Home / Mobile / Tablet / LG G Pad 8.3 / Battery Life, Camera and Verdict

LG G Pad 8.3: Battery Life, Camera and Verdict

Andrew Williams

By Andrew Williams

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
LG G Pad 8.3

Summary

Our Score:

8

LG G Pad 8.3 – Camera

One area where the LG G Pad 8.3 loses out to the top tablets is its camera array. The biggest loss is a rear flash, but you do at least get dual cameras – one on the front, one on the back.

The rear camera has a 5-megapixel sensor and an f/2.4 lens. Colour reproduction is very much one-note at times, and the limited camera resolution means that even in the best conditions you’re not going to produce searingly detailed images. However, within the confines of the sensor, sharpness if actually rather good - suggesting the lens itself is pretty sharp. Here’s a closer look at how its photos compare to two close rivals the iPad mini Retina and Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4.

LG G Pad 8.3 6

LG G Pad 8.3 7

You also get a bunch of additional modes. These include a pretty effective HDR mode, a few burst shots and a couple of panorama modes (a normal one and a 360-degree mode).

There’s video fun to be had too. It’ll shoot footage at up to 1080p resolution and you can apply live face distorting effects to make fun little videos of friends and family members.

The G Pad 8.3’s front camera is – like the rear one – fairly basic. It uses a 1.3-megapixel sensor and shoots photos at up to one megapixel resolution or video at up to 720p. Despite being fairly low-res, the camera is not terrible. Really bad cameras tend to fall over as soon as they’re shown a strong light source, but the G Pad 8.3 holds up.

LG G Pad 8.3 – Battery Life

Its battery capacity holds up well with the competition too. It’s a 4,800mAh unit, which you have no access to.

Set to playing an SD-quality video file at middling brightness (which is towards the upper end of the G Pad’s brightness scale), the LG G Pad 8.3 lasts six hours and forty minutes. It’s enough for fairly long flights, and roughly matches the Nexus 7. Jaws won’t drop, but it’s a solid performance.

Other things to consider

What we consider most important about the LG G Pad 8.3 is that LG has made a solid tablet at the right price. However, there are a few extras we have not yet covered.

First, while we're yet to see it in the UK, there is a 3G/4G version out there in the world. It has not yet been confirmed for the UK to our knowledge, though. Second, the USB port on the bottom uses the SlimPort standard. This means that with a cheap adapter cable (sub-£10 on eBay), you can mirror what's on the tablet screen on your TV - or any HDMI-equipped display. It's a useful feature if you want to use the tablet as a little video player. LG G Pad 8.3 5

Should I buy the LG G Pad 8.3?

The LG G Pad 8.3 was never going to win as much attention, or sell as many units, as a rival from Samsung or Apple. However, as with the LG G2, LG deserves some praise for making a sensibly-priced, solid tablet that can stand tall next to virtually any rival.

Its software needs some tweaks to remotely shine and there are some spec compromises involved in sliding the tablet in under the £200 mark. However, we didn’t encounter any serious issues, making this the best affordable 8-inch iPad alternative you can get right now.

Verdict

Its software may not be perfect, but a good price, sound specs and attractive hardware make the LG G Pad 8.3 one of the best-value tablets of the moment.

Next, read our best tablets round-up

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Battery Life 7
  • Build Quality 8
  • Design 8
  • Heat & Noise 8
  • Performance 8
  • Screen Quality 8
  • Software & Apps 7
  • Sound Quality 7
  • Value 9

Neil Old

September 8, 2013, 11:12 am

ALL Android devices should have the ability to run/install stock Android without "hacking" the devices.

random guy

September 17, 2013, 4:36 am

The g2 has a snapdragon 800 not 600 so the tab isn't clocked lower it's just simply a less powerful CPU

Steven

March 11, 2014, 10:58 pm

Just bought this from Co-op electrical and using the offer code, I only paid £180. Asda does the same deal (iuse voucher code to get £20 off). It's a brilliant tab for the price. It's a brilliant pad full stop. I bought the iPad mini for my missus and this looks better. The size is pefect and aspect ration of he screen works better than 4:3. Samsun have just realeased the 8.4 pro with a faux leather backing....I can't think of anything worse...and they are selling it for £350. This is half the price and probably looks better. Only down side at the moment is that it hasn't got kitkat on it, but understand that this will be in the pipeline. This is how much tablets should cost; sub £200 for this size and a bit more for the larger size. I am surpised that it only 8/10 from Trusted Review. This is the ebst tablet you can get for under £200.

