Logitech Harmony 1100 Universal Remote - Logitech Harmony 1100

By Danny Phillips



Our Score:


After running through the initial setup wizard, you can go back into each device and change the settings to your heart's content. You can reassign the hard or soft buttons to perform different commands, programme new commands, adjust the button delay and backlight, rename buttons and troubleshoot problems. You can also customise the look of the touchscreen with a choice of backgrounds, and even load up your own images as long as they're no bigger than 160kb and 320 x 240 pixels. Images can be played in a slideshow too.

One of the Harmony's most useful features is its ability to carry out Activities, which sends out a series of commands in one go (otherwise known as a macro). First-timers will love the way they're described in plain English ('Watch TV' or 'Watch a DVD', for example) and once again the excellent onscreen menus make them easy to set up.

During the setup procedure, the clear, colourful prompts use phrases like 'I use my Onkyo receiver to change the volume', and all the way along it gives you the chance to review the settings and make changes.

After everything's been setup and synced with the remote, you can get down to the business of controlling your home cinema system. The Harmony is generally easy to use - its touchscreen is responsive, the menus are crisp and easy to read and the hard buttons are satisfying to press. The main menu, which appears when you first turn it on, shows all of your created 'activities' in the form of large icons. If you want to jump back to this screen at any time, simply press the Activities button just below the screen.

It's certainly slick but not without operational flaws. When controlling an individual device, the screen displays a 3 x 3 grid of buttons, with up and down keys on the left that let you scroll through different pages (which in some cases runs to five).

This isn't particularly intuitive when it comes to using Sky+ HD, especially if you've grown used to Sky's own remote. There doesn't seem to be any logic behind the placement of the buttons, with related keys often on different screens - I found myself constantly flicking up and down the pages. For devices whose remotes have loads of buttons (like my Onkyo receiver), it takes a lot longer to find the button you want compared with the original remote.

Understandably there isn't enough room to fit all the buttons on one page, but each page could have been thought out more carefully. Although you can reassign buttons, you can't rearrange their position.

Tony Walker

June 14, 2009, 6:48 am

Any word on a left handed version? I would be constantly reaching over and operating those buttons/d-pad with my left hand. Smacks of being designed in the far east where I belive left handedness is still frowned upon in many (most? all?) cases.

Philips do a similar TSU9200 Pronto with more buttons and a standard remote control format.

Final word - get a proper Pronto!


June 14, 2009, 10:09 am

Regarding the "cute clicking sound": Do you have a recording of this? Listening to it will determine whether I spend £300 on a FRICKIN' REMOTE CONTROL!!!

Digital Fury

June 14, 2009, 12:26 pm

Nice remote, but useless "as is" with a PS3, it's a rather significant limitation considering it's the most popular Blu-Ray player. If Logitech has released its "Harmony Adapter for PS3", I have yet to find it in stores in my area.

Martin Wainika

June 14, 2009, 12:54 pm

@Digital Fury - Logitech blog says Harmony Adapter for PS3 released in Europe in July


June 14, 2009, 1:43 pm

Any thoughts on the longevity of the physical product interface? In the sense that most (even decent) remotes I have tend to get dicky buttons after a couple of years of use <looks over shoulder> - mostly wives and children ;)

- Usually the often used ones like volume / channel etc.,seem first to die

- As its quite an investment, I think the long term quality would be an issue for me before parting with a wedge.


June 14, 2009, 6:27 pm

300 quid for a remote? Seriously?!


June 15, 2009, 1:29 am

What is wrong with traditional buttoned remotes? I mean you memorise the button layout after a few days of use and rarely ever look down to find a button again.


June 15, 2009, 5:19 pm

@ffrankmccaffery - nothing wrong with traditional remotes, but unless you run equipment all from the same manufacturer, you'll struggle to find a bundled remote that will control everything, so you'll want a universal remote. For basic setups, a simple buttoned all-in-one remote might be fine, but for more complex AV setups, a touch screen remote with macros etc. is a far better option.

Simon J

June 15, 2009, 5:59 pm

If you like your remote with more buttons and with something resembling a traditional look and feel then the Logitech Harmony 895 is what you need. It even has the red, green blue and yellow teletext buttons and offers all the functionality of this one, just without the touch screen.

Simon J

June 15, 2009, 6:01 pm

Ohh and if you don't need the RF functionality then the 885 is cheaper and has all the same functionality of the 895 apart from the RF. Both have the motion sensor too.


June 15, 2009, 6:40 pm

I'm with Simon Johns on this. I have a Harmony 895, and it solves both important problems :

1) It manages all the various setup sequences between SKY/Virgin/Xbox/iPod Music/AV-AMP/TV while all my gear is hidden from view.

2) My wife just has one gadget she recognises as a remote control and so doesn't complain about complex (or perceivably expensive) technology in the living room!


June 15, 2009, 11:48 pm

I've owned 3 Prontos before getting a Harmony One. While the Pronto is infinately customisable (right down to making my own graphics in Photoshop) it took me 30 hours (!!) to set up for my system. I used to dread buying new AV kit because I'd have to set up the remote.

The Harmony took me 3 hours set set up perfectly, although it was usable after 30 minutes. Hard button remotes are the way to go and, at £90, the One is a bargain.

@Digital Fury: If this PS3 transceiver from Logitech never surfaces, there are a number of devices available that will perform the same job:


I've had an IR4PS3 for over a year and it's an awesome device.


December 13, 2012, 10:30 am

I had read several reviews saying how difficult it was to configure the harmony 1100. They were right. It is supposed to be compatible with Mac but the software that comes with the unit was not set up for Mac. I had to go onto the Harmony website and find an updated file to download. I was unable to connect to the unit and finally had to call the help line. I was instructed on how to start the remote in safe mode. Once this was done I was able to upload the configuration into the device. The PVR I have would not work with the Harmony 1100. I had to contact the help line again to find out that I had to set the PVR IR address to 01. I then had to go onto a chat line with the PVR manufacturer on how to change the IR address. this is not part of the usual instructions that come with the PVR. I was not willing to give up and finally have it working well with all the devices. It was more like 4 hours of effort instead of the one hour that was expected.

Ronald Miller

September 23, 2013, 4:08 pm

Purchased the harmony 1100 a few weeks ago and I love it. My previous universal remote was a URC 50 but didn't want to go through the hassle of having a dealer configure it for me... For now on I will always go with a harmony universal remote.

comments powered by Disqus