HTC Touch2 video review



Read the full HTC Touch2 review

The HTC Touch2 certainly isn't the most inspiring piece of mobile phone hardware but it's compact, light, very fast, and has all the essential features. Likewise, its Windows Mobile 6.5 operating system still trails way behind many alternatives but it's still highly functional and is now just about usable without needing to resort to a stylus. Overall, then, the Touch2 is a good but not great smartphone.

More Mobile Phone Videos


November 2, 2009, 10:50 pm

Hi Ed,

Thanks for the review.

You say it's got a standard mini USB socket on the bottom, but that looks a lot like the proprietary HTC connector I've got on my Hero...


November 2, 2009, 11:08 pm

... unless you meant that it's HTC's ExtUSB which is compatible with mini USB, in which case you can ignore me :)

m memmory

November 2, 2009, 11:19 pm

I thought the Hero used a micro USB connector...either way it definitely takes a mini USB as I use an old mini USB charger on my Hero and it works fine.


November 3, 2009, 6:26 am

I'm 90% sure the hero uses a standard mini-USB... but I'll confirm tomorrow just to be sure.


November 3, 2009, 4:23 pm

Yep, standard mini-USB cable works fine with it.


November 3, 2009, 5:02 pm

Just to confirm, the Hero (one of which I have in front of me right now) does not have a standard mini USB port on the bottom. It has an HTC connector called ExtUSB, which carries audio and (in some cases) video connections as well as the standard USB pins.

However, it is USB compatible, as you can plug any mini-USB cable into it and it will actually work. This isn't a coincidence, it's a work of pure genius on HTC's part. It brings the extended capabilities of a proprietary port while retaining compatibility with a standard port. Best of both worlds.

I'm just saying it looks as though the Touch2 has the same port on the bottom.


November 3, 2009, 5:44 pm


Thanks, duly noted. Totally forgot about that as I've never used it.

Apologies for the mix-up. I'll go find a banana skin to slip up on next if that helps...?


November 3, 2009, 6:08 pm


It would help, thanks. :)


November 3, 2009, 10:49 pm


And this explains why the blackberry charging cable works on the HTC hero but not vice versa... mystery solved!


November 4, 2009, 4:33 pm

@Chris: Ow, my back! *picks self up*

Oh, I should just point out I meant I'd never used the ExtUSB connector, but have used a Hero.

comments powered by Disqus