Matthew Bunton

March 22, 2014, 1:48 am

I have just purchased one of these for £179 from Amazon and it is the best tablet that I have owned thus far. I found the Nexus 7 2013 screen a tad too small but the LG is perfect for web browsing. The build quality is a lot better than the Nexus.

Richard Lloyd

April 6, 2014, 11:18 am

I really like my LG G Pad 8.3, but it has its pros and cons like any other device. Things that are great are the display (8.3" is the ideal size and the resolution makes the display super sharp), SD card slot (I added a fast 32GB card for about 13 quid) and official support for CyanogenMod 11 (so, yes, it can run KitKat...that's what mine does anyway).

Things that are bad are the screen brightness (I have to ramp up the setting much higher than my other tablets and auto-brightness is way too dark), dodgy colour calibration resulting in a yellow "tinge" that you may only spot by putting another tablet next to it like I did (calibration is easy to fix on CM11 - it's now an option in the Settings) and the battery life is only fairly average (not helped by having to increase the screen brightness).

As a tablet for use on the move, this is probably the best one - once you put CM11 on it - available full stop (yes, I include any Samsung, Apple or Nexus tablets). I personally think Google made a mistake not going to 8" (or 8.3") with their 2013 Nexus 7 - I now definitely consider 7" displays too small after using the LG for a while. This LG is available at the same price as the Nexus 7 2013 with very similar specs, but with an SD card slot and 1.3" bigger display, which should really make it your tablet of choice.

BTW, with 10m or so CyanogenMod users, why do *no* reviews of Android devices ever mention whether the device is officially supported by CM? This is a big bonus point for an Android device - the option to run the latest/greatest Android release in a non-bloaty manner like the Nexuses - and yet gets ignored by all reviewers! Sure, they'll happily review the "Google Play Edition" of some devices, which are stupidly charged more for and still offer a worse experience than the free CM11 does!

Stephen Sharpe

April 10, 2014, 11:03 am

I was given my G Pad at Xmas (to replace a Nexus 7 that had died) and so far have been really pleased with no flaws or concerns. The extra 1.3 inches from the 7 inch tablet format, while not sounding like a lot, makes a massive difference and the screen is so much more user friendly to look at while still being one-handable. The picture quality is excellent and I have not suffered the yellow tinge issue reported by the previous reviewer. The system runs smoothly but there was some very occasional stuttering when scrolling between screens with some apps; however, the OTA KitKat update (Android 4.4.2) released on 8 April 14 has resolved that minor issue and everything now runs without any lag whatsoever. I have added a 32gb micro SD so have all then memory for flims etc I need. Battery life is OK (I get between 7 and 8 hrs depending on what apps are running. One set of extras that are very useful are the LG UI Apps - Q-Pair which links the tablet to the phone so you can intercept texts and calls is brilliant, slideaside and the Q remote are also very useful additions. I have used Nexus (7 and 10), I-pad mini and samsung and the LG equals or beats all of them for performance and at its current price (£179) is better value especially given you can add extra memory (up to 64 Gb) for the cost of a micro SD. An excellent tablet and an experience that I would not hesitate to repeat.

Annoyed

December 10, 2015, 11:54 pm

I purchased an LG G PAD 8.3 tablet a year ago and it has recently crapped out. It has been having charging issues for a few months now but finally hit the point of not charging at all. I travel a lot for work and just made it home for the Holiday month and attempted to warranty the product. It turns out that the warranty expired just 10 days before i submitted a claim. Even though the issue started about 2 months ago, they refuse to warranty the product. LG has terrible customer service, outsourced just like all of the other big companies, with employees that are programmed to just repeat their answers and never actually provide customer service. I still wanted to send in the item for repairs, which would be at my own cost, so i could retain some of the things i had on the tablet. They then told me that they completely delete everything and factory reset no matter what the repair happens to be, so i would lose everything anyway. I need a tablet, but it seems that i am stuck paying an extra $10 a month to verizon for the next year, for this junk, even though it is unusable... Trust me, after this experience i will NEVER buy another LG product again. This seems to be a common issue and they will not take care of their customers... as the old saying says, "if you don't take care of your customers, someone else will." And that is exactly what is happening here... i am going to buy a new tablet, and it definitely won't be an LG. I will never buy an LG TV, or LG appliance, or LG phone, or anything else from this company. I recommend the same. The performance overall was mediocre anyway, so to go through this headache to repair a low quality tablet and still lose all of my data is absolutely not worth it. Do not buy LG products.

comments powered by Disqus