Home » Mobile » Mobile Phone » LG G3 » Performance and Connectivity

LG G3: Performance and Connectivity

evan kypreos

By Evan Kypreos


  • Recommended by TR


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £500.00

LG G3: Performance and Benchmarks

There’s very little to choose between top range Android phones these days. They almost all pack Qualcomm’s latest system on a chip and it’s no surprise that the LG G3 follows suit.

The quad-core Snapdragon 801 runs at up to 2.5Ghz and is backed up by 2GB or RAM for the 16GB version and 3GB RAM for the 32 GB one. Preliminary reports suggest the extra 1GB of RAM makes little difference to performance.

Just to confuse matters a little the Snapdragon 801 comes in a few variations, here we have the faster one that the Galaxy S5 uses. It is 200Mhz quicker than the variant in the HTC One M8 and the Sony Xperia Z2, which means that it should perform better in our standard benchmark tests. However, this is not the case.

LG G3The LG G3 scores 2,425 in Geekbench 3, a fair bit lower than the 2,908 of the Galaxy S5 and 2,840 of the HTC One M8. It also trails more than 10 per cent behind the other two in the 3DMark Unlimited benchmark with a score of 16,382. We’re not quite sure why this is the case. We know that HTC has ‘optimised’ the HTC One M8 to perform well in benchmark tests so we always take its results with a pinch of salt.

While we have had no confirmation on this there is the possibility that LG are holding a little back from the processor to ensure the LG G3 doesn’t overheat or use too much battery. During our testing we were stopped several times from upping the brightness of the screen to 100 per cent with the message “Unable to brighten more due to temperature increase”.

It may be that LG has opted for keeping the internal temperature down over eking every last bit of power out of the processor. If so it’s an admirable sentiment, we have often found stability issues with phones that overheat and we’d take a small performance hit in exchange for the boost in reliability.

In real world use you’ll notice very little wrong with the LG G3’s performance. Aside from the occasional tiny UI stutter, which happens with every Android phone we’ve used.

The LG G3 is slick and powerful. Heavy duty 3D games like Asphalt 8 play smoothly and look stunning on that amazing QHD screen.

LG G3: Connectivity and storage

The LG G3 has resolved one of the main complaints buyers had of the LG G2. It now comes with a microSD card slot that accepts cards up to 128GB in size. This means that it makes little difference whether you opt for the 16GB or 32GB model, aside from RAM. You can always add extra storage later.

The full host of wireless connectivity we’ve come to expect from high-end phones is present and correct. There’s a wide range of 4G connectivity bands, as well as Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac) Bluetooth 4.0 and NFC. It also comes with an Infrared blaster and one of the more usable IR remote apps we’ve experienced. Setting up our home entertainment system was quick and slick and it’s one of the rare IR apps we actually find ourselves using when we are too lazy to track down a remote.

LG G3 5

While Samsung opted to kit out the Galaxy S5 with a microUSB 3.0 port the LG G3 has a more standard microUSB 2.0 one. This means you won’t get the same blistering data transfer rates, but in all other respects the LG G3’s microUSB port is comprehensive. It is Slimport compatible, which means you can connect it to your TV with an adapter, and is USB on-the-go enabled so that it can read from USB storage devices.

Previous page
Next page
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Prem Desai

June 24, 2014, 3:15 pm

Looks interesting, especially for the price. Still a lot of money though.

If it was around £300, this would be THE phone to have.

LG need to get rid of the split screen nonsense or do it properly.

Why are you expecting an extra 1Gb of memory to make any difference? This is only used when running several apps at the same time.


June 25, 2014, 12:15 pm

It is a fair amount of money but it's cheaper than other phones of this spec. There are very good phones around for less but they all tend to have quite a serious disadvantage somewhere along the line. The Nexus 5 for example is £300 but I'd pay the extra for the camera on this because I take a lot of phone pics and video.

We didn't expect an extra 1gb to make much difference it's just a little explanation that it's not something to worry about too much, especially as it's only going to the South Korean market (to start with anyway). A German site did some tests and found it to be a few percent faster in most tests (around 5% overall) https://www.youtube.com/watch?...

Edit: The test was with no other apps running so there is a small benefit even when running a single app.

Prem Desai

June 25, 2014, 4:31 pm

Agree with you about the price - it is cheaper than the competition.

I'm just saying that if it was £300 or thereabouts, it would define a whole new price point and sell exceptionally well. A bit like the Moto G which went on to become THE phone to buy at that price.

LG prices usually come down after the initial release so let's see ....


June 25, 2014, 4:48 pm

Yup - someone needs to "do a Moto G" at this end of the spectrum.


June 29, 2014, 7:23 am

Can you put the main specs in table on the first page. I don't like to wade through to find out about removable battery and microsd.


