Humax HDR-1000S specs

By Danny Phillips

Reviewed:

Key Features

  • Free Time EPG with on-demand TV content
  • 500GB hard-disk drive
  • Dual Freesat tuners
  • DLNA media streaming & internet content
  • USB media playback
  • Manufacturer: Humax
  • Review Price: £279.99
specs
Quick Glance
DVD recording No
Outputs
Toslink S/PDIF 1
Antennae 2 x LNB
S/PDIF 0
S-Video 0
Stereo Line Out 1
Format Support
DivX Yes
MKV Yes
AVI Yes
MP3 Yes
JPEG Yes
Physical Specifications
Height 55
Width 352
Depth 238
Weight 1700
Features
Type Freesat PVR
DVD Optical Drive No
Hard Drive Size 500
Recording Time 125 (HD); 300 (SD)
Freeview No
Freeview+ No
Freeview HD No
Freesat Yes
Upscaling Yes
Editing Features No
Audio Decoder Yes
Number of Tuners 2
DVD recording No

JDunn

November 1, 2012, 4:58 pm

A comparison with the older DTR-1000 would have been helpful. Struggling to see many differences not least because neither have integrated Wi-Fi.

SJackson

November 10, 2012, 8:34 pm

Does JDunn say that there is an older DTR-1000 model other than the Youview model. If not, then the most obvious difference is that DTR-1000 is a terrestial (Freeview) model and the HDR-1000S is a satellite (Freesat) unit.

Problem

January 4, 2013, 12:03 pm

You cannot copy recorded programs onto a USB disk as you can with older Foxsat-hdr model.

ABarron

January 31, 2013, 7:01 am

My 2 month old 1000S worked fine until the auto software update which rendered the unit unusable. Now going through the warranty process.

John Brenkley

February 3, 2013, 10:41 am

I ordered and returned this PVR. It is a buggy, developmental bit of kit which frankly isn't ready for public release. Wonder if Danny Phillips is related to Alan Sugar, because his gushing 'rose tinted' review (which positively swayed my initial purchase decision), I'm afraid isn't terribly representative of my subsequent experiences with the unit.

The SD picture quality from the 1000S in particular was mushy & soft compared to my Foxsat HDR. Whilst the media player in the 1000S is very, very disappointing. Even connected with 500Mbps Home Plugs to my NAS it is a lardy lump when it comes to streaming MP3's, I would rather nail-gun my eyes out than wait around for the 1000S to eventually catch up and get there. Music is for enjoying and wading through the treacle-like 1000S' Media Player HMI certainly does not contribute one bit to that enjoyment.

Streaming video isn't much better. It incorrectly scales the video and chops off some of the picture. Funnily enough no mention of this in Danny's 'in-depth' review........ but check-out the forums, this would appear to not be an isolated issue.

I'm keeping my Foxsat HDR + existing Media Streamer, but also using a YouView unit for Freeview which incidently Humax have got just about right. In the meantime, if you want to be disappointed in an over hyped-up bit of tech then go for the 1000S.

Steve Crook

January 26, 2014, 12:36 pm

The box does all the basics well, I've no complaints with how it handles records, series or split. HD picture looks ok to me, though I've not got much to compare it against.

The UI is the problem. There are a number of features missing or broken despite several software updates over the period of a year.

1. The EPG cannot be set to use the favourites channels by default. So every time you access the EPG you have to press List, Up, Enter to select Favourites
2. There's no way to search the EPG for programmes of a particular genre. So no way to look at all the films being broadcast during the next week.
3. There's no way to reorder channels in Favourites, so you're stuck with them in channel number order.
4. There's only one Favourites. Another for Radio would have been handy.

There are others. I've found the above to be so irksome that I'm actively considering a switch back to Freeview and the better UI on the Humax Freeview product....

Dan Saxton

March 9, 2015, 8:02 pm

Do not buy this!

Don't buy one of these, it doesn't work with ethernet after a while and
then when you're out of warranty they'll charge you £110 to replace it!

VIKING2015

October 18, 2015, 5:26 am

trying to buy a HUMAX top box with YOutube and this on of them. Do not need WIFI as with HumaxHDR10101S (£200 Min.) in white which costs more than this one at £150 Richer Sounds. Black model Humax HDR1000S seemed perfect to me but read your review. £150 seems cheap. Was it really that bad and did you pay £110 extra to have it replaced if it is 2yrs +? Wondering what to do now and appreciate you reply. thanks

comments powered by Disqus