Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router pictures

1 of 14 pictures

Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router

14 Pictures - Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router

  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router
  • Linksys EA6900 AC1900 router


December 4, 2013, 8:53 pm

will this do the new high-speed DSL standard that is being rolled out across the UK right now? maybe i missed it, but there is no mention of DSL speeds....


December 4, 2013, 9:06 pm

One thing that would put me off this router is the fact it's a SOHO device. In the past I got totally fed up of Belkin / LinkSys / Netgear, all of these SOHO devices would lock up / drop connections and you would have to reboot them constantly. The components are cheap and nasty, I personally think the brand Linksys is an embarrassment to there parent company Cisco. Now for about the same money you could get a very decent business router like the Draytek 2860n, although not having the ac speed, another review site points out speeds of 68.1Mbits/s. Personally I would live without the 802.11ac and have a router than just works without missing a beat. My last Draytek was such a godsend, unfortunately upgraded to Fibre to Box, so had to get rid of it, the ISP has given me a ZyXEL and to be honest it's not too bad, but the WiFi is rubbish and it's not got replaceable antenna's, so in the market for a descent replacement, but it won't be this Linksys. I miss my old Draytek, for it's reliability so I think the 2860n looks the ticket.


December 4, 2013, 9:20 pm

I believe this is just a wireless router, so you will also need a VDSL modem too that you plug into the yellow Ethernet port. Another reason I think I'll go for the Draytek, for this price I can't believe it's not got built in modem.

Gordon Kelly

December 6, 2013, 12:11 am

Interesting points Keith, we have some Draytek samples headed our way since it has been neglected on the site as of late.

I do think, however, that you're living a little in the past when it comes to the amount of premium you're prepared to pay for reliability. We keep a hold of benchmark routers and live with them. If any problems arise over time we update the reviews.

Nothing we've lived with over the last 12 months... the Linksys EA6500, EA6700, D-Link DIR-868L, Asus RT-AC66U, Asus RT-AC68U and now the Linksys EA6900... has caused us to need to update their reviews. Each ran for between 2 and 4 months depending on when they lost their top dog status and they've all been rock solid.

Certainly I wouldn't be looking to drop the remarkable ac performance you'll get from these devices to rubber stamp reliability. As far as we're concerned, these routers all deliver it in spades.

Gordon Kelly

December 6, 2013, 12:15 am

Sorry for the late reply Jedibeeftrix, as Keith points out this is a router without a modem. We'll always indicate what modem is in a router in the review if it is there, but the vast majority these days are router only.

This is because the modem part still costs a lot (£50+ onto the price tag) and manufacturers don't have to second guess whether to supply DSL, VDSL, cable, etc. It also simplifies the setup process for users just looking to boost their wireless speeds and coverage.


December 6, 2013, 2:34 pm

Hi Gordon, thanks for the reply. I must admit not used a SOHO device for a while now for obvious reasons, so you might be right about reliability. Unfortunately I can only go by my own experiences, and going from constant lock ups / drop outs to having consistent reliability I'm not sure I would like to risk it for a possible 10% increase in speed. I'm also not sure 2 - 4 months is a good indication of reliability, anyway I've made my point!, if people still buy and get burnt, they can't say I never said anything.

Be interesting to see your reviews of the Draytek though, hopefully not there SOHO range. :)

Gordon Kelly

December 6, 2013, 2:39 pm

Thanks for your reply Keith. In all honesty I've never seen an 802.11n device get anywhere near 70MBps in a real world environment so I'll be seriously impressed if that is actually the case. I think we're talking about 2-3x speed improvements (especially at range) from 802.11ac.

I agree that 2-4 months isn't that long, but at the same time is it about 18 months between lots of different models with no problems...

I wouldn't attack any tech market today for where it was 5 years ago. That's like not wanting to buy a Nexus 5 because you weren't a fan of the 2G restrictions in the original iPhone!

Clive Richards

December 9, 2013, 11:19 pm

It used to be that companies provided both types of router, one with and one without a model so why the change. Most domestic installations are starved of power sockets as it is without adding another device. At least why don't they manufacture a compatible bolt on ADSL modem as an extra so that at least it shares the same power supply. I am looking for a modem/router with good range and all the extras (usb sharing of large external drive, DNLA etc.) Price is less of an object than having something that is powerful and reliable

Gordon Kelly

December 9, 2013, 11:51 pm

I believe the same reason any product line changes happen: market forces. Modem-less routers simply plug and play which those with modems require more configuring and had that appealed to the masses and they sold by the bucket load they'd still be on sale now. It's a shame.


December 12, 2013, 9:05 am

Morning Folks
Any ideas where I can buy one of these?


December 22, 2013, 11:57 am

Where can you buy this? I have searched everywhere and none available apart from one guy called "Pudsey Computers" seems to be selling them on amazon uk at a discount to RRP! This strikes me a little odd... would love to know if anyone has managed to pick one up.


