Home / TVs & Audio / TV / LG Smart TV

LG Smart TV review

John Archer




  • Recommended by TR

1 of 12

LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Smart TV


Our Score:


User Score:


With many TVs we’ve seen this year really upping the smart TV ante with both their content and interfaces, there’s some serious pressure on LG – the last of the big-name brands to show its new 2013 Smart TV hand – to keep up with Joneses. But with enhancements to the amount of content on offer, as well as lots of new ways of accessing content – including voice recognition, NFC support, and a brilliant new ‘magic remote it just might have the answers it needs.

LG Smart TV 2013 - Magic Remote

LG 2013 Smart TV system

Our first port of call is LG’s new Magic Remote. Shipped free alongside a standard remote with every new model in LG’s range from the LA660V upwards, the Magic Remote proves a brilliant alternative method for streamlining and simplifying your use of the TV’s Smart and standard features.

Three key points make the Magic Remote so effective. First, it’s a universal remote, and so can be used for taking over control of other parts of your home cinema system. Second, it lets you navigate, Nintendo Wiimote style, the onscreen menus simply by pointing the remote at the right part of the screen. More on this presently.

Third, it features a vastly streamlined button count versus the standard remote, which sticks to the most important functions. Anything else is accessible using the 'Virtual Remote' button that brings up an on-screen version of the main remote to access the function you want by pointing at the screen.

The LG Magic Remote's most eye-catching feature is the scrolls wheel. This wheel provides you with a brilliantly tactile and extremely fast way of scrolling through menu lists, as well as allowing you to select options by pressing it in.

You can even use it to quickly spin through channels while watching the digital tuner. The only issue we’d have with it is that it only spins vertically, while some of the menus it works with are arranged onscreen horizontally, leading to some slightly unintuitive moments.

The ‘point and click’ aspect of the magic remote really does work brilliantly. The pointer is activated simply by picking the remote up or shaking it around a bit, and it responds with outstanding speed and accuracy to your movements of it. It’s configured, moreover, so that you can cover the entire area of the screen, from one side to the other, simply by flexing your wrist. There’s no need for any tiring full-arm gesture nonsense.

Despite the small movements needed to cover a large expanse of screen area, though, the system is precise enough in its responses to make sure that it’s not at all difficult to finish your motion with the onscreen cursor perfectly positioned over the option you want to choose.

This all makes for a much more intuitive way of selecting options from LG’s graphically rich menus or surfing web pages than using a standard remote.

LG 2013 Smart TV system

LG Smart TV 2013 - Gesture Controls

It’s worth adding that LG’s new TVs do also support gesture control using your hands, like Samsung’s top-end TVs. This is standard on LG TVs with built-in cameras, otherwise it only becomes possible if you add an optional USB camera. However, the system isn’t as comfortable or effective to use as the magic remote, so you’ll likely only ever even think about it if you’re one of those people who’s forever losing their remote controls.


June 26, 2013, 1:49 pm

This isn't WebOS is it? Doesn't look like it anyway. They are supposed to be revamping all these interfaces with WebOS in 2014, might be a bit of a bugger if suddenly your Smart TV gets all stupid with no updates. You could buy a Sony TV if you wanted that.


June 27, 2013, 10:06 am

I have a 2012 LG TV and it is fantastic for DLNA. Plays every format.


August 30, 2013, 9:46 pm

The mini tv does not work on my Samsung Gs4 either:( I can do everything just like more than a remote control but this function is not working and makes me sad:(

Marcelo Taranto

October 4, 2013, 12:05 pm

What a joke!! How could a review being made without any mention about the image quality, like black level, view angle, response time, etc??
It can't be serious...


October 4, 2013, 12:43 pm

This is a review of the Smart TV features on their own. It's not a standard TV review. We cover all that stuff in our reviews of specific TV models.

Marcelo Taranto

October 4, 2013, 12:57 pm

My bad! I didn't realize it was a Smart functions only review. ;)

Casper Joefield

October 8, 2013, 4:29 pm

ok I am having some problems with my 42 inch smart tv..my remote works just like any other remote,where it suppose to be a magic remote where I can use the pointer as seen in videos on youtube unfortunately mine doesn't work like that..been tryin like forever to solve this problem and no help so far..question!! does my smart tv must have a motion LG camera to use the pointer from my remote,and yes the remote that I have is the remote I got with the tv when I bought it...and help on this would be great...getting pissed..

Ivm Ivm

October 11, 2013, 4:11 am

LG TVs have serious issues with DLNA technology. It does not support changing sound track for now. But it worked in earlier firmwares and one day they just decided to break it. NEVER LG ANYMORE!!!


November 8, 2013, 1:59 am

LG sucks.. Well the tv was great tell it went dead. Bought a 47"3D smart tv and it went to crap a just over a year later. Just stopped working. Customer service sucks.. Now I have to go out 30 miles away from my home to get butt rapped on the repairs. It would be one thing if I lived in the damn hills but I live in Tacoma Washington and still have to travel.. Aholes..

Steven Pribilinskiy

November 9, 2013, 11:17 am

I have to confirm that i can't change sound track for downloaded mkv files, however it was worked a year ago. Since then i'm waiting for a new firmware because there's no way to roll back to a previous version :( Very frustrating


November 24, 2013, 3:21 pm

lg 2nd display is usless, no notebook app that supports it also is not working on HTC Mobile Devices


November 28, 2013, 7:56 am

LG Smart TV is probably the worst news journalism ever on this Earth. I mean the MSNBC talking head is talking about shitting and pissing in a female's mouth and Lg calls this smart TV


January 5, 2014, 9:09 am

hey can you show a video about how to mirror using NFC tag pleas


February 3, 2014, 6:00 pm

You need the magic remote as the standard one sold with the TV is usually only a generic push button type: http://www.johnlewis.com/lg-an...

mick london

March 6, 2014, 8:07 pm

I bought a 55" lg smart just over a year ago and the lcd penal is gone and they LG dont want to know great it is like burning £1800 pounds


March 15, 2014, 2:40 pm

If you're thinking of buying an LG TV because of the Eurosport Player, take my advice - don't bother!
The app does not work, Eurosport ignores any attempt at communication regarding its non-performance and trying to get a subscription refund is impossible. In short, probably the worlds' worst (cr)app.


March 17, 2014, 4:59 am

I'm thinking of buying either LG or Samsung. Which one is better?

Vinícius Rodrigo

April 7, 2014, 7:37 pm

I have the same problem .... do you solved?

kathleen nepia

June 24, 2014, 10:17 am

i have LG on now dont forget smart remote i forgot now im in need minz 2013


August 18, 2014, 7:17 am

LG for the win!


August 18, 2014, 7:19 am

Some models come with magic some come with regular. If you're sure yours is supposed to be a magic remote I would contact LG


August 18, 2014, 7:20 am

As an owner of 2 LG smart TV's (6205 and 6700) I will say the image quality of LG is amazing


August 18, 2014, 7:21 am

I agree, I have the 6700 and it plays almost everything I throw at it. Only the Xbox has better DLNA IMO


August 18, 2014, 7:23 am

Really? I have 2012 and 2013 LG's that would be nice. As it is there are still updates but not webos

Miyako O'Conner

February 12, 2015, 8:29 am

Great article John. For those who live outside US like me, you can access Netflix, Hulu and similar media stations on your LG Smart TV by using UnoTelly or similar tools.

comments powered by Disqus