Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / LG Spirit

LG Spirit review

Michael Sawh

By

Updated:

1 of 34

LG Spirit 5
  • LG Spirit 5
  • LG Spirit 29
  • LG Spirit
  • LG Spirit
  • LG Spirit
  • LG Spirit
  • LG Spirit
  • LG Spirit
  • LG Spirit
  • LG Spirit photo samples  5
  • LG Spirit photo samples  7
  • LG Spirit photo samples  9
  • LG Spirit photo samples  11
  • LG Spirit photo samples  13
  • LG Spirit photo samples  15
  • LG Spirit photo samples  17
  • LG Spirit photo samples  19
  • LG Spirit photo samples  21
  • LG Spirit photo samples  23
  • LG Spirit photo samples  25
  • LG Spirit photo samples  27
  • LG Spirit photo samples  29
  • LG Spirit 1
  • LG Spirit 7
  • LG Spirit 9
  • LG Spirit 11
  • LG Spirit 13
  • LG Spirit 15
  • LG Spirit 17
  • LG Spirit 19
  • LG Spirit 21
  • LG Spirit 23
  • LG Spirit 25
  • LG Spirit 27

Summary

Our Score:

7

Pros

  • Attractive, slightly curved design
  • Sharp 720p HD screen
  • Surprisingly decent speaker

Cons

  • Some performance issues when multitasking
  • Lack of camera modes such as HDR

Best Deals for LG Spirit

  • Compare prices
  • ebay

Key Features

  • 4.7-inch 720p (312ppi) HD LCD screen
  • Android OS 5.0.1 Lollipop with LG UI
  • 8-megapixel rear-facing camera with LED flash
  • Corning Gorilla Glass 3
  • Snapdragon 410 processor
  • microSD card support up to 32GB
  • 8GB internal memory
  • 1GB RAM
  • 1-megapixel front-facing camera
  • Full HD 1080p video recording at 30fps
  • 4G LTE
  • 2,100mAh battery
  • Manufacturer: LG
  • Review Price: £129.00

What is the LG Spirit?

The LG Spirit is a 4.7in Android phone, drawing on the design and hardware of the vastly more expensive LG G4 and packing it into a smaller, more affordable body.

At £129 SIM-free on Three or £13 a month on contract, this 4G LTE-friendly phone will be competing with handsets such as the Microsoft Lumia 640 (£129) and the Motorola Moto G 2 (£135).

If you’re a fan of LG’s approach to Android – and have a like for the slightly curved design – then the Spirit is going to appeal.

LG Spirit – Design

We’ve come to expect phones at this price to feel cheap and tacky. The Spirit is the total opposite of this: its all-plastic body isn't anything like the rest of the budget phones on the market.

Similar to the LG G4c, the glossy black bezel narrows down the sides of the 4.7in screen with LG’s logo the most eye-catching feature.

It’saround the rear of the phone that the similarity with the LG G4 becomes apparent. There’s a slight curve to the Spirit's design – and while it’s not as pronounced or flexible as the G Flex 2, it’s comfortable to grip.

SEE ALSO: 10 Best Android Phones

LG Spirit 9

LG G4 next to the LG Spirit

The rear of the Spirit is also home to standby and volume buttons. While we weren’t entirely convinced when LG first introduced a button-less trim, we've finally adjusted to having these buttons resting behind your finger. The volume buttons benefit from a more textured finish, making them easier to identify by feel alone.

Best Deals for LG Spirit

  • Compare prices
  • ebay

Unfortunately, the Spirit doesn't have the leather finish of the G4. However, the "ceramic" effect removable cover with brushed finish is soft to the touch and actually gives the handset the look of a more expensive phone. Here the Spirit definitely holds its own against similarly priced phones such as the Moto G and the Lumia 640.

Behind the cover lies the micro-SIM and micro-SIM card slot, allowing you to expand storage beyond the rather paltry 8GB provided. It's also here that you'll find the 2,100mAh battery, which is removable.

The most noticeable difference between the G4 and the Spirit is the latter's relative chunkiness. Measuring 10mm thick, the Spirit isn't super-slim – however, it isn't bulky to the point where it will impact on daily use.

