Lenovo ThinkPad 8 Tablet Deals

Andrew Williams

By Andrew Williams



January 11, 2014, 10:59 am

will there be a dock for it?


January 12, 2014, 12:05 am

Will you be able to CHARGE it while its plugged into a USB DEVICE?


January 12, 2014, 11:55 pm

From the look of it at other online reviews, yes and no.
It only has one mini USB 3.0 port, so unless you plugin the base-station (not dockable?), you may not charge and use USB devices at the same time.


January 12, 2014, 11:56 pm

I saw a quick video review from MobileTechReview (search YouTube), and yes, it has a base-station that either allows ThinkPad 8 to connect or to dock.

Unlike other 8 inchers, this one does not offer a stylus... that's too bad


January 13, 2014, 12:25 am

Yea, I dont think it will charge while "docked". To be honest, its probably going to be a deal breaker for me. I want a tablet that is going to replace my laptop on my desk and that requires that it drive my (2) 40" displays.

I could live with using bluetooth keyboard/mouse, and using media drives over the network, but 1 large monitor and 1 tiny screen doesnt work for me...


January 13, 2014, 2:32 am

Well, I suppose we can wait and find out.
Because honestly, if the tablet doesn't get charged while being docked.. that would be the most lamest dock station ever.


January 13, 2014, 4:56 pm

I got the HP Omni 10 and really like it as a laptop replacement.


January 13, 2014, 9:13 pm

I want something that fits in my pocket. I already have a very nice laptop, if I have to carry something, it will stay home.


January 13, 2014, 9:15 pm

The "dock" they showed at CES was just a simple USB dock, THINKPAD DOCK 3.0, its nothing special, works on any laptop and does NOT send power back through the port.

So the only way this machine will do that, is if they include a special USB Y cable that allows you to SEND power to the machine while its accessing the USB port for the dock.

This is possible, people are already hacking cables to work on the other 8" tablets, so I suppose Lenovo could have one of their own.


January 13, 2014, 9:18 pm

Yea, the dock they show is just a simple USB port replicator like think, there are many like it and the one they showed has been around for a long time, its called the THINKPAD DOCK 3.0.


January 14, 2014, 4:55 pm


In this video of the Onelink dock the first thing the demonstrator explains is that the dock supplies power. This example uses a laptop, so I can't say that it will function in the same manner with the tablet, but it remains a possibility?

Marwan Al-Qasem

January 14, 2014, 7:23 pm

Though it comes with NO stylus, Is it possible to use a stylus with the ThinkPad 8 tablet ??? example: a thinkpad x230 tablet stylus ???

Marwan Al-Qasem

January 15, 2014, 8:37 am

It does not offers a stylus, BUT, does it accepts one ??!. i.e. is it possible to use other tabs. stylus on the ThinkPad 8 ???!!!


January 17, 2014, 12:03 am

No, I doubt it. It is just a touch screen. Just like an iPad, you can't really use a Wacom on an iPad

However, you may be able to use similar stylus introduced by Paper awhile back? http://www.fiftythree.com/penc...


January 19, 2014, 9:01 pm

I thought it was a 1920*1200 resolution on this one?

comments powered by Disqus