Our Score


User Score


  • Flexible body (it’s in the name)
  • Soft-touch materials throughout
  • Good screen
  • Decent keyboard
  • Stylish looks


  • Heavy for a ‘tablet’
  • No optional digitizer stylus
  • Poor speakers
  • Keyboard not up to highest Lenovo standards

Review Price £999.00

Key Features: 13-inch 1600 x 900 IPS screen with 10-point touch; Core i7 CPU, 4GB of RAM (up to 8GB), 128GB SSD (up to 256GB); Unique twist-round 360-degree hinge and soft-touch finish

Manufacturer: Lenovo


The 13-inch Lenovo Yoga was one of the first convertible Windows 8 tablet/laptops we saw, all the way back in early 2012 – if you don’t count the Lenovo Pocket Yoga from 2009, that is. Since its initial announcement, we’ve seen a smaller 11.6-inch Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 11 (yes you guessed it, the final number refers to screen size), and even an ARM-based Lenovo Yoga running Windows RT on Tegra 3. However, today we’re checking out the full-fat 13-inch version, which has few rivals as the majority of convertible tablet laptops come in at 11.6 or 12.5 inches.

Just in case you haven’t come across it before, the Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 is essentially an Ultrabook whose screen/lid section flips around 180 degrees onto the back of its base to turn into a tablet. It’s a unique solution that leaves the keyboard facing out at the convertible’s rear in ‘tablet mode’.

Looking for other options? Check out our Best Windows 8 Laptops Tablets Convertibles and PCs roundup

Packed into its flexible chassis, the Lenovo Yoga 13 has some tasty specs: its 13-inch IPS screen may not offer a Full HD (1,920 x 1,080) resolution, but at 1,600 x 900 pixels it’s significantly higher than many affordable rivals and offers 10-finger touch. Under the hood, this Yoga can offer up to a Core i7 CPU, up to 8GB of RAM and a 256GB SSD, putting it at the top of the convertible game in terms of power – yet Lenovo still claims battery life of up to eight hours. All that’s lacking is pressure-sensitive stylus support, but as the Core i7 version comes in at under £1,000, that’s easy to forgive.

Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 - Design and Build

As usual from Lenovo’s high-end machines, the 13-inch IdeaPad Yoga is beautifully designed. In fact, with a soft-touch outer ‘lining’ and textured soft matt black innards, its look is very reminiscent of the already attractive Lenovo IdeaPad U260, except more elegant and far slimmer at a mere 16.9mm. Though the Yoga’s insides remain black, the outside can be had in either a bronzed orange or silver grey, both of which look fantastic.

The soft-touch outer finish prevents fingerprints, feels great, and offers a superb grip, making this a very comfortable laptop to hold and carry. Thanks to its grippy outsides, it also rests very securely on your lap. Obviously, as a tablet, the 1.54kg 13-inch Yoga is a tad too heavy to be comfortable to hold up; but if you can rest it on a surface it’s quite nice to use, and you should think of it as a versatile Windows 8 touch-screen laptop rather than a convertible tablet.

Basically, in any mode the Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 is attractive and ergonomic, at least when taking its size and power into consideration. Build quality is equally solid. The rugged plastics used throughout inspire confidence, and all the panels are beautifully fitted. It’s not quite up to Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon due to a little bit of flex here and there around the hinge area and – surprisingly for Lenovo – just a wee bit in the keyboard, but then this is a considerably more affordable and more versatile machine.

Next page


January 11, 2012, 6:50 pm

I don't think it's a fail, if they come up with a version of it where it actually retracts the keys in (and keys would be flushed with the body), when flipping the screen it might be quite an attractive choice for me..


April 11, 2012, 11:29 pm

I've been waiting for something like this for AGES! Looking to get a decent laptop for my final year as i've been using a desktop pc at uni for the last 4 years (SHOCK! I know, uni student with no laptop!).

I consider myself a "heavy" user of OneNote (fantastic program) and would think this is IDEAL for taking the other option would be laptop with wacom tablet...but not too sure about that. Transformer prime would be great, but i'm not a fan of Andriod, and own a windows phone 7 (another shock!).

Really can't wait to get my hands on this though! What do you reckon?


April 13, 2012, 3:59 am

IPS screen, 1600 x 900 resolution? Finally a Lenovo with a decent screen and resolution!


