Our Score


User Score

Review Price £399.00

iPad 4: Performance

The iPad 4 runs on a brand spanking new processor, the Apple A6X. The design is, like most phone and tablet chips, based on ARM technology but it’s a custom Apple variation.

Apple reckons the chip is twice as fast as the A5X in the iPad 3 and its graphics are four times faster. What does this mean in everyday use? Well, surprisingly little in our experience so far. There is a just about discernible difference in the time it takes for some apps to open but it’s not enough that the iPad 3 actually feels slow.

But, as the sophistication of apps continues to increase, there will be more and more occasions where the difference is appreciable. For instance, apps such as multi-track recorders or powerful image and video editors may benefit.

Moreover, games will also take advantage of the faster graphics to make them look even richer or run even smoother. Infinity Blade 2 is one title that benefits. Whereas on the iPad 3 it occasionally has a little stutter, here it’s silky smooth.

Still, if you’re an iPad 3 owner, we’d suggest there’s little compelling reason to upgrade – you could quite easily wait for the iPad 5 before software really started to leave the iPad 3 behind.

iPad 4 | iPad with Retina Display 19

iPad 4: iOS 6.0 Interface

This applies double as the interface is exactly the same. The iPad 4 runs iOS 6.0 which is freely available as an update for all iPad 2 and iPad 3 owners.

Although there are a few extra features in this latest update the core interface is still classic iPad. So, the homescreens are merely grids of apps which you can arrange into folders or just leave sprawled across many pages.

iPad 4 5

Along the bottom you can also fix up to five apps for quick access, while swiping to the right or pressing the home button will take you to the search feature. Here you can quickly find apps, contacts, emails, songs and calendar entries that are on your tablet, or you can search the web or Wikipedia.

iPad 4 multitasking

The simplicity continues when it comes to multi-tasking. Simply double tap the home button and a row of icons is shown. These are ranged in order of when you last used them and you can slide through them to find what you want. It is almost too basic an experience given the inability to preview what each app is doing but simplicity is the name of the iPad game and it doesn’t feel overly limiting.

iPad 4 4

One relatively recent addition that is a nod to other more sophisticated operating systems is a notifications area which you can pull down from the top edge of the screen. Here you can keep track of all the recent activities such as who’s sent you a message on Facebook or what new emails have come in. Plus you can post an update to Twitter or Facebook from here.

iPad 4 7

Finally, hold down the home button and you can bring up Siri, Apple’s voice-controlled assistant. This surprisingly effect helper will answer simple questions, open apps, look up directions movie times and much more. However, it still remains something of a gimmick on a device like this.

iPad 4 8

As for the core applications, such as email, the web browser, they remain excellent offering truly tablet optimised styling and layouts that make that large, high resolution screen feel worth every penny. There is one oddity, though, which is the contacts list. This takes the form of a notebook – skeuomorphism at its best – which while comfortingly familiar looking, isn’t all that practical as if doesn’t even use the full screen when viewed in portrait mode.

iPad 4 2

The contacts app also reflects the limited level of cross-communication within the Apple interface. Whereas on Android and Windows Phone 8 (or Windows 8) you can see photos and message on your contacts’ page, here it’s kept to the basic details only.

Previous page
Next page


November 23, 2012, 9:51 am

It makes me really mad how you guys can regard an upgraded port as a plus.
"Lightning connector is better than old connector"
ITS A CONNECTOR! It holds no purpose other than connecting things (which you can no longer do because all of your accessories are now incompatible), and the upgrade is for one reason and one reason only - for Apple to completely take advantage of its user base and make massive profit margins with a nice patent on this new port so they can have complete monopoly.

I've said it for years, Apple is the devil and they will do everything they can to own you. It starts with tying you in to Apples system that can only be stopped by jailbreaking the device and voiding your service warranty. Then its changing the port so you have to go out and buy £40 HDMI cables and £30 chargers all over again (but of course you die hard Apple fans will say "But the new port is so shiny, I love it, it makes me happy"... morons).

Soon it'll be locking your phone number, your internet access and all kinds of other properties that you have purchased to Apple's system, such that if you ever decide to switch phones, computers or anything you will be losing hundreds of pounds of software and hardware that you have paid for because Apple will insist that you are just a licensee and that all the money you spent means nothing. It makes me sick to my stomach that the world is so blind to this Big'n'Large crap that will surely end in disaster for all subscribers to this particular brand of closed technology.

Can't you see that they are laughing at you all the way to the bank?


November 23, 2012, 1:52 pm

You lost me at "Apple is the devil"...

Read the review properly.


November 24, 2012, 8:50 am

"You lost me at "Apple is the devil"...
Read the review properly." Ed

I did actually read the whole thing, unlike you who reportedly stopped reading less than half way through. I don't understand your devotion to Apple - they are taking advantage of the weak minded people who must sell their 6 month old iPad 3 to buy the new one because fashion and popularity say so. Apple products are 90% Marketing and have no actual function outside of checking your email. Productivity on tablets is 0 compared to laptops that can actually access flash based websites and do crazy things like word processing. So really anyone who buys an iPad is just doing so because "me like shiny shiny!"

