Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / LG G3 / Software and Apps

LG G3: Software and Apps

evan kypreos

By Evan Kypreos



  • Recommended by TR


Our Score:


User Score:

LG G3: Software and Apps

‘"Simple is the new smart". That phrase has been LG’s mantra when designing the LG G3. It applies to the physical design and it applies to the totally reworked Optimus user interface that LG has layered over Android 4.4.2 KitKat.

LG’s skinning of Android in the past has been a little poor. It looked a bit naff and didn’t do all that much, which meant that we’d have much preferred a phone with a stock version of Android instead.

The latest UI is a different proposition. LG has used a much flatter, even Apple-esque, design that makes the LG G3 feel a lot more contemporary to use.

LG G3 4

The LG G3 has a number of nifty features that are worth noting

Notification centre and key settings

There’s a combined settings toggle and notification centre that can be accessed by swiping from the top, as you’d expect from an Android phone. This provides quick access to key settings, such as connectivity and brightness, Qslide apps (see below) and your latest notifications and actions.

Knock Code and KnockOn

As well as PIN-based security the LG G3 has Knock Code. This lets you tap the screen in a particular sequence to unlock the phone. The idea is that gesture unlocks are insecure because there is often a visible residue outline left on the phone that offers a clue as to how to unlock it. Just tapping the screen does not leave as apparent a clue. More useful is the KnockOn feature that lets you turn the screen on or off by double tapping it. This was introduced on the G2 but is even more of a blessing on the larger-screened LG G3.

Qslide appsLG G3

Qslide was launched with the LG G2 and is a handy little feature that lets you open certain apps in a small window over the app you’re currently using. These apps include video, stocks, internet browser, phone, calendar and calculator among others.

Smart Notice

Smart Notice is a bit like Google Now. It offers tips and advice based on your location, calendar and general usage of the phone.

Split screen modeLG G3

In a similar vein to Qslide, LG has added split screen mode to the G3. This let you run two apps at the same time, one above the other, simply by pressing and holding the back soft key. You won’t be able to select any app from you library. Instead there are some apps that LG allows you to use in split screen mode. These include email apps, messaging, browsers, maps and YouTube.

The large display means the LG G3 is well suited to some split screen shananigans and the feature works well with the apps included. One small bugbear is that email and messaging apps tend to take the whole screen when the keyboard opens for typing, otherwise it’s useful and we hope that LG allows more apps to be included in the selection. Netflix and Spotify would be excellent additions, for example.

Smart Keyboard

LG thought it would be a good idea to make the keyboard a little more user friendly due to the size of the LG G3’s screen. It is.

You don’t need to move your hand to reach the input box if you’ve made a mistake any more. All you need to do is press and hold the space bar and then move your thumb left and right. The cursor will move to the position you want it to without you having to pick the right spot with surgical precision as you would on other phones.

The keyboard also trys to learn your habits. If you’re a messy typist and regularly find yourself making mistakes the LG G3 can adapt and learn where you hit the keyboard and what you actually meant to type. In the days we’ve been using the phone we haven’t noticed a marked improvement, but this is the sort of feature that takes time to shine. LG claims typing accuracy can improve by as much as 75 per cent once the phone has fully learned your habits.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Prem Desai

June 24, 2014, 3:15 pm

Looks interesting, especially for the price. Still a lot of money though.

If it was around £300, this would be THE phone to have.

LG need to get rid of the split screen nonsense or do it properly.

Why are you expecting an extra 1Gb of memory to make any difference? This is only used when running several apps at the same time.


June 25, 2014, 12:15 pm

It is a fair amount of money but it's cheaper than other phones of this spec. There are very good phones around for less but they all tend to have quite a serious disadvantage somewhere along the line. The Nexus 5 for example is £300 but I'd pay the extra for the camera on this because I take a lot of phone pics and video.

We didn't expect an extra 1gb to make much difference it's just a little explanation that it's not something to worry about too much, especially as it's only going to the South Korean market (to start with anyway). A German site did some tests and found it to be a few percent faster in most tests (around 5% overall) https://www.youtube.com/watch?...

Edit: The test was with no other apps running so there is a small benefit even when running a single app.

Prem Desai

June 25, 2014, 4:31 pm

Agree with you about the price - it is cheaper than the competition.

I'm just saying that if it was £300 or thereabouts, it would define a whole new price point and sell exceptionally well. A bit like the Moto G which went on to become THE phone to buy at that price.

LG prices usually come down after the initial release so let's see ....


June 25, 2014, 4:48 pm

Yup - someone needs to "do a Moto G" at this end of the spectrum.


June 29, 2014, 7:23 am

Can you put the main specs in table on the first page. I don't like to wade through to find out about removable battery and microsd.


