Iiyama ProLite E2209HDS - Full HD 22in Monitor - Iiyama ProLite E2209HDS

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

6

As far as aspect controls go, Iiyama offers you the choice between 'Full' and 'Aspect'. The former stretches and distorts contents to fill the whole screen, while the latter stretches it only as much as it can without causing distortion. So there's no 1:1 mode, but then on a native 16:9 screen that's not really a necessity anyway.

Overall then, image quality is middling, which to be fair can be applied to most monitors using TN panels. So the important question becomes how the E2209HDS holds up in the value stakes. Available at just over £160, this is a decent price for a Full HD 22in monitor, but some of the competition can be had for less.

If you're willing to sacrifice the HDMI port, for example (not an issue for those who only want a display for their PC), and want Full HD at the lowest possible price, Iiyama's own E2208HDS has come down to about £135 since we reviewed it. A better option that retains the triple connectivity is BenQ's E2200HD, which offers a more attractive design and superior image quality for under £150. Even factoring in the cost of a DVI cable, it's still a better option.

Though it doesn't offer more real estate, if you really want the two extra inches another £26 will get you Asus' 24in VW246H, which still solidly beats the Iiyama in looks and sound if not image quality. Also keep in mind that despite its lower 1,680 x 1,050 resolution, when it comes to ergonomics and adjustability little can touch BenQ's G2200WT currently selling for just £134.

Verdict

There's enough competition in the TN-based 22in Full HD monitor market these days that Iiyama's E2209HDS fails to stand out. Uninspiring design combined with a price that's just a bit higher than some rival offerings means there are better alternatives.

Overall Score

6

Scores In Detail

  • Value 7
  • Image Quality 7
  • Features 7
  • Design 5

piesforyou

June 27, 2009, 5:12 am

Give me 1200 vertical pixels and I'd be interested.

Richard James

June 27, 2009, 5:27 pm

1200 vertical is impossible on a 22".

RonRoyce

June 28, 2009, 5:35 pm

Gone are the days when Iiyama continually trotted out cutting edge, high spec monitors (thinks VM454, VM513, and so on). I wouldn't even consider one now. TN film panels are hateful - I've yet to see any I even remotely like.

piesforyou

June 28, 2009, 7:26 pm

No it isnt. i have 1920x1200 on my 15" laptop from dell.

Pbryanw

June 29, 2009, 3:44 am

@RonRoyce - Yes I remember when CRTs were around, the monitors to buy were Iiyamas. Since the conversion from CRTs to LCDs, they've gone from being known for great monitors to now known for cheap and cheerful ones. Just goes to show you can't stay still in the tech world.

RonRoyce

July 1, 2009, 10:31 pm

I am curious to know what made iiyama take the step from high quality products to the dross they produce now. I say dross because while chossing a monitor I had a 2403 for a short while based on reviews and thought the picture performance was largely terrible. I also had a Samsung 2206CW and that was even worse with terrible backlight issues. At £200 for the Samsung and £320 for the Iiyama 2403 (at the time) I could not accept either of these monitors so I decided to save and get something better - a LaCie 324 and I am so glad I did! Whilst the touch buttons are a bit gash the picture is stunning and a worthy replacement for my Iiyama CRT.

TechVegan

July 6, 2009, 3:21 pm

@Richard James:


As piesforyou has pointed out, of course it's possible - just not likely these days with ever more monitors moving to 16:9 Full HD.





@RonRoyce & Pbryanw:


Indeed. It's always a pity to see a company move from the high-end to exclusively focus on budget projects, but sometimes that's what it takes to stay profitable. Besides, Iiyama might be surprising a few people soon - keep an eye on these pages...

Richard James

July 7, 2009, 2:18 am

Hi All, stirred up a hornets nest then. 1) piesforyou..Laptop displays do not follow the Health and Safety expectations of Desktop Displays. Think about it; 1920 x 1200, 15" display, upto 8 hours a day? Possible Yes, Smart No. 2) Pbryanw..If everybody bought VA/IPS technology for improved colour quality, which I agree they should, then why is the mass market TN and price the biggest message in the UK when selling? Real pity but true. 3)RonRoyce..iiyama pushed large format (22"/24") based on good price/performance which had to be TN as per Samsung, LG, Benq, NEC, etc all did the same; why if not demanded? Lacie 324; £600+, iiyama £320 / Samsung £200. Replacing a CRT for colour work needs a lot of consideration. Dross comes from manufacturers that are in the market for less than a few years then dissapear leaving warranty headaches. Rarely from manufacturers that are around since the dawn of 17" FST CRTs 16 years+. 'Watch iiyama go in Q4'

comments powered by Disqus