"Given this, Apple's single connector for all its mobile devices is actually something of a bonus."
No it isn't, and it would be just fine with a MicroUSB but Apple has somehow convinced the ignorant masses that making a port that is hard to replicate so that they can have monopoly over the accessories market too is a great idea for consumers. Its pathetic how much ass you guys kiss.


November 24, 2012, 5:50 pm

You're totally blinded by your own prejudices. I say a number of times that it's not worth upgrading from the iPad 3 to the iPad 4, I make a point of saying we don't feel the iPad actually makes sense as a form factor and I also dwell on the shortcomings of the new connector.

I even say "Apple's proprietary stance is very annoying when it comes to phones because every other phone manufacturer uses microUSB for both charging and connecting to a computer." Couldn't be much clearer than that.

The point I'm making about the connector being a bonus is that unlike other large tablets that require a completely proprietary charging cable that works with nothing else - not even the company's own other products - and necessitates having two cables (one for charging and one for data transfer) at least Apple's single connector works across its range of mobile devices.


November 25, 2012, 6:52 am

Finally, a review that feels unbiased!

The Ipad is a great toy, I have no objections about that. I'm no Apple fan and the only reason why I have one is because my girlfriend bought one (The second generation one). I have to admit though, I love browsing the Web, reading books and watching movies on it when I'm in bed.... But that's about it! Anyone who claim it is a work tool clearly doesn't work very hard.

Giving this latest Ipad 4 stars is justified - As long as you view it as a toy and nothing else. Also, there is a clear decrease in innovation since Ipad 2 and I have not felt the need to upgrade. Everything still runs fine on the Ipad 2 and I can see no point of a faster processor considering what I use for. I cannot understand why all other website give this Ipad 4 full marks, and this really affects their credibility in my point of view.

Good on you TR to be the only website I have seen who gave a score I can agree with.

Mike B

November 25, 2012, 9:52 pm

My iPad gets far more use than any desktop or laptop I have ever owned! It is one of the best tech investments I have made. OK I also love my iPhone, which I use daily, but the iPad is the best too for couch surfing and travel.

The latest model is just a steady progression as expected but is still the best tablet of its size on the market.


November 26, 2012, 6:47 am

The iPad 4 in my opinion is the best tablet on the market. I purchased my first Apple product in January 2012, and I have never regretted the decision. Having a Degree in IT I was not a fan of Apple's OS, I felt that I needed more control of my systems. I was wrong!
I purchased a Galaxy Tab 10 in January and after 9 days it locked up! I returned it for a refund and purchased the iPad 2. This device simply converted me to Apple. This device is bullet proof, the most dependable computer I have ever owned! I have owned and operated computers since 1980 and the iPad has proven to be the most useful device I have ever owned. It will not replace a work PC for crunching numbers, but that was not what it was purchased for. For a home tablet, or a field auditing tool it can not be beat.
After almost a year of testing I have made the decision to purchase an iPhone and a new iPad 4. My Samsung Galaxy III was deposited into the recycle bin. In my opinion the iPad 4 has raised the bar beyond any other tablet manufacturers ability to compete. Apple keynotes asked a good question...If the iPad consumes over 90% of the broadband utilized by tablets... What are the other tablet users using their tablets for?


November 26, 2012, 4:41 pm

@Kaiser - the honest truth is that my iPad is one of the most productive tools I own - and as a researcher, technical author and illustrator, that may come as a surprise to you!

Whilst I'd love Apple to change some of their ways (their refusal to allow us to use SD Cards for more than importing photos is a particular frustration of mine!)- the iPad easily overcomes any serious limitations in it's bundled apps, through cheap 3rd party software.

My favourite MindMapping tool isn't the £200+ MindManager application I invested in on Windows - it's a low-cost alternative on the iPad that is a pure joy to use, hugely intuitive and much faster in practice. This is especially true on the iPad 3's and 4's large retina screen, where you can zoom out a long way whilst leaving even tiny text perfectly legible (the reason that I, too, have to disagree with some of TrustedReview's comments in this review).

Many of the things you moan about are easily and cheaply fixed with just a little imagination and research. For my needs, a good BlueTooth Keyboard, a DropBox account, a phone with wireless tethering over 3G and a handful of Dropbox-enabled apps – is all I need to be incredibly productive anywhere. Zero boot time, less weight to lug around.

So much flexibility, I've never felt the need to jailbreak.

The ability to develop iOS applications from Windows (within Delphi XE2 & XE3 for example) and even on-board the iPad itself (e.g. Codea is a fast implementation of LUA with solid support for the iPad's sensors & graphics capabilities) people are developing all kinds of software for all kinds of purposes.

The iPad, for me isn't a replacement for my PC – but it does perform an ever more important role in my daily planning, communication and output.


November 26, 2012, 6:06 pm

@BigMoose - depends on your line of work - for me, it's of far more practical use than you could imagine.


November 27, 2012, 9:17 pm

Hyperbole much? Not sure if you still wear the tin foil hat and hide from nasty aliens, but I think you give Apple way too much credit. And besides, you have heard of free will right?


