Humax HB-1000S setup and remote

By Danny Phillips


  • Recommended by TR
Humax HB-1000S


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £99.00

Humax HB-1000S – Setup

Obviously a satellite dish is required to watch Freesat (an existing Sky dish will work) but if you don’t already have one you’ll need to pay a local installer to put one up. Simply connect the dish to the LNB input on the back, rig up your HDMI and Ethernet cables and away you go.

Humax HB-1000S

In terms of setup, Humax’s user-friendly approach is clear from the first boot-up. A five-step wizard guides you through all the crucial settings, including picture and sound, signal test, broadband connection and parental control. The clear and simple settings menu lets you make further picture, sound, network and system tweaks.

The setup wizard also takes care of channel tuning. It located 194 channels in a flash, and if you enter your postcode it finds your regional channels too. To watch non-Freesat channels, you need to switch to ‘Non-Freesat mode’ in the setup menu and carry out a new channel search. It found 376 channels, although many of these are encrypted and there’s no EPG or programme information. In this respect, the Manhattan Plaza HD S2 is more flexible unit.

Humax HB-1000S – Onscreen menus

Onscreen menu presentation is superb – the use of thumbnails, channel logos and smooth-scrolling menus lend an air of sophistication and slickness that few digital TV boxes can match.

Humax HB-1000S

Take the Home Menu for example. You can scroll through the list of options on the left while live TV plays on the right. Highlight an option and a preview appears below the screen – when you highlight ‘TV Guide’, a mini now & next display appears, while ‘On Demand’ shows you logos of the catch-up TV services. This is how menu navigation should be.

Humax HB-1000S

The individual menus are all first rate, making it easy to find on-demand services, media files and USB recordings. You can search for content by keyword or check out the Showcase section, which flags up forthcoming programmes (recommended by Freesat, not based on viewing preferences). If you get a bit lost, the handy ‘Help & Info’ section explains everything.

Humax HB-1000S – EPG

The electronic program guide (EPG) is a joy to explore. Its design is slick and polished, with a classy colour scheme and channel logos adorning the programme grid. It even plays live TV as you browse. The default setting is a now & next screen, but navigate to the right and it switches to the traditional timeline structure, showing seven channels at a time over a two-hour period.

Humax HB-1000S

Head left from the first EPG screen and you’ll move back through the last week, day by day – on each page you’ll see the available programmes for the selected channel and time period. You can switch channels using the column on the right, and view information for each programme as you would in a regular EPG. Select ‘Watch Now’ and away you go – it’s so easy.

You can also browse the EPG while you continue to watch a programme using the onscreen banner. Like the full EPG, you can browse catch-up programmes and forthcoming shows on any channel. It’s brilliant.

Humax HB-1000S – Remote

Even the remote is impressive, in terms of both looks and operation. The lovely curved edges, gloss-black finish and silver ring look classy on the coffee table, while the intelligent placement of core buttons and clear labelling make navigation a cinch.

Humax HB-1000S

Previous page
Next page


October 1, 2013, 8:51 am

If this were Freeview HD & not Freesat, this would be perfect for me. Do you know if they have plans to release a Freeview version?


October 1, 2013, 11:28 am

Decent specs and review but I could never bring myself to put something that ugly under my TV.

Paul Walton

October 1, 2013, 3:48 pm

I think it looks good not ugly, Humax have been one of the best setr top box makers for years


October 2, 2013, 3:42 pm

Is there a compating product that also throws Netflix and LoveFilm into the mix? With that I'd be able to replace the PS3 for these duties


October 6, 2013, 3:31 pm

Does the remote actually work? I've had a couple of humax boxes and they're great, but the remotes are terrible - had to replace with 3rd party models...


October 30, 2013, 5:56 pm

Remote works great, quick and seamless.

I had a Foxsat before and its light years ahead of it :-)

Slight niggle with changing channel if recording but thats same for any single tuner box

Love it


November 9, 2013, 8:53 am

no itv player available in Scotland, but available on Samsung smart tv


November 13, 2013, 5:38 pm

There is YouView which is essentially the same thing but with Freeview instead. Definitely recommend YouView.


