1. HP Pavilion Touchsmart Sleekbook 15-b129ea

    HP Pavilion Touchsmart Sleekbook 15-b129ea

    Price as reviewed £430.00
    19 Jun 2013
    Our rating:

    Does this budget laptop's performance match its good looks?

  2. Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook

    Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook

    Price as reviewed £479.00
    18 Jan 2013
    Our rating:

    A budget Ultrabook with DVD drive and optional dedicated AMD Radeon graphics.

  3. Samsung Series 5 535U3C 8

    Samsung Series 5 535U3C

    Price as reviewed £469.97
    16 Nov 2012
    Our rating:

    A slim, sleek Ultrabook rival at a low price thanks to AMD innards.

  4. Asus VivoBook

    Asus VivoBook

    Price as reviewed £399.00
    24 Oct 2012

    Forget the new 13in Retina MacBook, here's a stunning metal touchscreen laptop for under £400.

  5. Toshiba Satellite C855

    Toshiba Satellite C855

    Price as reviewed £439.99
    16 Jun 2012
    Our rating:

    A sub-£500 15.6in laptop with USB 3.0. Sensible, but is it exciting enough?

  6. Acer Aspire Timeline U M3 581T

    Acer Aspire Timeline U M3 581T

    Price as reviewed £475.00
    12 Jun 2012
    Our rating:

    The cheapest Ultrabook around, and one of the lightest affordable 15in laptops.

  7. HP Pavilion DM4-2101

    HP Pavilion DM4-2101

    Price as reviewed £499.99
    3 Feb 2012
    Our rating:

    The best-looking, longest-lasting laptop you can get for under £500?

  8. HP Pavilion dm1-3200sa

    HP Pavilion dm1-3200sa

    Price as reviewed £375.00
    23 Jan 2012
    Our rating:

    This 11.6in ‘netbook’ has quite a few highpoints among its foibles, but do they balance out for its £375 price?

  9. Acer 5749

    Acer Aspire 5749

    Price as reviewed £399.99
    22 Dec 2011
    Our rating:

    A solid sub-£400 laptop with a Sandy Bridge processor and 15.6in display.

  10. Samsung Series 3 NP300E5A

    Samsung Series 3 NP300E5A

    Price as reviewed £399.99
    5 Dec 2011
    Our rating:

    At under £400, with an attractive design, ribbed lid and matt 15.6in screen, is this the ultimate budget laptop?

  11. Samsung RV720

    Samsung RV720

    Price as reviewed £406.16
    23 Sep 2011
    Our rating:

    Want a large laptop without the large outlay? Samsung’s cheap but cheerful 17.3in effort comes highly recommended.

  12. Samsung NS310

    Samsung NS310

    Price as reviewed £279.99
    31 Aug 2011
    Our rating:

    Can a netbook still be worth £300? Samsung's latest shiny offering tries to teach us a lesson or two.

  13. Acer Aspire 5750

    Acer Aspire 5750

    Price as reviewed £449.98
    20 Jul 2011
    Our rating:

    With Acer's latest 15.6in budget laptop, you get a lot for your money. If you can live with its flaws, it's a great buy.

  14. angled

    Samsung Chromebook

    Price as reviewed £350.00
    9 Jul 2011
    Our rating:

    Can the first Chrome OS laptop successfully move us to the Cloud, lock, stock and barrel?

  15. Asus Eee PC 1018P

    Asus Eee PC 1018P

    Price as reviewed £379.00
    13 Jun 2011
    Our rating:

    The Asus Eee PC 1018p's aluminium-coated body has more style than the average netbook.