Iiyama ProLite E2208HDS Full HD 22in LCD - Exclusive - Feature Table

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Iiyama ProLite E2208HDS Full HD 22in LCD - Exclusive

Summary

Our Score:

8

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Value 10
  • Image Quality 7
  • Features 6
  • Design 7

whybother

October 30, 2008, 3:29 pm

does it support 1:1 pixel mapping?

Andy Vandervell

October 30, 2008, 3:39 pm

No, afraid not but then if you're thinking about games consoles you don't really need it, since the native resolution is already a pixel for pixel match of 1080p. :)

Williamn

October 30, 2008, 4:27 pm

Bring on a 24" one for 𧶀 and the credit card might have to come out...

Richard James

October 30, 2008, 6:04 pm

Watch this space on a 16:9 24" for <𧶀.00. Warm that Credit Card up for Early January; and watch Trusted Reviews as they will get a unit for review early December. RJ at iiyama

Ozgun

October 30, 2008, 7:17 pm

You can buy NEW 24" 16:9 Dell monitor from directly dell for 𧵿 including V.A.T and delivery. Model number is S2409W.

Jay4d0

October 31, 2008, 12:32 am

@Ozgun: can u tell me how to get it for 𧵿 it's showing 𧶰.99 when I go to the dell page

Ozgun

October 31, 2008, 2:38 am

Well,it was still 𧵿 when I checked a few days ago. That means they increased the price. Unlucky you are.

David Bennington

October 31, 2008, 1:02 pm

MicroDirect have the Dell for 𧶏 inc. vat and basic delivery (in stock).

Plastic Gnome

November 17, 2008, 5:40 pm

Having bought one, I'm a little concerned I can't get it to work properly at 1920x1080 with my mac (an older powerPC based mac mini).


If I use the mac's dvi to dsub adaptor the resulting screen is *sometimes* shifted so far right that even using h position adjustment it can't be pulled far enough across to display the full screen. When it isn't shifted, it looks good. My method to reset is switch resolutions and then switch back but this sometimes leaves you with a blank screen.


Abandoning the adaptor and trying to connect via dvi cable (provided) if the screen appears at all it's all over the place and the monitor pops up a blue warning "Nonpreset mode !" and then blacks out completely. Using the mac's display prefs to select 1600x1200 produces a stable, if slightly fuzzy, screen but it's not what I want.


I can't tell if the fault lies with the mac, the monitor or my own naivete for just assuming it would work.


In general, the impression is that the build quality is far inferior to the Iiyama Prolite E430T I thought I was upgrading from.

ChrisRyan

November 18, 2008, 11:16 pm

Just this second powered this monitor up after getting it a few minutes ago.


Thank you Trusted Reviews, this is an absolute gem for the money. I came from Hyundai Q17 (yes, that old beast LOL) and this certainly demonstrates how the market has moved on so much in recent years. That old Hyundai cost me 𧸴, this at 𧵘 from Dabs wipes the floor with it completely. Lovely quality screen, no dead pixels that I can find.


Plastic Gnome, I will try my G4 mac mini in a moment and let you know how I get on via DVI.

ChrisRyan

November 19, 2008, 3:59 am

On the Mac Mini (G4 - 1.33) it worked just as well as on the PC via direct DVI connection. OSX set the video mode with no issues to 1920x1080 and all looked lovely and crisp.

Malcolm Goy

January 7, 2009, 3:41 am

Can any one help??? I'm thinking about the E2208HDS - I'm a photograher - is it that bad with greys on black and can I disable the on board speakers? my desk top speakers are OK. Many thanks...Malcolm Goy

FSHero

March 31, 2009, 5:10 pm

I know the review says this monitor has an "entirely matte black plastic finish", but is the actual viewing area glossy or matte? If matte... then I will 100% buy it!!

MrTomHill

August 23, 2013, 12:27 am

Yep, it's matte. Hope that helps.

James PC-Fix Hurling BSc

July 5, 2015, 10:38 am

These are glossy finish on the front and matt on the back. I have 2 of these and hope this helps, great monitors, i brought them second hand a couple of years ago and they're still going great even on my brand new (and somewhat expensive) gaming rig.

James PC-Fix Hurling BSc

July 5, 2015, 10:38 am

yes you can disbale the onboard (or just don't plug a jack cable in) and grey on black looks great!

comments powered by Disqus