Humax HDR-1000S - Free Time EPG

By Danny Phillips

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Humax HDR-1000S

Summary

Our Score:

9

User Score:

Humax HDR-1000S Free Time EPG

The brand new Free Time EPG found on the Humax HDR-1000S is simply gorgeous, a million miles from the traditional Freesat EPGs you may be used to. When you first enter, the live TV screen shrinks down into the top right corner, with two columns displayed below – Now and Next – showing programmes for seven channels on the left. Hit the right direction key and you move to the familiar programme grid that covers a two-hour period.

Humax HDR-1000S

You can page up and down, skip forward or back 24 hours or hit Info to bring up a synopsis at the top of the screen, alongside a comprehensive list of details about that programme (complete with little icons that let you know whether HD or Audio Description are available, for instance).

Humax HDR-1000S

Highlight the programme you want to record, hit the Record button on the remote and the EPG is replaced with a dialogue box asking a simple question – ‘would you like to record the entire series?’ There are two options – ‘record entire series’ and ‘record single episode’.

Humax HDR-1000S

Alternatively, if you press OK after highlighting a programme, the screen switches to a short menu, with four options: Record, About, Set Reminder and Close menu. It’s this level of simplicity and sense of logic that makes the Humax HDR-1000S such a pleasure to use.

But here’s the really cool bit. At the initial EPG screen, select the ‘Earlier’ option and you’ll see a list of on-demand programmes available to watch, displayed day by day in chronological order.

Humax HDR-1000S

Humax HDR-1000SHumax HDR-1000S

A column to the right of the programme list allows you to change to a different channel and browse its on-demand content – ITV1, CBeebies, ITV4 and so on. Recommended programmes are highlighted on the left hand side in larger boxes with a thumbnail.

It’s brilliantly done, but we would say that the handling of catch-up content on YouView’s EPG is more seamless. When you skip back in time on YouView, the EPG keeps the same programme grid layout, whereas here it changes to a list, which is a little disorienting – but it’s not a major problem.

JDunn

November 1, 2012, 4:58 pm

A comparison with the older DTR-1000 would have been helpful. Struggling to see many differences not least because neither have integrated Wi-Fi.

SJackson

November 10, 2012, 8:34 pm

Does JDunn say that there is an older DTR-1000 model other than the Youview model. If not, then the most obvious difference is that DTR-1000 is a terrestial (Freeview) model and the HDR-1000S is a satellite (Freesat) unit.

Problem

January 4, 2013, 12:03 pm

You cannot copy recorded programs onto a USB disk as you can with older Foxsat-hdr model.

ABarron

January 31, 2013, 7:01 am

My 2 month old 1000S worked fine until the auto software update which rendered the unit unusable. Now going through the warranty process.

John Brenkley

February 3, 2013, 10:41 am

I ordered and returned this PVR. It is a buggy, developmental bit of kit which frankly isn't ready for public release. Wonder if Danny Phillips is related to Alan Sugar, because his gushing 'rose tinted' review (which positively swayed my initial purchase decision), I'm afraid isn't terribly representative of my subsequent experiences with the unit.

The SD picture quality from the 1000S in particular was mushy & soft compared to my Foxsat HDR. Whilst the media player in the 1000S is very, very disappointing. Even connected with 500Mbps Home Plugs to my NAS it is a lardy lump when it comes to streaming MP3's, I would rather nail-gun my eyes out than wait around for the 1000S to eventually catch up and get there. Music is for enjoying and wading through the treacle-like 1000S' Media Player HMI certainly does not contribute one bit to that enjoyment.

Streaming video isn't much better. It incorrectly scales the video and chops off some of the picture. Funnily enough no mention of this in Danny's 'in-depth' review........ but check-out the forums, this would appear to not be an isolated issue.

I'm keeping my Foxsat HDR + existing Media Streamer, but also using a YouView unit for Freeview which incidently Humax have got just about right. In the meantime, if you want to be disappointed in an over hyped-up bit of tech then go for the 1000S.

Steve Crook

January 26, 2014, 12:36 pm

The box does all the basics well, I've no complaints with how it handles records, series or split. HD picture looks ok to me, though I've not got much to compare it against.

The UI is the problem. There are a number of features missing or broken despite several software updates over the period of a year.

1. The EPG cannot be set to use the favourites channels by default. So every time you access the EPG you have to press List, Up, Enter to select Favourites
2. There's no way to search the EPG for programmes of a particular genre. So no way to look at all the films being broadcast during the next week.
3. There's no way to reorder channels in Favourites, so you're stuck with them in channel number order.
4. There's only one Favourites. Another for Radio would have been handy.

There are others. I've found the above to be so irksome that I'm actively considering a switch back to Freeview and the better UI on the Humax Freeview product....

Dan Saxton

March 9, 2015, 8:02 pm

Do not buy this!

Don't buy one of these, it doesn't work with ethernet after a while and
then when you're out of warranty they'll charge you £110 to replace it!

VIKING2015

October 18, 2015, 5:26 am

trying to buy a HUMAX top box with YOutube and this on of them. Do not need WIFI as with HumaxHDR10101S (£200 Min.) in white which costs more than this one at £150 Richer Sounds. Black model Humax HDR1000S seemed perfect to me but read your review. £150 seems cheap. Was it really that bad and did you pay £110 extra to have it replaced if it is 2yrs +? Wondering what to do now and appreciate you reply. thanks

comments powered by Disqus