January 2, 2013, 7:46 am

The best pad on market, quality of material, performance, fluidity and high resolution are at top. really a great product


January 4, 2013, 3:53 pm

I find it hard to comprehend your 9/10 for design and screen attributes. The iPad4 is the same design as the 2 and 3 but even my android fan-boyism has me struggling to find a more elegant device from an industrial design standpoint. And I can't imagine a screen that beats the iPad in any way, so your 9/10 is baffling. 3-D is literally all that is missing. The iPad4 screen is admittedly the same as the 3 but how is that a deduction?

found your site after googling about the battery life of my new iPad4. Not sure i will return :/

A Goose

January 5, 2013, 10:34 am

I am looking to get the new IPad 4 I have never got a tablet before and im sure this is gonna be the correct one!


January 10, 2013, 9:26 pm

Performance wise, the iPad 4 is excellent and I cannot fault this. The design is also impeccable (although the aluminium can feel a little cold on first touch and the 4:3 aspect ratio is not the best for streaming content) however I have to say that i'm disappointed with the lack of features with iOS. The operating system is simply terrible compared to the now very mature, stable and polished version of Android 4.2. Combine this with the system freezing for no apparent reason, lag and applications not downloading until you perform a hard reset, I can't help but feel this product is way overpriced. It is for this reason, i'm now selling on Kijiji. I have the Nexus 10 also, and I have to say, apart from fully optimized apps (although all the biggest and most popular apps are e.g. Flipboard, Pulse, News 360 and so on), it beats the iPad hands down in every single department and its over $100 less. I did try, however iOS is simply not an OS at all. iOS has very limited capabilities, far less intuitive and not suited to my particular needs... you can't even access the files.. come on Apple, I know you like control, but its not 2007 anymore. Lets see a new UI this year with new features and also, let us consumers decide what we want to do with our mobile devices?

Иван Пенчев

January 27, 2013, 9:10 am

Hmm... I don't think the iPad (2, 3, 4) is the best tablet on the market. Hey, guys, did you forget all the apps on the App Store aren't free - you need to pay them. You can't watch YouTube videos or download media without a registration on iTunes and you need a credit card for that. So, the iPad is totally ANYTHING. I know this sounds stupid, but it's true. I wish you a lot of happy moments with the iPad!!

Yassin Wahby

February 3, 2013, 3:55 pm

There is no iPad 4 , and to make sure I am right please open the official site of apple
there are only ipad 2, 3, and mini

Yassin Wahby

February 3, 2013, 3:58 pm

See by your self

Wouter Moors

February 7, 2013, 6:15 pm

the retina display one is ipad 4...

Wouter Moors

February 7, 2013, 6:16 pm

the new connector is faster, that is the point

anil Reddy

February 16, 2013, 9:21 pm



March 15, 2013, 11:29 pm

Is this guy real? Can someone please tell him not everyone owns an iPad 3 and thus, this device is not made to "take advantage of the weak minded people who must sell their 6 month old iPad 3 to buy the new one because fashion and popularity say so"? The previous iPod cable had a higher transfer rate than the standard mini USB, and so does the current Lightning over micro USB. You are provided with the cable and a wall charger on purchase. If you want to take HDMI out on 99% of HDMI out capable non-Apple devices you still have to buy micro usb-hdmi / mini hdmi-hdmi adaptor.
The previous connector cable had to go, it had many pins that just did not have any more use, and was too thick to be able to make a device as thin as the iPhone 5.
Flash is dead, get over it. Not being able to access flash means nothing more than what non-techie anti-apple sheep spout in hopes to have something as close as possible to an argument. Even android has stopped supporting the world's most zombie, ancient and inefficient memory-wise software ever kept alive by any company-flash. You can have a bluetooth keyboard and do as much word processing on any tablet, Android or Apple alike, as you can on a laptop.
Also, FYI, unless you brick your device (which can't be done with any jailbreaking program, you'd have to do it on purpose), jailbreaking does not void your guarantee. Just restore an official iOS and you are good.


March 15, 2013, 11:33 pm

You need to pay for decent android apps too. Here is the kick about android apps: none of them are made for your device. I had a galaxy note before giving it back to the store to trade for an ipad mini, 90% of apps i downloaded were just ugly upscalings of lower scren resolutions. Even official apps, facebook and twitter were just huge-ifications of their phone versions. On the ipad you get an app made specifically for your device screen size and processor. So yeah, you pay for some iOS apps, but you get what you pay for. My 18 yo brother has an iPad mini too and has used it since launch without ever paying a cent for any app, he does school projects on it and powerpoint presentations.

Donald DeFesi

March 31, 2013, 8:44 pm

SOMEONE HELP ME. I recently purchased the iPad 4S retina display. First ever iPad purchase. I was surprised at the new Lightning input. So my question is are there headphones with the lightning input? If not is there an adaptor. I am also hard of hearing and I use a boosteroo (3.55mm) that plugs into my pc, iphone etc. Is there a way to utilize this?

L kyusa

April 26, 2013, 10:45 pm

iPad 3 is also Retina Display

Robert Doran

May 2, 2013, 2:27 pm

The ipad needs a USB.

comments powered by Disqus