November 14, 2013, 2:26 pm

Unfortunately there is no DLNA facility on Youview, which is essential to me. At the moment to get both catch-up TV for all channels in addition to DLNA, I need to buy two boxes, which is ridiculous!


November 23, 2013, 8:59 pm

Interesting review and I will probably buy one but your Specification page seems to be nonsense. According to your info it has no HDMI input or output, no USB input/output and no CAT5 Ethernet connection and no mention of the network DLNA capability! Who checked this list? Regarding the unit's design, why is the USB connection (yes, it does have one!) not on the front panel to make flash drive access easy? having to fiddle at the back of the unit seems an unnecessary inconvenience.

Mick Emmett

January 15, 2014, 5:25 pm

After having this box for a week now; I can honestly say it's a big disappointment. I had hoped to be able to record to a memory stick so I could then take the stick up to the telly in my bedroom and watch recorded films up there but no, it will not record to memory sticks; only HDD's. It wouldn't be any good if it did record to a stick any way as the recordings are encrypted and you can only watch them back through the Humax box anyway. You also cannot record anything from catchup TV (you can with a sky box) don't know why this function isn't available? You are also not able to delete your recordings yourself after you have watched them, the box uses a first in first out system where the box deletes recordings when the HDD becomes near to full, you can mark programs so they are not deleted if you wish to save them but you cannot manually delete them yourself; which leads to endless lists of programs to search through to find the one you want. It does have a nice user interface but things like the DNLA feature; the ability to play films and music etc from other devices attached to the network is hidden away in the menus and not a single mention of this facility or how to use it is mentioned anywhere in the manual; very poor. The unit has locked up on a number of occasions and the only way to get it functioning again was to unplug the power cord and plug it back in again. A permanent bug is that when you come out from watching something on catch up back to normal freesat you are met with a blank screen instead of the freesat channel picture you should be seeing, it doesn't matter if you go in to the channel menu and select the channel; it simply will not appear, the only way to get it back is to go up or down a channel number and then back up or down to the original channel number you were on; the picture and sound will then appear on the screen as it should. Picture quality is good with the option to upscale to 1080p and sound quality is good but I suppose that all depends on how good your tv is. Another problem I have had but won't apply to all is that I now have two humax boxes, unfortunately humax seem to use the same remote frequencies for my new box (hb 1000s) as they did for my old box so I can't change the channel on one box without it affecting the other box, could be awkward if recording on one and watching something else on the other box. Yet another problem I had yesterday was that when I went to watch a program I had left it recording I was told that recording was not available and that if I wanted to record I needed to plug a hard drive in to the unit, the unit had a hard drive plugged in and I had been watching recorded programs from it for the last few days? The only way the unit would recognize the hard drive again was to unplug the hard drive and plug it back in, the humax then said to be able to use the HDD I would have to format it, that of course meant any recordings would be lost. As soon as I powered up the box it updated the software so these are problems that exist with the box right now and can't at the moment be resolved with a software update (as it has the latest version installed), maybe in time there will be a new update to resolve the problems. As it is now I wouldn't recommend this bug riddled unit to anyone, pay a little extra and get a proper freesat recorder with 2 tuners (this unit only has one so you can only record the channel it is on) and a hard disk drive built in.


August 21, 2014, 12:20 pm

I have just bought the humax 1000s which has the facility to record however when I connected my external hard drive it does not recognise what I recorded before which is a huge disappointment also trying to delete or select favourites is nigh impossible as the instruction manual is hopeless saying that the epg and the remote are great


December 1, 2014, 5:32 pm

Thank goodness I read your review - encrypting the recordings is a killer! No thank you! That is a crucial bit of info missing from the review. I want to do the same as you - record and go to another tv.


December 4, 2014, 10:36 pm

I own a HB-1000s freesat hd with freetime.

In the manual or videos;-

It dosn't tell you anywhere how to format or pair a HDD

It dosn't explain what this IS or which one 's to buy.

Also how big the storage space the HDD needs to be?

For anyone over 40 years old I would say that was a nightmere!

I know NOW (after hours of looking and messing about with a usb stick) that it is

Settings, System settings, Storage, Start disk format. dosn't work with usb stick only HDD, but it helped finding out the above ^^^^^^

comments powered by Disqus