LG Spirit 29

LG Spirit – Screen

It was Motorola with the Moto G that kick-started the trend to include 720p HD screens on budget phones, but companies such as LG were slow to follow.

That’s changed with the Spirit, which features a 4.7in LCD screen packing a 312ppi pixel density. That’s the same screen estate as the iPhone 5s – and although we're now seeing much bigger screens, this size will be perfectly acceptable for most.

And it's an impressive screen for the money, offering a good experience when watching videos or browsing the web.

It’s bright and sharp, with reasonably balanced colours. On the downside, colours lack a little vibrancy. However, viewing angles are decent, and outdoor visibility is good; you shouldn't have any problems viewing the screen on a bright, sunny day.

There isn't a great deal you can do here to tinker with the display, although there’s a potentially useful night brightness mode that sets brightness to 0% automatically between 00:00 and 06:00 to help conserve battery life.

One of the most surprising additions to the display is the layer of Corning Gorilla Glass 3, which will provide protection against everyday scratches and knocks.

Best Deals for LG Spirit

  • Compare prices
  • ebay

Dead Words

August 6, 2015, 12:50 pm

I'd like to point out a mistake:
On the first page you said that the screen size was 4.7 inches...the same size as the iPhone 5s. Didn't you mean iPhone 6?

Dead Words

August 6, 2015, 12:55 pm

Hey TrustedReviews! I've noticed that the Snapdragon 410 seems to have multitasking issues. There weren't any serious performance issues with the 400. Do you have any idea why the 410 is stumbling a bit, even though it's technically quite a bit more powerful? Could it be a matter of optimization with Lollipop?

Dead Words

August 6, 2015, 1:05 pm

"With the Lumia 640, its other rival, you'll have to live with the many quirks that come with Windows Phone OS – such as the disappointing app store and the messy UI. However, the arrival of Windows 10 Mobile should go some way to address some of those issues."
No one can deny that there are holes in the application store. However, I have all the applications I need however.
The "messy UI" is what I don't agree with. Windows Phone isn't perfect UI-wise but it's a far more user-friendly experience, more simplistic than Android yet more customized than iOS, and it's navigational cues are better than any other mobile OS out there. For optimization, it puts Android to shame. Battery life and performance using the same hardware is always better on Windows Phone.
Didn't you actually give Windows Phone 8.1 an 8/10 in your full review? Because I rarely see it.

fusion01

October 21, 2015, 7:08 am

There is no need. it's a phone platform currently without quality apps and therefore an instant fail. android absolutely stomps on it. I bent my lumia completely out of shape (it was strong I'll give it that) in frustration. went back to 'droid and happy.

fusion01

October 21, 2015, 7:36 am

Very happy with this phone. size was a primary consideration: I needed something small enough to be taken on my many outdoor missions... fitting into a waist-mounted running bag alongside a mountain bike top-tube bag - both of a fairly small size and where the Spirit JUST fits with a slight squeeze. Sorted!!! Only quirk was initially leaving some LG specific 'window' option (UI elements display through the cut-out on the included case) on with hotkeys accessible for the camera being one of them... in my running bag the phone was both against and facing my waist, 600+ photos were taken and all auto backed-up to the cloud. Removing 1200+ images... not fun! Happened twice before I removed the feature. Otherwise it's decent for the price.

Dead Words

October 21, 2015, 11:23 am

It is not completely without quality applications. Many third-party applications are actually better than the first-party alternatives. I have every application I could possibly want along with an operating system that is far more customizable than iOS and far more efficient than Android. It's different and unique from both and brings a lot of neat features that we've had for two years and Apple is just now trying to market as their own inventions. Trends today like Qi wireless charging and OIS started with Windows Phones. Double tap to wake started with Windows Phones. Living Images started with Windows Phones.
It's not for everyone of course, but I'm perfectly happy with it. I'd just as happily use Android, but I love the Windows Phone charm.

Franco Giuliani

October 24, 2015, 3:24 pm

He was comparing the dpi of both screens not the size.

Dead Words

October 25, 2015, 12:56 pm

That wouldn't make sense, since the 5s and 6 have the exact same DPI: 326.

