Cost & Verdict

Gordon Kelly

By Gordon Kelly

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
1

Summary

Our Score:

8

So what about those caveats? The most pertinent is that while the 780 will take the chore out of vacuuming it does require some 'Roomba proofing'. For example, while the 780 won't damage cables if left around it will still drag them about and should you have particularly light doors it can bump into them after tracing along walls accidentally closing them and locking itself in a room. This is quite comical at first, but unless you want one spotless room every time you come home we would suggest investing in some door stops. Of course there is some maintenance too, but aside from emptying the bin or using the supplied tool to clean the brushes every so often it is largely hassle free.

2

All of which leads up to cost. This is always the biggest caveats with any robotic vacuum and given the 780 is iRobot's flagship model it is doubly so here. Should you pay it? It depends entirely on circumstance. In a multi-floored house the Roomba's efficiency is greatly reduced (unless you are going to constantly move it or buy more than one), but for those with the means and a home or office largely on one level then yes. £450 is a large investment (£50 off its initial £500 RRP at some retailers), but it actually works and using daily cycles means your property stays far cleaner than it would using your conventional vacuum just once a week.

Verdict

For the first time we feel able to say a robot vacuum truly lives up to its title. This comes through the Roomba 780's combination of improved navigation, increased suction and vastly better battery life. Yes some effort to required not to leave items needlessly lying about, yet at worst they will be spread around not damaged and remember to chock light doors. Don't tell your friends how much you paid, because the 780 will become your most guilty pleasure.

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Build Quality 8
  • Design 9
  • Features 9
  • Performance 8
  • Usability 9
  • Value 6

hattermad

March 22, 2012, 4:07 pm

Would love to know where the £449 price is at - irobot's UK store is listing £549

stripy

March 26, 2012, 7:46 am

This looks awesome. Bit pricey though... it's going to take some skilled negotiation to get this one passed Mrs Stripy but it'll be worth it!

imot

May 10, 2012, 10:40 pm

My girlfriend has this automatic vacuum cleaner. All the time it got stuck under the wardrobe. For that money we expected a bit better kind of sensory system. There is no problem with suction power, its good enough. Also not too much dirt fits in the tank, but it's not a problem also, because we vacuum only one room with it all the time. Recently we found ourselves to use it less and less often, because we bought a real vacuum cleaner a Dyson DC 25 ( review: http://review-home.com/vacuum-... ) which makes vacuuming almost enjoyable. Its a design masterpiece, can say no bad words about it. Can finish vacuuming a medium large room in about 3-5 minutes, no need to keep a robotic vacuum running for hours.

Gordon394

July 25, 2012, 12:28 am

Interesting, I have found exactly the opposite. I have a DC 18 (http://www.trustedreviews.com/... and now barely use it.

Sarah Shepherd

March 15, 2013, 5:26 am

I have only paid the postage on mine. I bought it on impulse less than a week ago & received it late this morning. I accidently let it run without reading manuals or anything but in the short 10 or so minutes it was running before it died...I ended up emptying the full bin; mind you I'd vacuumed 3 times in 5 days so I'm feeling pretty impressed. I set the dock up & left it to charge. Not sure how long it took to charge but would like to know. After it finished charging, I clicked clean & let it go, 2-3 hours later, I've cleaned it out twice & it's wonderful. It's currently on charge again. Will see how it goes for a few days than post again. So far, flaming love it. Gona try it at my parents house when I visit. They use an old Vax, wonderful machine but this might help.

competitivenonfiction

April 3, 2013, 6:17 pm

It seems like a lazy solution, but when you have pets, this is damn tempting.

Jess Green

April 11, 2013, 12:29 pm

or kids :)

stripy

May 31, 2013, 1:36 am

Turned out much easier than I thought to get this approved by my wife. The little fellow arrived a week ago and he does a really good job, better than expected actually so a hearty thank you to TR for the recommendation!

I'd categorise these in the same vein as dishwashers - you definitely don't need them but once you have them you wouldn't want to give them up.

Michael Moser

June 19, 2013, 6:36 am

Alas, when it runs out of power (e.g. when cleaning a room where there is no docking station) then it also forgets/resets the clock and all programmed schedules. And THAT I find pretty annoying, esp. given the stiff price of this beast!

comments powered by Disqus