Jays a-Jays Three In-Ear Headphones Deals

By Hugo Jobling

Reviewed:

Drazisaurus

July 1, 2010, 12:46 pm

Excellent, been looking for a reasonably priced set of earphones. These seem to tick most of the boxes, shame they don't have in-line controls, but this isn't major concern.

weirdwilli

July 1, 2010, 3:44 pm

Anyone know if these are worth getting as much of an upgrade from some CX500's?

Jones

July 1, 2010, 4:18 pm

@Drazisaurus - another good bargain buy to consider are the cheap Klipsch's Amazon are currently selling. Very good sound quality. Not quite got the bass oomph of some other earphones but I think they more accurately represent the overall sound. £20 or so I think so comparable if a hardcase and what not is not required.

Hamish Campbell

July 1, 2010, 4:52 pm

Cool design. I just bought the wife some dual driver Apple in-ear headphones and was very impressed with the sound quality over my backup xc300's from sennh... presumably the dual drivers help here. But of course they costed around 50 quid. In line remote is there of course.





I still prefer wearing cans though, just like having the sound seem to come from outside my head.

noTHINGface

July 1, 2010, 6:05 pm

Well I've ordered a pair this morning, I lost the extended cable for my CX500s so need a new set. I quite like the design of these, nicely understated and at that price well worth a punt. I'll be using them with my phone for mp3 playback so dont need the absolute best quality to show off the flaws in the compression!

Caleb9ce

July 1, 2010, 7:30 pm

Hugo,





A suggestion; I would love to see TR review HeadDirect's "RE-0" IEM's. They are amazing for the price and one could say they are giant killers. For around £60 they come very close to my shure se530's. Head-fi has tons of reviews but I would love for TR readers to discover them.





Thanks!

Drazisaurus

July 1, 2010, 8:56 pm

Thanks Jones, i'll take a look.

MrGodfrey

July 1, 2010, 11:00 pm

Will other manufacturers PLEASE copy these and use flat leads instead of the thin wires which are absolutely guaranteed to tie themselves into a Gordian knot as soon as you put in your pocket? Thanks.

noTHINGface

July 2, 2010, 3:06 pm

Mine arrived today and they're good performers for the money. There's lots better out there but these do the job well at this price point. The flat wires are great at avoiding knots.

HDRE

July 7, 2010, 5:23 pm

I was looking for a flat wire in ear headphone to replace my Sennheiser CX 300 - tired of snagging my asymmetrical ultra thin cable. The only thing about them I do not like the the very long 3.5mm jack that connects to an mp3 player. It's more than double the height of my Sennheiser's connector. This may be an issue for some of you out there. It could almost be an ariel!

Kaben

July 11, 2010, 7:20 pm

These look similar to the Monster "beats" headphones.


http://www.dr-dreheadphones.co...


I have seen the beats headphones in many stores but haven't seen the a-jays anywhere. Any idea on comparison of quality/construction?

Ferry SB

October 18, 2010, 11:20 am

I have bought this earphone 4 month ago. And honestly quite satisfied about the sounds.


However, it really disappoint me for the bad build quality.


For 4 month, it have been broken for twice. The left earpiece is missing the sound or have defect sound, if we touch/move the cable that connect to the 3.5mm plug.


1st time broken, I can accept it, but it was broken again in 1 month usage. I use it for normal use, never use it for jog or any sport that may harm the earphone.

luke081287

October 23, 2012, 6:29 pm

well a jays hv the best sound in a earpiece but their earpiece is not good in durability...use for a few month u hv to brought a new one...

Mathieu

April 29, 2013, 4:09 pm

I bought them last weekend and really don't like the sound especially when I listen Hip-hop. The treble are terrible...Really bad advise of the sales guy of the airport in Dublin...

comments powered by Disqus