December 28, 2013, 1:41 am

I found mine at BestBuy in Honolulu, HI.

nate call

February 1, 2014, 4:30 am

i do think belkin purchased linksys and cisco is no longer owner. i do not know what to think when it comes to brands personally i have bad stuff from all except msi. many routers have fallen in this house.. its time for one that does not need to be robooted


February 17, 2014, 5:40 pm

Keith. you seem to know a good deal about routers. I'm a bit of a newbie. I have had a D-LINK DIR-655 for 7 years and it's never failed me until getting an iPad Air and upgrading my WiFi devices to iOS 7. Now whenever I stream for approx. 2 hrs, not necessarily in a row, I get throttled down to .6 Mbps download! It's not my Cable company because I checked against my original iPad on iOS 5 which never did this. Apple feels after much trouble shooting the best suspect to try now is a new router saying that older ones can overload. Plus it's only one channel. Amazon has a 30 day return policy so it's certainly worth the experiment. If same prob then it's Apple's problem to fix. But my question to you is I've seen so much great reviews for the ASUS RT-AC68U 1900. On some review pages way better than the Linksys. It's hard to go by the reviews. I've never heard of ASUS until now, so I have no clue but wonder if you know if it and feel it's worthwhile. I definitely want a 2 channel WiFi and and ac for forward compatibility since I tend to hold on to hardware a long time and eventually ac devices will be more prevalent. Thoughts on ASUS. I need to research Draytek which I'd not heard of until your raves. But WiFi is very important to me. Thanks very much.


February 17, 2014, 5:43 pm

Hi Gordon. For home use, but wanting the top notch, of all the routers you mention, which would you say has the best WiFi performance and easiest set up on logical UI?


February 27, 2014, 12:24 pm

>> Now whenever I stream for approx. 2 hrs

Now this is were I think SOHO devices struggle. If all you ever wanted to do with a Router was browse the web, then I think most SOHO devices work fine. Steaming on the over hand is a different matter, and is maybe why every SOHO device I've bought just blew it's brains out. I used to do a lot of streaming with MCE and later XBMC. btw. this is not just external streaming like YouTube, but internal high-def streaming, that takes way more bandwidth.

Now my theory is simple, SOHO devices use cheaper components for obvious reasons, these will work fine for short bursts, but put under constant pressure they start to get very warm, I've had SOHO routers in the past were I'm sure I could cook an egg on them. Business router often have specialised hardware components, as such they don't seem to get half as warm when pushed.

Saying all this, I now ironically don't use WiFi routers at all. Homeplug's are now so cheap, and way more reliable. You can even have Homeplugs with built in WiFi access points that make getting WiFI all around the house or even in your garden shed way better. So my advice is don't even bother getting a router with WiFi built in, but just get a modem/router, and use homeplugs for home networking. Advantages here, if later another V/ADSL standard comes out you can just replace the modem/router, if another WiFi standard comes out replace the WiFI homeplugs. etc. You could even go one further and get a separate Modem & router.


March 1, 2014, 4:26 pm

I regrettably bought this router in the end - utterly useless and worse than my virgin media super hub i bought it to replace. I am astonished and bemused as to how this received a 10/10 rating from trustedreviews! 5ghz speed is average when close by and has the worst range I have ever experienced from a router.

Furthermore the router is unstable, regularly cutting out and needing to be rebooted, the UI is very clunky and painful to use, port forwarding doesn't work properly and regularly resets, and DD-WRT can't even be stably installed as an alternative.

If only I could find a way to return this piece of junk! Never again going with Linksys.

John Anderson

March 16, 2014, 6:12 pm

can I use this instead of my Sky unit?


May 11, 2014, 11:26 am

I actually read this review and bought it yesterday, but am still regretting it. I haven't used a router that requires the user to edit the Host file on my computer before the setup page can function.

Unfortunately here in Hong Kong consumer rights are non-existent so I can't return it, so it spent me a full hour doing research on the web to solve this bug.

RusRiver Man

May 23, 2014, 10:02 pm

Terrible support, terrible router, constantly goes down and has to be reset. It is easily one of the worst recent experiences with Tech Support.


June 9, 2014, 8:14 am

Wireless range not very good at all, very disappointing

Vivek Bhalla

August 20, 2014, 10:18 am

I too am looking for a one-stop shop modem router. It seems the Netgear N600 is a good shout for ADSL2+ lines (but not so for ADSL 1). Hope this helps!


March 23, 2015, 1:02 am

Reviews seems to be completely wrong -- Terrible support, terrible router, constantly goes down and has to be reset. It is easily one of the worst recent experiences with Tech Support.

Wayne Adams

August 8, 2015, 12:51 pm

The interface is designed for morons who need stupid widgets to find their way around. For the serious power user, it is a pain in the a** to navigate. Every so called improvement in software always involves a dumbing down aimed at the increasingly ignorant user.

The range stinks. I have had to use the E3000 that it replaced as a repeater to get coverage on the far side of the house. I'm very disappointed at the signal strength around the house. In fact, my neighbor's router has a stronger signal inside my house at the far end than does my router.

This is another loser from Linksys. It is not worth the price.


January 2, 2016, 5:17 am

Why is your hosts file set to redirect or block lol.

comments powered by Disqus