Key Features: 4in touchscreen; 5.0 megapixel camera; 4GB of memory; 1Ghz processor

Manufacturer: Huawei

Quick Glance
Screen Size (inches) 4.0
Operating System Android OS
Touchscreen Yes
Operating System Android OS
Touchscreen Yes
Screen Size (inches) 4.0
Screen Resolution 480x800
Processor and Internal Specs
CPU 1Ghz
Internal Storage 4GB
Expandable memory microSD
Camera 5
Camera Flash LED
Front Facing Camera No
Charging/Computer Connection Yes
3.5mm Headphone Jack Yes
3G/4G Yes
WiFi Yes
Bluetooth Yes
App Store Yes


August 14, 2012, 3:33 am

I am looking to upgrade from my Orange San Fran/Blade because it's pretty laggy.

I'm happy to spend up to £200 to get something faster than this but it must have at least an 800px vertical pixels.

Any recommendations?

Hans Gruber

August 15, 2012, 1:07 am

The Huawei Ascend G300 forum at Modaco appears to have a lot of user complaints about reliability: so though the phone is nice on paper, I gave it a wide berth and chose the Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc S instead: which can be upgraded to ICS (via PC/Mac). At around £190 from those ever so knowledgable & morally upstanding folk at Phones4U, it's not a bad deal I thought. Quite happy so far. A lot slicker than my HTC Legend or ZTE Blade.

Pros for the Arc S: proper good camera, ICS, decent enough processor (1.4GHz though only single core), 4.2 inch 854×480 display (brighter than the ZTE Grand X), very fast GPS, comes unlocked and is unbranded. Slim & lightweight.

Cons: the Arc S has limited space to install apps (hence an over reliance on installing them to the SD card), single core CPU (the ZTE Grand X has a Tegra 2), 512MB of RAM (enough but more would be nice), battery life could be better though it's probably par for the course. Just okay call quality. P4U only stock white. You'll need to pay for a top up too, £10 (inc in the £190 price).

The ZTE Grand X costs £250 (plus £10 top up I think) and many people felt cheated that the retail price had gone up by £60 from the original £190. Another phone to consider is the San Francisco II and another, the San Diego though you'll want to do your research on those two as they'll likely have a ton of Orange branding on them. I'd likely have gone for the Grand X if the price hadn't risen - it just felt like P4U were profiteering regardless of the reasons behind the price rise. Also, the phone is really not bad in the Arc S and it's a nice thing to have once again.

Mike from Hainault

August 17, 2012, 3:26 am

Just bought a Huawei Ascend G300 unlocked (not the Vodophone version which has some problems and expensive PAYG).... very impressed. Same day my wife bought a Samsung Ace 2, which cost £75 more. They are very similar in most respects. Excellent value for money in the mid-price smartphone. I'll be using a Giffgaff SIM which is also great value.


August 19, 2012, 6:04 pm

Astonishing Hans....

in a "review" of the Ascend G300, which is 311 words long, you manage 35 words pertaining to the Ascend, and that is being generous, as I have allowed everything up to "I gave it a wide berth"......

yeah, I actually checked the word count here

the rest of your review is about a device which you apparently actually have!!!

Which is almost twice.....that's two expensive as this fantastic budget phone from Huawei.

You link the Modaco Ascend G300 forum in support of your contention regarding the Ascend, citing "user complaints" ???

Which particular complaints are you referring to here, as it is difficult to judge or find many complaint threads..........

what with the Development Threads over there regarding JB ROM [CM 10], ICS [CM9] fully working custom ROM's and leaked Official ICS from Huawei, two overclocked kernel threads, Custom CWM recovery threads, Stock Huawei ROM threads, even GB custom ROM's......

I really think it is inappropriate for you to post a "review" of a device you have not experienced, and to then go on to compare it unfavourably with your own device, and other devices, which are not really in the same budget phone price bracket!!!

For your info, I got my Ascend G300 from Vodafone Ireland on-line, free delivery, for €110 [£87]....SIM unlocked from eBay for £6.....Rooted for free on Modaco, and now have a very smooth CM9 ICS running at 1220MHz, giving a very much enhanced user experience!!!

Hans Gruber

August 24, 2012, 5:39 am

Well Irishpancake, my 'review' as you put it was really just a quick comment to PoisonJam on my recent phone purchasing as 'he' asked of opinions for a phone at least '800px vertical pixels' and under £200. Since we were both looking at the same price bracket I thought I'd share my experience as I'd also considered the Huawei Ascend G300 and owned the ZTE Blade.

As I said, I didn't go for the G300 as I'd read quite a few negative posts about it in the Modaco forum. This really put me off. That you weren't put off by them is great. I'm pleased you got a good phone and it worked out well for you. Well done. Congratulations. Superb. I didn't want to take the chance and only went by the limited (yes, limited!) research I made since I didn't want to spend an eternity reading every little detail about the current crop of relatively budget smartphones out there right now. My reasoning is that it's not worth it to me, just as spending upwards of £300 on a more premium phone isn't as in a year or so, everything will have moved on in terms of spec and perceived value.

I didn't actually review the G300 by the way. I'm sorry about that (well, not really). I was just posting, as I said, in an effort to share my own experience with another poster, since he/she, had asked and my own experience seemed relevant and no one else had chimed in. Amazed you could be so hostile to what I'd have hoped was a simple courteous reply to a fellow TR user.

So, the G300 is a great phone I suppose. I would have gotten one for sure but was put off by my own reading THEN when I casually looked on another heavily populated forum (that I visit quite often and respect a lot), whereby 'I' happened to read a lot of criticism all on the same page and decided that (since I didn't want to read loads and loads about budget smartphones) that I might as well give it a wide berth and go the (perceivably) easier option THEN, and choose another phone. This was my experience. Don't take it too personally. It was 'my' choice based on my opinion at the time. So you modded your G300 with a custom rom. And you've overclocked it? Hope it works out for you then. Well done you.


September 16, 2012, 12:11 am

ICS B934 for the G300 can be downloaded here:


November 30, 2012, 7:43 pm

I totally agree with Hans. I bought this phone. It is a 1Ghz not 1.4Ghz. The battery life is totally unacceptable. Be ready to charge twice a day even with very light use. With a 30% battery it goes to flat (0%) in 2 hrs on standby without any use. Touch screen is very unresponsive compare with a Samsung. You have to press so many times. It is my regret . Don't buy this phone even if it is very cheap. You get what you pay for. Service is also non-existant. Avoid this phone at all cost.


December 2, 2012, 12:51 pm

I bought this phone 4 weeks ago and I regret it very much. Very very poor battery life , very insensitive touch screen. Phone was very hot after 5mins of talking and when charging. I sent it for service and they had no parts and told me to wait 3 weeks when I only had the phone for 2 weeks. I am still waiting .Not sure If I ever get my phone back.The service centre is just an agent and said Hua Wei didn't provide them parts. What a joke! By all means avoid this phone.


March 2, 2013, 10:07 am

U r all gay


December 3, 2013, 12:34 am

I have a Huawei ascend 300G. At £100 from Amazon a bargain. Very few phones in that price range are able to tether. The tethering is very powerful and wouldn't be without it. I watch rugby games on my computer while tethering with very good clear screen. I have installed a 32GB memory card which works very well. Enormous storage capacity for a mobile. I have found that the 32GD memory does sometimes cause a bit of instability which is easily corrected by removing the battery while switched on then booting up again. It has never been that bad that I would consider removing the memory. After playing around with it I do know it's the memory card (it's a cheapie micro SD card). :-D

comments powered by Disqus