Home / Computing / Laptop / Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 / Battery, Value and Verdict

Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 – Battery, Value and Verdict

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 – Battery Life

The Lenovo Yoga 13 nearly tops the battery-life ranks out of the Core i-based convertibles we have tested so, far with 5 hours and 19 minutes - though that’s hardly much of an achievement considering how poor battery life has generally been for these kind of machines. Only the Toshiba Satellite U920t beats it with 5 hours and 43 minutes, but that’s with a Core i5 CPU rather than this Yoga’s Core i7.

Battery Result

(40 percent screen brightness, mixed productivity and web-browsing)

5 hours 19 minutes

As this Powermark benchmark includes web-browsing, you can generally expect a little longer with careful use, but either way the IdeaPad Yoga 13 falls short of Lenovo’s eight-hour claims. Still, it’s a positively superb result compared to the four-ish hours of the likes of the Acer Aspire S7 13-inch.

Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 – Price

Considering how many convertibles can be found for around £1,000 these days, the £999 Lenovo Yoga 13 certainly isn’t suffering from lack of competition. However, it does hold up well overall, especially if you’re specifically after a laptop/tablet hybrid of 13-inches.

Compared to the £850 Toshiba Satellite U920t, our Yoga offers a higher-resolution, better quality display, a far nicer keyboard and a lot more processing power, though it loses out when it comes to battery life and portability. Still, considering how much more flexible the Yoga’s form factor is too, Lenovo would probably get our money here.

With Lenovo’s own more enterprise-oriented ThinkPad Twist S230U, it’s a case of horses for courses. The Twist is much nicer to type on and offers optional 3G, but even on the £1,080 version you get a lower-res screen and far inferior battery life - meaning that, once again, most consumers are better off going Yoga.

On the other hand, for this kind of money it may be worth hanging on to your pennies till the next generation of convertibles arrive as, while the Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 certainly impresses as a laptop, it leaves a little to be desired as a tablet and doesn’t come with a stylus (which is handy for ‘classic’ Windows navigation even if you’re not into handwriting, image editing or drawing). Even the Windows 8 version of the 11-inch IdeaPad Yoga 11 may be a better bet, as it will doubtless be lighter.

Verdict

Like most of the Windows 8 convertible tablet/laptops we’ve looked at, the Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 isn’t quite the perfect hybrid. However, if you regard it as a touch-screen Ultrabook with a cool twist, it certainly succeeds. It’s generally well-built, looks stylish and feels great, and its flexible hinge gives you lots of different usage scenarios. While no match for the ThinkPad range, its keyboard is pleasant enough to type on and its touchpad is lovely, while that 1,600 x 900 IPS screen supports 10-finger touch. It also has plenty of power under the hood, and backs this with decent battery life. If a more affordable Core i3/i5 version becomes available in the UK, it’ll be a steal.

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Battery Life 7
  • Design 9
  • Features 8
  • Performance 8
  • Screen Quality 8
  • Value 8

oguz

January 11, 2012, 6:50 pm

I don't think it's a fail, if they come up with a version of it where it actually retracts the keys in (and keys would be flushed with the body), when flipping the screen it might be quite an attractive choice for me..

theDman

April 11, 2012, 11:29 pm

I've been waiting for something like this for AGES! Looking to get a decent laptop for my final year as i've been using a desktop pc at uni for the last 4 years (SHOCK! I know, uni student with no laptop!).

I consider myself a "heavy" user of OneNote (fantastic program) and would think this is IDEAL for taking notes...as the other option would be laptop with wacom tablet...but not too sure about that. Transformer prime would be great, but i'm not a fan of Andriod, and own a windows phone 7 (another shock!).

Really can't wait to get my hands on this though! What do you reckon?

Repelsteeltje

April 13, 2012, 3:59 am

IPS screen, 1600 x 900 resolution? Finally a Lenovo with a decent screen and resolution!

KEITH BLACKWOOD

April 14, 2012, 3:51 pm

Too expensive

pjones452

November 19, 2012, 3:47 am

I have been demoing this laptop for a week now and I don't think there is a better laptop convertible out there. It's very well built and I have been using the touch screen constantly. I love how thin and light it is, and the processor speed is quick and snappy. I think the entire design is great although is does take a couple days to get use to feeling the keys on your lap in tablet mode. The ram is expandable to 8gb and the hdd expandable to 256gb. The overall pricing is also very fair. I'd score it a 9-10, Its all you need in a windows 8 touch device.

pjones452

November 19, 2012, 3:49 am

Oh and the screen quality is fantastic and you cant go wrong with an 8 hour battery life.

