Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / LG G3 / Battery Life, Call Quality and Verdict

LG G3: Battery Life, Call Quality and Verdict

evan kypreos

By Evan Kypreos

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
LG G3

Summary

Our Score:

9

LG G3: Battery life

With a large 3,000mAh removable battery to power it you’d expect the LG G3 to last a while on a single charge. After all only the Sony Xperia Z2 comes with a larger battery – the Galaxy S5 and HTC One M8 both pack smaller ones.

This is not quite the case, however. It is not that the LG G3’s battery life is bad, it’s just average. The only thing we can blame is that thirsty QHD screen. At full brightness you can almost see the battery draining in real time, knock the brightness down a few notches and things get noticeably better, though.

We managed a full day of heavy use with the brightness set to 70 per cent. This included an hour of calls, two hours of web browsing (3G and Wi-Fi), an hour of listening to music with a GPS enabled fitness app running, four hours of Wi-Fi video streaming and an hour of 3D gaming, as well as taking a dozen pictures. With more measured use we got about a day and a half.

LG G3

In our second test we set the LG G3 on airplane mode and made it play a video on loop at medium brightness until it turned off. It managed a respectable 10 hours of playback, just an hour less than the Galaxy S5.

LG G3

The LG G3’s battery life is what we’ve come to expect from most top-spec phones these days – you’ll probably need to charge it daily. However, the battery is remarkable in one way, it charges very quickly. You get 35 per cent from empty in just a 30 minute charge, and a full battery in around two hours.

There is, of course, a battery saving mode. This kicks in automatically at 5 per cent battery life but you can change it to start at 30 per cent in the settings. To conserve energy it turns off Bluetooth, Wi-Fi and tap vibrations and sets the screen brightness to just 20 per cent. Used sparingly we found that the battery saving mode helped the LG G3 survive a whole day starting at just 30 per cent battery life, although you will struggle to make out the dim screen outdoors.

LG G3: Call and sound quality

During calls the LG G3’s earpiece is loud and clear and the microphone performs well. The LG G3 comes with a secondary mic for active noise cancelling and this helps when you’re in a noisy environment and trying to make yourself heard.

Unfortunately the speaker is disappointing. It possesses neither the volume nor the depth of other phones in its category – audio is weak and thin. However, the LG G3 does come bundled with some reasonable earphones. These offer much better sound quality and noise isolation than Apple’s EarPods, but, being in-ear, they are a little more invasive.

LG G3 18

Should I buy the LG G3?

The LG G3 deserves serious consideration. The design isn’t quite as slick as the HTC One M8 but the camera is a lot better and you get a lot more screen for your money. While the Sony Xperia Z2 is built from more premium materials the LG G3 is actually a lot easier to handle.

The Samsung Galaxy S5 is probably its closest like for like rival and it squares up to it very well indeed, aside from the lack of water resistance and the slightly lower battery life. At around £50 cheaper than the other phones it is well worth looking at.

Verdict

The LG G3 is LG’s best phone yet. The screen is special but we’d have been happy for a 1080p display and better battery life. However the LG G3 has no real weaknesses, it’s an all-round great phone.

Next, read our best mobile phones round-up

Overall Score

9

Scores In Detail

  • Battery Life 7
  • Calls & Sound 8
  • Camera 8
  • Design 9
  • Screen Quality 9
  • Software 8
  • Value 9
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Prem Desai

June 24, 2014, 3:15 pm

Looks interesting, especially for the price. Still a lot of money though.

If it was around £300, this would be THE phone to have.

LG need to get rid of the split screen nonsense or do it properly.

Why are you expecting an extra 1Gb of memory to make any difference? This is only used when running several apps at the same time.

Evan

June 25, 2014, 12:15 pm

It is a fair amount of money but it's cheaper than other phones of this spec. There are very good phones around for less but they all tend to have quite a serious disadvantage somewhere along the line. The Nexus 5 for example is £300 but I'd pay the extra for the camera on this because I take a lot of phone pics and video.

We didn't expect an extra 1gb to make much difference it's just a little explanation that it's not something to worry about too much, especially as it's only going to the South Korean market (to start with anyway). A German site did some tests and found it to be a few percent faster in most tests (around 5% overall) https://www.youtube.com/watch?...

Edit: The test was with no other apps running so there is a small benefit even when running a single app.

Prem Desai

June 25, 2014, 4:31 pm

Agree with you about the price - it is cheaper than the competition.

I'm just saying that if it was £300 or thereabouts, it would define a whole new price point and sell exceptionally well. A bit like the Moto G which went on to become THE phone to buy at that price.

LG prices usually come down after the initial release so let's see ....

toboev

June 25, 2014, 4:48 pm

Yup - someone needs to "do a Moto G" at this end of the spectrum.

mrg9999

June 29, 2014, 7:23 am

Can you put the main specs in table on the first page. I don't like to wade through to find out about removable battery and microsd.

