Home / Computing / Monitor / Iiyama ProLite E2209HDS - Full HD 22in Monitor

Iiyama ProLite E2209HDS - Full HD 22in Monitor review

Ardjuna Seghers

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

6

Considering what a sales impact the words 'Full HD' have gained it's not surprising how quickly 1,920 x 1,080 has worked its way into being the standard resolution for 22in monitors. Only a few short months ago when we looked at Iiyama's ProLite E2208HDS, this was still something worth getting excited about, but now there's no lack of competition, meaning the E2209HDS will have its work cut out for it.

As usual for monitors at this price point, Iiyama's latest features the click-base-into-stand design, making assembly a doddle. Adjustability suffers though, with only limited tilt to alleviate ergonomic concerns. We can hardly fault Iiyama for this since it's a problem with most budget displays, but the BenQ G2200WT has shown how it could and should be done. At least (unlike BenQ) Iiyama includes a DVI cable.

In terms of design, the E2209HDS is very similar to its cheaper cousin, which is a pity since the E2208HDS wasn't the most attractive of monitors to begin with. Thankfully the matte finish has been retained, meaning that though it might not look as flashy as some, this display should be able to stand a bit more wear and tear. Plastics feel solid throughout and despite a hint of creak overall build quality is good.

However, there are a few points which make this monitor one of the least attractive 22in models we've come across. First is the slight bulge on the lower part of the bezel. It's only a difference of a few millimetres, but because it's so slight it just looks wrong. Iiyama would have been better off making it a little wider and straight, or giving it a more defined curve a la Viewsonic's VX2260wm.

The second faux pas concerns the way the lower part of the bezel seems to be 'tacked-on' to the rest of the monitor - you can clearly see two seams at the bottom of the left and right parts of the bezel where it joins the rest of the chassis. The clunky control buttons plainly visible along the front edge and the bean-shaped blue LED don't help matters much either.

piesforyou

June 27, 2009, 5:12 am

Give me 1200 vertical pixels and I'd be interested.

Richard James

June 27, 2009, 5:27 pm

1200 vertical is impossible on a 22".

RonRoyce

June 28, 2009, 5:35 pm

Gone are the days when Iiyama continually trotted out cutting edge, high spec monitors (thinks VM454, VM513, and so on). I wouldn't even consider one now. TN film panels are hateful - I've yet to see any I even remotely like.

piesforyou

June 28, 2009, 7:26 pm

No it isnt. i have 1920x1200 on my 15" laptop from dell.

Pbryanw

June 29, 2009, 3:44 am

@RonRoyce - Yes I remember when CRTs were around, the monitors to buy were Iiyamas. Since the conversion from CRTs to LCDs, they've gone from being known for great monitors to now known for cheap and cheerful ones. Just goes to show you can't stay still in the tech world.

RonRoyce

July 1, 2009, 10:31 pm

I am curious to know what made iiyama take the step from high quality products to the dross they produce now. I say dross because while chossing a monitor I had a 2403 for a short while based on reviews and thought the picture performance was largely terrible. I also had a Samsung 2206CW and that was even worse with terrible backlight issues. At £200 for the Samsung and £320 for the Iiyama 2403 (at the time) I could not accept either of these monitors so I decided to save and get something better - a LaCie 324 and I am so glad I did! Whilst the touch buttons are a bit gash the picture is stunning and a worthy replacement for my Iiyama CRT.

TechVegan

July 6, 2009, 3:21 pm

@Richard James:


As piesforyou has pointed out, of course it's possible - just not likely these days with ever more monitors moving to 16:9 Full HD.





@RonRoyce & Pbryanw:


Indeed. It's always a pity to see a company move from the high-end to exclusively focus on budget projects, but sometimes that's what it takes to stay profitable. Besides, Iiyama might be surprising a few people soon - keep an eye on these pages...

Richard James

July 7, 2009, 2:18 am

Hi All, stirred up a hornets nest then. 1) piesforyou..Laptop displays do not follow the Health and Safety expectations of Desktop Displays. Think about it; 1920 x 1200, 15" display, upto 8 hours a day? Possible Yes, Smart No. 2) Pbryanw..If everybody bought VA/IPS technology for improved colour quality, which I agree they should, then why is the mass market TN and price the biggest message in the UK when selling? Real pity but true. 3)RonRoyce..iiyama pushed large format (22"/24") based on good price/performance which had to be TN as per Samsung, LG, Benq, NEC, etc all did the same; why if not demanded? Lacie 324; £600+, iiyama £320 / Samsung £200. Replacing a CRT for colour work needs a lot of consideration. Dross comes from manufacturers that are in the market for less than a few years then dissapear leaving warranty headaches. Rarely from manufacturers that are around since the dawn of 17" FST CRTs 16 years+. 'Watch iiyama go in Q4'

comments powered by Disqus