July 1, 2014, 11:16 pm

Great phone.. Gonna wait till September..

Btw, which stand to you use?
Please provide with a link if it's possible..


David T

August 21, 2014, 7:15 pm

I'm late to the party but the 3GB wouldn't really change the benchmark results and should not be expected to. What it should help is with the smoothness of the phone during daily use; switching between apps which may use a lot of RAM. It's possible that apps may use memory due to the ultra high resolution.

Terrel Thompson

August 22, 2014, 3:21 am

Average battery life!?!?!?
you might want to do another test on that lol

David T

August 22, 2014, 5:45 pm

Err they have, it's called the Nexus range...


August 24, 2014, 2:39 pm

Loving this phone, I just bought it and I'm already in love with it! The 3GB RAM is absolutely a killer, its almost as much as my laptop!

The Laser Focus has to be the fastest focus I've ever encountered! The camera delivers brilliant quality pictures too!

Check out my own review here: http://tech-xyz.com/which-smar...

Charles Ha

August 24, 2014, 11:30 pm

can anyone tell me what the setting is under the front facing camera and press the settings (wrench). theres 2 heads facing outwards and if you press it, they both face left. i cant seem to find out what this does... anyone???


September 11, 2014, 12:40 pm

I just bought mine a week ago and boy oh boy is it a brilliant phone so far..... in the first 2 days that i had the phone i saw it needed a software update, i thought it was strange because we did all the updates in store, but non the less i did the update and one of the features for the update was a battery performance enhancer, after doing that my battery is 10x better!!! Not that it was bad before but now it lasts even longer!!

Joshua Cooper

September 12, 2014, 4:40 pm

I love this phone, but the battery life is below average. I have uninstalled a few apps and tried monitoring my battery life. After 6 hours of ONLY texting about 20 times, 20 minutes of music, and the rest on standby the battery has went from 100% to 29%. How in the world did you do all those things and the battery last ALL DAY? Wow, this is some kind of joke right?

Andis Zvanbergs

September 16, 2014, 9:21 pm

About 15-20% battery per hour than display is on with avarage brightness. 1% - 4-6 hours on standby than wifi is on, mobile data on and bluetooth on. I am not gamer, for me this phone holds 2 full days, 2 hours on display per day (web browsing, some youtube video, messages and calls). Also this phone have very good network reception, possibly one of the best antenas in world, not sure but i am happy enough.

Andis Zvanbergs

September 16, 2014, 9:23 pm

Dont buy phones on ebay, mostly sellers selling refurbished phones, whats why they are cheaper than in shops and sometimes faulty.

Andis Zvanbergs

September 16, 2014, 9:24 pm

Perhaps you got faulty phone


September 16, 2014, 11:22 pm

I don't know about you guys but my phones battery life sucks, I am a big widget user but haven't added any because of this. I also get told that they can NOT hear me. I have traded my phone thinking that it was a bad one but NOPE its not. I am disappointed with this phone. My G2 was better call quality and battery life was too (i know its because of the screen quality).

Joshua Cooper

September 17, 2014, 2:10 pm

Perhaps! I really hope that is the case, and if it is, I REALLY hope verizon will let me try another one out. :/

Kanishka Ray

September 24, 2014, 4:45 am

A full day of use off a full charge and my battery is still over 70%. Light use, I've seen it in high 80% area. If I tether and use the camera a lot....I've seen it go as low as 58%. The battery life is superb.


October 24, 2014, 11:57 am

I got this phone in early August - had a Nexus 5 before that and previously iPhone 5 and 4S. The LG G3 is by far the best of the lot, much better battery life than the Nexus 5, great screen and nice thin bezels, which in my opinion, make it look much more elegant and streamlined than any iPhone or Sony phones, both of which have unattractive wide bezels top and bottom. I really can't imagine how this phone could be better for my use. I mainly read news and sports apps, kindle ebooks, emails and web browsing - no graphics intensive games or videos. I have no regrets with this phone, the first time I can say that, so I highly recommend it.

Hakki Döngel

November 7, 2014, 4:50 pm

wow , i could only dream of that...
i have the 32gb - 3gb ram version and today i only got a lousy 2.5 hrs of screen on time. havent watched any vids, i was on wifi for an hour or so... there certainly is something wrong


December 7, 2014, 2:27 am

Just curious: have you solved this problem somehow?

Prem Desai

December 11, 2014, 2:15 pm

It is £300 now and I have got it.



December 13, 2014, 9:24 pm

I think it's a "beautify" button. It makes your skin tones look better in different lighting.

Had Enough With the BS

December 18, 2014, 12:39 am

You have settings and apps that are generating too much activity.
Learn to phone.

comments powered by Disqus