April 14, 2012, 3:51 pm

Too expensive


November 19, 2012, 3:47 am

I have been demoing this laptop for a week now and I don't think there is a better laptop convertible out there. It's very well built and I have been using the touch screen constantly. I love how thin and light it is, and the processor speed is quick and snappy. I think the entire design is great although is does take a couple days to get use to feeling the keys on your lap in tablet mode. The ram is expandable to 8gb and the hdd expandable to 256gb. The overall pricing is also very fair. I'd score it a 9-10, Its all you need in a windows 8 touch device.


November 19, 2012, 3:49 am

Oh and the screen quality is fantastic and you cant go wrong with an 8 hour battery life.


February 20, 2013, 3:58 pm

Not really, it's the same price as a 'regular' Ultrabook with comparable specs...


February 20, 2013, 4:34 pm

Sorry for the late reply, just noticed this comment as the review went live.

Just BTW, I also used a desktop PC throughout most of Uni :)

Why not check out our roundup on Win 8 laptops and convertibles?

It sounds like the Asus Vivo Tab ( might be ideal for your needs.

Robert Anderson

February 23, 2013, 7:52 am

If only it had Wacom styus support...


February 24, 2013, 8:46 pm

Wouldn't the Asus Taichi be an even better choice? I know I'd rather have one of those (Taichi 21 with 11,6" screens). When will TR have a full review of the Asus Taichi??


March 8, 2013, 4:14 pm

Couldn't agree more.


March 8, 2013, 4:20 pm

Not necessarily - for one thing it's considerably more expensive, for another we doubt its battery life would hold up as well, and we're not convinced that the 'inner' screen not offering touch is a great idea. Also, there will soon be an 11-inch Yoga that runs 'proper' Windows 8.

Of course, the Taichi is very innovative and does come with a (non-Wacom) stylus.
We'll try to get the review up as soon as :)


March 11, 2013, 12:45 am

"Decent keyboard" in Pros and "Keyboard not up to highest Lenovo standards" in Cons - something one. Keyboard in this notebook is awesome (at least by my feelings).


March 12, 2013, 8:20 am

Lenovo IdeaPad stands out most because of its physical design.


March 14, 2013, 10:22 am

The keyboard is pretty good, but it's not up to that found on Lenovo's ThinkPad range, like the


March 14, 2013, 10:23 am

Yep :)


May 5, 2013, 2:53 pm

I recently bought this laptop, and I have no problems at all! It runs all my apps beautifully, and I love the touch screen. Its perfect for watching movies in your bed in the "Theatre Mode". I highly recommend this laptop for people who stay at home, do some basic gaming, some work, but not to much. So ya, overall I give this laptop 5 stars!


May 15, 2013, 2:20 pm

But it's too big for me and the 11 is only Windows RT... Could do with a hybrid of these hybrids! Need full Windows but under 12" Very limited in choices and Lenovo only has the Twist...


August 1, 2013, 3:45 pm

I traded in a high-end T400 for this model and LOVE it. Can't find any complaints. Tested a similar ASUS and MacBook. Lenovo quality can't be beat.


September 30, 2013, 7:15 pm

The ideapad 13 freezes completely at unpredictable times - sometimes several times a day and can only be restarted by turning it on and off again. Check Google to find out that several users voice that complaint. Lenovo doesnt seem to care. I am surprised none of the reviewers noted that.


October 3, 2013, 10:30 am

I never faced this problem. I have using it for the last 1 year now! and I do my development on it. !

Lenovo Online India

October 5, 2013, 6:01 am

It's the best category laptop, I ever seen in my life.
Really, it's the best laptop model to buy for 2013.
Hoping Lenovo will come with another drastic change in coming 2014..


October 5, 2013, 2:38 pm

I have been extremely disappointed with my Lenovo Yoga13. Only six months old and sending it in for a second repair. While still under warranty, I was told the issue would be covered until it reached the service center, then $300.00 or they wouldn't fix it. Tech support feedback is "textbook" dialogue and non-supportive, screen protector was not returned with laptop upon repair and it took three times as long to fix the issue. Now my touch screen doesn't work and keyboard is having issues. Not sure how much this will cost once it reaches the service center. I should have stayed with a Mac.


April 7, 2014, 3:02 am

When you purchase something in a food library you get a print out on a piece of paper that is called a receipt you get a certain amount of time to take things back

comments powered by Disqus