Mirrorlynx

April 18, 2016, 8:16 am

Not long had this phone and to be fair my opinion is violently split in two! technically maybe three!!!

The Good!

The LG Spirit 4G H440n Hardware is excellent for around the 79£ mark on a pay and go. It has a very good screen resolution, great viewing angle and top quality ips. So its nice to use for reading ebooks or web browsing for long periods of time without eye strain day or night which is the main reason why i bought the phone and has very good spec's too many to list.

The Bad!

Simply put, Google's Andriod "Lollipop" software is saying to you the 'user' that it dose not give a damm about how you want to control your phone's feature's, so your left feeling like the phone does not really belong to you. This is a very bad direction google is taking the Andriod system.

For example if it's the phone's security feature you want to keep control of; like automatic updates or stoping certain apps from accessing your phones personal information or automatically connecting to your internet connection, then stop trying because all the controls to restrict bad app behaviour have been took away. As far as i am aware Google's Andriod took this security control feature away after Andriod version 4.2.2 like the one my previous phone had.
If you like many out there have bought this phone on pay&go or some other isp data plan you may have notice how data hungry this andriod phone is and it is very likely your months 'Data Allowance' will be chewed up completly in the first week or days! while you are mesmerised by beautiful display of colours and eye candy "Lollipop" animation.

It's looking unlikely for a "Marshmallow" update for this phone and to have permissions setting corrected.

The Ugly!

All these changes andriod have been working towards have been the opposite of what i thought 'andriod' was supposed to be; a phone system designed to be user friendly with the control and flexibilty that other phone companies did'nt give.

Basically no matter which Andriod phone a buyer is intrested in, you have a phone that is easy to navigate and switch features on or off! and do not deliberately make the phone's features hard to find or in this case with "Lollipop" have them removed. If that means giving a inexperienced user the ability to completely stop a function they then realised they needed to keep on, then that choice should be there for them. A small infomation popup stating 'if you switch off this function it will stop app connecting to your network' and if the user did'nt know what they switched on or off from the over whelming amount of options that some apps have then thats also fine because they could scroll down the 'easy to navigate' permissions list and select somthing like 'Reset app permissions to Default' so app would continue as intended from the start. Then more users are satisfied from the basic to more advance.

The point i'm trying to say is about respecting privacy, if a individual wants to keep there home door locked from possible threats then thats there choice and if they decide to allow some individuals in for a social meeting only to find that the 'signal' got out and the possibility of bringing in gate crashers from hell; the individual still has the right in deciding to lock more doors to reduce the chances of damage.

What Google's Andriod effectivly does is sell you a home without doors and try to say it's secure. I realy hope Google does not expand into development of 'Smart Homes' i would be suspicious about going to the toilet just incase there's a camera in the loo expecting wepons of mass destruction to drop out of my ass!

Google's Andriod is intrusive and potentially alot worse,
if Google's reasons for this are about trying to give the security forces the abillity to monitor criminal activity it should be done with professionalism and staying in balance with the infomation they have collected to aviod implicating themselves as a crimimal by giving the ability to hack in to people's privacy. As news reports show up at times there are tecnical individuals on the force in a position of great trust who use information within the force to intrude in lives with little justification to the point of abuse or in some cases actual abuse and have influence over others who with or without knowing are taking part in some sort of collective abuse at some level depending on the type of involvement, which gives the forces bad issues internaly and publicly.

Whoever the people are behind developing andriod in this way have gave too much ability to certain people who are not responsible enough to exercise professionalism.

Sorry for the length of opinion it got me thinking in a few directions. Here's a couple of links you might find interesting or not :)

https://plus.google.com/+MaxHu...

https://ukconstitutionallaw.or...

Steve Brown

May 28, 2016, 9:52 am

and the other choice is Apple, which is even worse ...

Lara Rissa Giardini

June 12, 2016, 4:45 pm

Very poor quality product. Dropped it it from a 20 cm height and cracked the screen. After a year the software is dead and LG refused to repair it without even investigate what was the cause of the fault and took 10 days to notify it.

comments powered by Disqus