July 1, 2014, 11:16 pm

Great phone.. Gonna wait till September..

Btw, which stand to you use?
Please provide with a link if it's possible..


David T

August 21, 2014, 7:15 pm

I'm late to the party but the 3GB wouldn't really change the benchmark results and should not be expected to. What it should help is with the smoothness of the phone during daily use; switching between apps which may use a lot of RAM. It's possible that apps may use memory due to the ultra high resolution.

Terrel Thompson

August 22, 2014, 3:21 am

Average battery life!?!?!?
you might want to do another test on that lol

David T

August 22, 2014, 5:45 pm

Err they have, it's called the Nexus range...


August 24, 2014, 2:39 pm

Loving this phone, I just bought it and I'm already in love with it! The 3GB RAM is absolutely a killer, its almost as much as my laptop!

The Laser Focus has to be the fastest focus I've ever encountered! The camera delivers brilliant quality pictures too!

Check out my own review here: http://tech-xyz.com/which-smar...

Charles Ha

August 24, 2014, 11:30 pm

can anyone tell me what the setting is under the front facing camera and press the settings (wrench). theres 2 heads facing outwards and if you press it, they both face left. i cant seem to find out what this does... anyone???


September 11, 2014, 12:40 pm

I just bought mine a week ago and boy oh boy is it a brilliant phone so far..... in the first 2 days that i had the phone i saw it needed a software update, i thought it was strange because we did all the updates in store, but non the less i did the update and one of the features for the update was a battery performance enhancer, after doing that my battery is 10x better!!! Not that it was bad before but now it lasts even longer!!

Joshua Cooper

September 12, 2014, 4:40 pm

I love this phone, but the battery life is below average. I have uninstalled a few apps and tried monitoring my battery life. After 6 hours of ONLY texting about 20 times, 20 minutes of music, and the rest on standby the battery has went from 100% to 29%. How in the world did you do all those things and the battery last ALL DAY? Wow, this is some kind of joke right?

Andis Zvanbergs

September 16, 2014, 9:21 pm

About 15-20% battery per hour than display is on with avarage brightness. 1% - 4-6 hours on standby than wifi is on, mobile data on and bluetooth on. I am not gamer, for me this phone holds 2 full days, 2 hours on display per day (web browsing, some youtube video, messages and calls). Also this phone have very good network reception, possibly one of the best antenas in world, not sure but i am happy enough.

Andis Zvanbergs

September 16, 2014, 9:23 pm

Dont buy phones on ebay, mostly sellers selling refurbished phones, whats why they are cheaper than in shops and sometimes faulty.

Andis Zvanbergs

September 16, 2014, 9:24 pm

Perhaps you got faulty phone


September 16, 2014, 11:22 pm

I don't know about you guys but my phones battery life sucks, I am a big widget user but haven't added any because of this. I also get told that they can NOT hear me. I have traded my phone thinking that it was a bad one but NOPE its not. I am disappointed with this phone. My G2 was better call quality and battery life was too (i know its because of the screen quality).

Joshua Cooper

September 17, 2014, 2:10 pm

Perhaps! I really hope that is the case, and if it is, I REALLY hope verizon will let me try another one out. :/

Kanishka Ray

September 24, 2014, 4:45 am

A full day of use off a full charge and my battery is still over 70%. Light use, I've seen it in high 80% area. If I tether and use the camera a lot....I've seen it go as low as 58%. The battery life is superb.


October 24, 2014, 11:57 am

I got this phone in early August - had a Nexus 5 before that and previously iPhone 5 and 4S. The LG G3 is by far the best of the lot, much better battery life than the Nexus 5, great screen and nice thin bezels, which in my opinion, make it look much more elegant and streamlined than any iPhone or Sony phones, both of which have unattractive wide bezels top and bottom. I really can't imagine how this phone could be better for my use. I mainly read news and sports apps, kindle ebooks, emails and web browsing - no graphics intensive games or videos. I have no regrets with this phone, the first time I can say that, so I highly recommend it.

Hakki Döngel

November 7, 2014, 4:50 pm

wow , i could only dream of that...
i have the 32gb - 3gb ram version and today i only got a lousy 2.5 hrs of screen on time. havent watched any vids, i was on wifi for an hour or so... there certainly is something wrong


December 7, 2014, 2:27 am

Just curious: have you solved this problem somehow?

Prem Desai

December 11, 2014, 2:15 pm

It is £300 now and I have got it.



December 13, 2014, 9:24 pm

I think it's a "beautify" button. It makes your skin tones look better in different lighting.

Ignores the BS ✓ᵀʳᵘᵐᵖ ᵛᵉʳᶦᶠᶦᵉᵈ

December 18, 2014, 12:39 am

You have settings and apps that are generating too much activity.
Learn to phone.

comments powered by Disqus