Iiyama ProLite E2209HDS - Full HD 22in Monitor - Iiyama ProLite E2209HDS

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

6

So with similar ergonomics and worse looks, what justifies the E2209HDS' higher price over the older model? Well, in addition to the VGA and DVI ports found on the E2208HDS, this display adds HDMI. To be honest though, triple video inputs are no longer the luxury they once were, and most similarly-specified monitors offer them.

There are 3.5mm inputs and outputs present too, so you don't have to rely on the E2209HDS' built-in speakers - and that's a good thing, since the efforts on this monitor are particularly poor. If it hadn't been for the relatively impressive set found on the recently-reviewed Asus VW246H we might have been more inclined to forgive the pathetically weak volume, lack of any clarity or depth and tinny bass. Admittedly the VW246H is a 24in monitor, but even by the usual 22in standards these speakers don't hold up well.

Of course a monitor isn't really about audio quality, so let's see how it does on the visual side of things. Initial impressions here were rather poor here too, since there is noticeable contrast shift with even subtle horizontal adjustments. Conversely, vertical viewing angles are strong for a TN, and from the ideal angle the E2209HDS delivered a decent greyscale performance. Just a hint of backlight-bleed along the bottom edge affects an otherwise even backlight distribution, but both banding and dithering are minimal.

Out of the selection of image presets (which include Text, Internet, Game, Movie, Sports and Standard modes) only Standard allows you to adjust brightness, contrast and colour temperatures and should be the one to use for any entertainment material. Advanced Contrast Ratio (Iiyama's dynamic contrast system) is turned off by default in all modes - a good thing since turning it on costs you too much dark detail to be worthwhile.

piesforyou

June 27, 2009, 5:12 am

Give me 1200 vertical pixels and I'd be interested.

Richard James

June 27, 2009, 5:27 pm

1200 vertical is impossible on a 22".

RonRoyce

June 28, 2009, 5:35 pm

Gone are the days when Iiyama continually trotted out cutting edge, high spec monitors (thinks VM454, VM513, and so on). I wouldn't even consider one now. TN film panels are hateful - I've yet to see any I even remotely like.

piesforyou

June 28, 2009, 7:26 pm

No it isnt. i have 1920x1200 on my 15" laptop from dell.

Pbryanw

June 29, 2009, 3:44 am

@RonRoyce - Yes I remember when CRTs were around, the monitors to buy were Iiyamas. Since the conversion from CRTs to LCDs, they've gone from being known for great monitors to now known for cheap and cheerful ones. Just goes to show you can't stay still in the tech world.

RonRoyce

July 1, 2009, 10:31 pm

I am curious to know what made iiyama take the step from high quality products to the dross they produce now. I say dross because while chossing a monitor I had a 2403 for a short while based on reviews and thought the picture performance was largely terrible. I also had a Samsung 2206CW and that was even worse with terrible backlight issues. At £200 for the Samsung and £320 for the Iiyama 2403 (at the time) I could not accept either of these monitors so I decided to save and get something better - a LaCie 324 and I am so glad I did! Whilst the touch buttons are a bit gash the picture is stunning and a worthy replacement for my Iiyama CRT.

TechVegan

July 6, 2009, 3:21 pm

@Richard James:


As piesforyou has pointed out, of course it's possible - just not likely these days with ever more monitors moving to 16:9 Full HD.





@RonRoyce & Pbryanw:


Indeed. It's always a pity to see a company move from the high-end to exclusively focus on budget projects, but sometimes that's what it takes to stay profitable. Besides, Iiyama might be surprising a few people soon - keep an eye on these pages...

Richard James

July 7, 2009, 2:18 am

Hi All, stirred up a hornets nest then. 1) piesforyou..Laptop displays do not follow the Health and Safety expectations of Desktop Displays. Think about it; 1920 x 1200, 15" display, upto 8 hours a day? Possible Yes, Smart No. 2) Pbryanw..If everybody bought VA/IPS technology for improved colour quality, which I agree they should, then why is the mass market TN and price the biggest message in the UK when selling? Real pity but true. 3)RonRoyce..iiyama pushed large format (22"/24") based on good price/performance which had to be TN as per Samsung, LG, Benq, NEC, etc all did the same; why if not demanded? Lacie 324; £600+, iiyama £320 / Samsung £200. Replacing a CRT for colour work needs a lot of consideration. Dross comes from manufacturers that are in the market for less than a few years then dissapear leaving warranty headaches. Rarely from manufacturers that are around since the dawn of 17" FST CRTs 16 years+. 'Watch iiyama go in Q4'

comments powered by Disqus