TheTAMAS

July 1, 2014, 11:16 pm

Great phone.. Gonna wait till September..
:-D

Btw, which stand to you use?
Please provide with a link if it's possible..

Thanks

David T

August 21, 2014, 7:15 pm

I'm late to the party but the 3GB wouldn't really change the benchmark results and should not be expected to. What it should help is with the smoothness of the phone during daily use; switching between apps which may use a lot of RAM. It's possible that apps may use memory due to the ultra high resolution.

Terrel Thompson

August 22, 2014, 3:21 am

Average battery life!?!?!?
you might want to do another test on that lol

David T

August 22, 2014, 5:45 pm

Err they have, it's called the Nexus range...

james93parsons

August 24, 2014, 2:39 pm

Loving this phone, I just bought it and I'm already in love with it! The 3GB RAM is absolutely a killer, its almost as much as my laptop!

The Laser Focus has to be the fastest focus I've ever encountered! The camera delivers brilliant quality pictures too!

Check out my own review here: http://tech-xyz.com/which-smar...

Charles Ha

August 24, 2014, 11:30 pm

can anyone tell me what the setting is under the front facing camera and press the settings (wrench). theres 2 heads facing outwards and if you press it, they both face left. i cant seem to find out what this does... anyone???

wentzel

September 11, 2014, 12:40 pm

I just bought mine a week ago and boy oh boy is it a brilliant phone so far..... in the first 2 days that i had the phone i saw it needed a software update, i thought it was strange because we did all the updates in store, but non the less i did the update and one of the features for the update was a battery performance enhancer, after doing that my battery is 10x better!!! Not that it was bad before but now it lasts even longer!!

Joshua Cooper

September 12, 2014, 4:40 pm

I love this phone, but the battery life is below average. I have uninstalled a few apps and tried monitoring my battery life. After 6 hours of ONLY texting about 20 times, 20 minutes of music, and the rest on standby the battery has went from 100% to 29%. How in the world did you do all those things and the battery last ALL DAY? Wow, this is some kind of joke right?

Andis Zvanbergs

September 16, 2014, 9:21 pm

About 15-20% battery per hour than display is on with avarage brightness. 1% - 4-6 hours on standby than wifi is on, mobile data on and bluetooth on. I am not gamer, for me this phone holds 2 full days, 2 hours on display per day (web browsing, some youtube video, messages and calls). Also this phone have very good network reception, possibly one of the best antenas in world, not sure but i am happy enough.

Andis Zvanbergs

September 16, 2014, 9:23 pm

Dont buy phones on ebay, mostly sellers selling refurbished phones, whats why they are cheaper than in shops and sometimes faulty.

Andis Zvanbergs

September 16, 2014, 9:24 pm

Perhaps you got faulty phone

edfranco1

September 16, 2014, 11:22 pm

I don't know about you guys but my phones battery life sucks, I am a big widget user but haven't added any because of this. I also get told that they can NOT hear me. I have traded my phone thinking that it was a bad one but NOPE its not. I am disappointed with this phone. My G2 was better call quality and battery life was too (i know its because of the screen quality).

Joshua Cooper

September 17, 2014, 2:10 pm

Perhaps! I really hope that is the case, and if it is, I REALLY hope verizon will let me try another one out. :/

Kanishka Ray

September 24, 2014, 4:45 am

A full day of use off a full charge and my battery is still over 70%. Light use, I've seen it in high 80% area. If I tether and use the camera a lot....I've seen it go as low as 58%. The battery life is superb.

Moose

October 24, 2014, 11:57 am

I got this phone in early August - had a Nexus 5 before that and previously iPhone 5 and 4S. The LG G3 is by far the best of the lot, much better battery life than the Nexus 5, great screen and nice thin bezels, which in my opinion, make it look much more elegant and streamlined than any iPhone or Sony phones, both of which have unattractive wide bezels top and bottom. I really can't imagine how this phone could be better for my use. I mainly read news and sports apps, kindle ebooks, emails and web browsing - no graphics intensive games or videos. I have no regrets with this phone, the first time I can say that, so I highly recommend it.

Hakki Döngel

November 7, 2014, 4:50 pm

wow , i could only dream of that...
i have the 32gb - 3gb ram version and today i only got a lousy 2.5 hrs of screen on time. havent watched any vids, i was on wifi for an hour or so... there certainly is something wrong

Donnie

December 7, 2014, 2:27 am

Just curious: have you solved this problem somehow?

Prem Desai

December 11, 2014, 2:15 pm

It is £300 now and I have got it.

Brilliant!!

Austin

December 13, 2014, 9:24 pm

I think it's a "beautify" button. It makes your skin tones look better in different lighting.

Had Enough With the BS

December 18, 2014, 12:39 am

You have settings and apps that are generating too much activity.
Learn to phone.

comments powered by Disqus