Loewe Individual 40 Compose (Slim) - Feature Table

John Archer

By John Archer



  • Recommended by TR
Loewe Individual 40 Compose (Slim)


Our Score:


Overall Score


Scores In Detail

  • Value 7
  • Image Quality 9
  • Sound Quality 10
  • Features 9
  • Design 10


November 5, 2010, 7:44 pm

I think I have a spare kidney i don't need - couple that with whatever I can get for Mrs Castalan ... and maybe .. just maybe ;)


November 5, 2010, 9:26 pm

No real complaints from me. You said they were gonna sort out Freeview HD very soon which is more than Philips can promise. Absolutely gorgeous one-piece design. Cracking picture quality according to you guys. I suppose input lag is a concern but it makes up for that by being a TV that offers you solid sound (admittedly this goes way beyond, hence it'd be nice to see manufacturers just create CRT-volume speakers), so alas, a television that's actually a television and not just some jumped up PC monitor!

One question : does it come in 46 inches? Because, you know, obviously I can easily afford any version of this product - Big Fat Not!

Tim Sutton

November 5, 2010, 10:06 pm


I understand selling the spare kidney, but surely Mrs Castalan is 3D? This TV, nice as it is, would be a downgrade.


November 6, 2010, 2:30 am

I'm afraid, Mr Sutton, that you Just Don't Understand.


November 6, 2010, 3:19 pm

@Golden Guy.

I took a look at the Loewe website and it does come in larger sizes. You'll also be pleased to know that TR reviewed an, er, 'economy' specced model. There are some very entertaining ways to truly max out your and the wife's credit cards.

cristy hargreaves

November 10, 2010, 5:49 pm

The Individual Compose is available in 32/40/46 and 55" starting from £2695. Alternatively the Individual Selection (without glass filter screen) is the entry level alternative and shares most of the same features. Watch this space for the 3D-ready versions of Individual in Spring 2011 to rival Mrs Castalan!


November 11, 2010, 4:14 pm

I was in the market for one of these to connect to my NAS to play more stored DVD content, and for Freeview HD & FreeSat. As far as I know, the only other TV that can do this is a Panasonic. You'd think at this price point, the sales & support service would be good. After 6 phone calls to Germany (disconnected 4 times), I got asked to email my pre-sales questions. Was never replied to. Loewe UK telephone line doesn't give product information - you have to go to a dealer. At the flagship concession in Selfridges, the streaming demo didn't work ("something's up with the router, not the TV"). At Harrods they could only play avi clips from USB, couldn't specifically say that it would stream HD properly. At the Loewe "Gallerie", they didn't know either, but phoned someone who did. Some important things to note, if you're considering this TV:

1. Contrary to the review here, DLNA is NOT specifically supported - you need to install the rather bloated Twonky software.

2. Full HD is not supported by the hardware, only 720p

3. No support for mkv

4. Freeview HD will be a payable "upgrade" until February.

5. Despite there being another a "DVB-S upgrade" FreeSat also isn't supported (and won't be) "because of international regulations, we're a German company, you see". This means no FreeSat EPG

6. You can't upgrade the 250GB drive to use that as media storage.

7. You can buy a proprietary Loewe 500Gb external drive, but you can't record onto it

8. No optical audio in or out

9. Ethernet port is just 100Mbits!

10. Cannot use USB wifi adapator

With words like "fearsomely specified", "peerless bespoke flexibility", "bulging spec sheet" you'd expect that it would genuinely do things that few TVs can (but commonplace on any htpc). Much as I would like it to have been, this is not a replacement for my small, fanless HTPC.

comments powered by Disqus