantial could be an issue

2. How does this measure up from a typing comfort perspective with a normal desktop keyboard. I hate typing on laptops and am very much used to typing on desktop keyboard where there is a bit of depth to the keys. Noted that you've said it compares very well to a laptop but how would you compare it to a desktop keyboard?


March 23, 2011, 4:10 pm

Looks superb, really good.

Mac version please Logitech!

Denis iii

March 23, 2011, 4:26 pm

Any good for gaming on?
I'm in the market for a good wireless keyboard and mouse (preferbly a combo package)


March 23, 2011, 4:41 pm

As a logitech keyboard user this interests me greatly.

I want one NOW.


March 23, 2011, 4:59 pm

Like others allready mentioned, the BT and 2.4GHz doesn't compute... The Logitech Unifying receiver works on RF. Also no BT mentioned on the Logitech site.
Does this keyboard work normaly in the BIOS and during POST?
would you consider this keyboard also good for HTPC (comfortably enough to type while having the board on the legs)?


March 23, 2011, 5:59 pm

From Logitech's website:


* Keyboard
* Logitech Unifying receiver
* Wireless extender
* Cleaning cloth


March 23, 2011, 8:35 pm

@all - apologies for the delay in replying chaps. I've been away much of the day.

In no particular order:

Those who spotted 'Bluetooth' were right. It is indeed Logitech's unifying wireless tech. Apologies it is now corrected and I have added in a line about the input lag after trying it out against some games in response to Energizer Bunny's query. In short: it was excellent.

I mention there is no Mac support at present, but it will still work - just without the app. I've asked this question of Logitech and will update when I get an answer. Whether is will work without any drivers at all (in relation to cjb110's comment) I very much doubt. It's driverless in that is installs itself, but a PC that is locked down is unlikely to allow that.

The keyboard works fine in the bios of the laptop and desktop I tested. That said be sure to check if you have older machines since even USB keyboards can have trouble on some.

As for a mouse... that's an interesting question. I think it presents a bigger challenge. For a start you cover the solar panels when you use it. Secondly a keyboard is a series of tiny inputs whereas a mouse is a long stream of input each time it is used, which I suspect is far more draining. That said I'm sure Logitech will be looking at it if the K750 is the success it deserves to be. I haven't asked it this question because, quite simply, it won't reveal its upcoming product strategies that easily ;)

Finally Deamwalker - yes I think you'd find it ideal in that scenario.


March 23, 2011, 9:52 pm

@Gordon - thanks for the reply/update.

I'm building a new HTPC and I will add this keyboard to my shopping list, so thanks for the review and well done Logitech.


March 23, 2011, 10:49 pm

@Gordon - just tell logitech:

Make it in Mac style Alu and White

Include normal Mac keyboard layout (but include num pad)



March 23, 2011, 10:52 pm

@Kempez I wouldn't be surprised if Logitech isn't keeping its powder dry for a dedicated Mac version.


March 23, 2011, 11:22 pm

Damm you! I just bought a Logitech Dinovo for my home cinema / htpc set up. As I could not find anything else that suited. Still,at least the Dinovo has dual functionality and backlights....


March 24, 2011, 12:29 am

Hope so, I'd buy one! :-)


March 24, 2011, 1:57 am

Such a shame it uses Bluetooth and not their normal unifying receiver! I recently got an Anywhere MX mouse and i don't want another USB port occupied, simply don't have any more on the rig I need it for.


March 24, 2011, 3:02 am

This is one of the very few Logitech keyboards with a decent key layout. The most of Logitech k/bs are just horrible.

comments powered by Disqus