TechVegan

February 20, 2013, 3:58 pm

Not really, it's the same price as a 'regular' Ultrabook with comparable specs...

TechVegan

February 20, 2013, 4:34 pm

Sorry for the late reply, just noticed this comment as the review went live.

Just BTW, I also used a desktop PC throughout most of Uni :)

Why not check out our roundup on Win 8 laptops and convertibles?

http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

It sounds like the Asus Vivo Tab (http://www.trustedreviews.com/... might be ideal for your needs.

Robert Anderson

February 23, 2013, 7:52 am

If only it had Wacom styus support...

JK

February 24, 2013, 8:46 pm

Wouldn't the Asus Taichi be an even better choice? I know I'd rather have one of those (Taichi 21 with 11,6" screens). When will TR have a full review of the Asus Taichi??

TechVegan

March 8, 2013, 4:14 pm

Couldn't agree more.
*sniff*

TechVegan

March 8, 2013, 4:20 pm

Not necessarily - for one thing it's considerably more expensive, for another we doubt its battery life would hold up as well, and we're not convinced that the 'inner' screen not offering touch is a great idea. Also, there will soon be an 11-inch Yoga that runs 'proper' Windows 8.

Of course, the Taichi is very innovative and does come with a (non-Wacom) stylus.
We'll try to get the review up as soon as :)

NewmanOZ

March 11, 2013, 12:45 am

"Decent keyboard" in Pros and "Keyboard not up to highest Lenovo standards" in Cons - something one. Keyboard in this notebook is awesome (at least by my feelings).

Maristella

March 12, 2013, 8:20 am

Lenovo IdeaPad stands out most because of its physical design.

TechVegan

March 14, 2013, 10:22 am

The keyboard is pretty good, but it's not up to that found on Lenovo's ThinkPad range, like the http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

TechVegan

March 14, 2013, 10:23 am

Yep :)

Maria

May 5, 2013, 2:53 pm

I recently bought this laptop, and I have no problems at all! It runs all my apps beautifully, and I love the touch screen. Its perfect for watching movies in your bed in the "Theatre Mode". I highly recommend this laptop for people who stay at home, do some basic gaming, some work, but not to much. So ya, overall I give this laptop 5 stars!

Paula

May 15, 2013, 2:20 pm

But it's too big for me and the 11 is only Windows RT... Could do with a hybrid of these hybrids! Need full Windows but under 12" Very limited in choices and Lenovo only has the Twist...

J11

August 1, 2013, 3:45 pm

I traded in a high-end T400 for this model and LOVE it. Can't find any complaints. Tested a similar ASUS and MacBook. Lenovo quality can't be beat.

Peter

September 30, 2013, 7:15 pm

The ideapad 13 freezes completely at unpredictable times - sometimes several times a day and can only be restarted by turning it on and off again. Check Google to find out that several users voice that complaint. Lenovo doesnt seem to care. I am surprised none of the reviewers noted that.

Muscle

October 3, 2013, 10:30 am

I never faced this problem. I have using it for the last 1 year now! and I do my development on it. !

Lenovo Online India

October 5, 2013, 6:01 am

It's the best category laptop, I ever seen in my life.
Really, it's the best laptop model to buy for 2013.
Hoping Lenovo will come with another drastic change in coming 2014..

me

October 5, 2013, 2:38 pm

I have been extremely disappointed with my Lenovo Yoga13. Only six months old and sending it in for a second repair. While still under warranty, I was told the issue would be covered until it reached the service center, then $300.00 or they wouldn't fix it. Tech support feedback is "textbook" dialogue and non-supportive, screen protector was not returned with laptop upon repair and it took three times as long to fix the issue. Now my touch screen doesn't work and keyboard is having issues. Not sure how much this will cost once it reaches the service center. I should have stayed with a Mac.

bill

April 7, 2014, 3:02 am

When you purchase something in a food library you get a print out on a piece of paper that is called a receipt you get a certain amount of time to take things back

comments powered by Disqus