Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / HTC One X / Camera and Video

HTC One X - Camera and Video

By Edward Chester



Our Score:


User Score:


See page 7 for a comprehensive range of shots and videos taken with the camera - Camera Samples

One of the headline features of the HTC One X is its camera. Not because it features more megapixels – it's still an 8-megapixel model – but because it has a host of other improvements and a superfast continuous shooting mode.

Starting with the basics, though, the camera can be loaded from the lockscreen if you choose to have it as one of your four apps but otherwise - with no shutter button to activate it - you have to unlock the phone to open the app. Once in the app, though, things are more convenient. HTC has, in what seems like such an obvious move, added a video record button to the main camera interface, allowing you to take a photo or start recording straight away, without having to switch modes.

Also to hand are the zoom function (digital only of course), an effects menu (the blue circle), shooting modes (A), Settings, and Flash options. It's a pretty easy interface to get around, letting you get things setup how you want quickly and painlessly.

HTC One X - Camera

Furthermore there are a host of great options and modes. The real-time effects include lens Distortion effects, Vignetting, Dots, Vintage, Greyscale and Posterise, and they all work rather well, as you can see from the samples below.

HTC One X - Camera Effects

In the shooting modes you can also find decent HDR and Panorama modes as well as a slow motion video option. Inevitably is reduces quality considerably but you can get some pretty cool effects.

HTC One X - Camera Options

Perhaps most useful is the Best Shot mode. This is invoked when you hold down the shutter button and the camera fires off around 4 shots a second, for as long as you hold down the shutter button. Once you've finished taking your shots you can choose which one to keep or if you simply tap the back button it'll keep the first shot.

Image quality is good but nothing special. Zoomed out shots look sharp and well exposed with even but punchy colours. However, zoom in a bit and things soon get blotchy, and dynamic range is still very limited, as can be seen in our sample shots in the garden, where the sky is completely washed out.

As for video, you have 1080p recording with the option to digitally zoom and tap on the screen to set focus and exposure while recording. Again, results are good but set no records.

A single LED flash helps out in the dark. It's surprisingly powerful, and certainly puts the Sony Xperia S to shame but it's still only of much use within a range of a couple of metres or so.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Ben Cove

February 27, 2012, 1:29 pm

spelling mistake last paragraph second line "al" to "all"
Great review :)

iain coghill

February 27, 2012, 3:55 pm

It is fortunate that these top-end phones are likely so expensive - you need to empty your pockets of cash in order to fit the damn things in!


March 14, 2012, 2:26 pm

what a shame only made out of plastic should be the aluminium with mao finish for real premium feel and the extra strength to protect the high investment we would be making tech specs are impressive so lets hope the service providers don't mess up with their overlays as usually happens


April 3, 2012, 3:28 am

The review says the screen is "Stunning", however the Image Quality has been awarded 7/10... ?? I can't think of 3 greater adjectives above Stunning hehe...

Have the Design score and Image Quality score been confused?


April 3, 2012, 3:36 am

Also, if you were to review the White version, is it likely this would have received a Trusted Award?? To wait for the S3 or not :s


April 3, 2012, 1:54 pm

Our Image Quality score refers to the camera, not the screen.


April 3, 2012, 1:55 pm

Possibly, though there are a number of other issues.


April 3, 2012, 3:55 pm

Dang! I got the grey verion on order :( I hope its not too much of disapointment your suggesting the finish is! Cheers for the review. Fingers crossed my hands wont find the new clown-phone format too large!


April 3, 2012, 4:11 pm

you wouldnt think having to press the top button to get out of stand by woud be much of a deal breaker but ive honestly nearly smashed my old htc phone about a 100 times because of it,weird.


April 3, 2012, 4:19 pm

also you said it has the best camera on ANY smartphone then gave it a 7


April 3, 2012, 5:08 pm

Do I? Where? I certainly didn't mean to. It's an okay camera.


April 3, 2012, 6:18 pm

you waxed lyrical about the camera in the video review,among the best has to be taken as it is said.


April 3, 2012, 6:45 pm

to clarify...among the best i would expect a 9,then add in the HOST of extra features translates as hard to find better.although not THE best certainly more than a 7.

then again maybe your paid to wax lyrical.


April 4, 2012, 2:26 am

Ah yes, I see. In fairness, I say it's among the best out there, which it is. However, it's good because of its features, not image quality. I appreciate it's not entirely clear.

Martin Daler

April 4, 2012, 2:07 pm

Maybe review samples get more abuse (?), but even so that sticky-out camera seems vulnerable. Picture #3 seems to show quite a few abrasions around the edge of the 'spout', which seems to be soft aluminium, and the marks carry on to the lens cover, which I guess isn't Gorilla Glass? Since those marks will scatter parasitic light into the lens it will be more than just a cosmetic issue, although I suspect that on a £450 phone the cosmetic damage will be the greater issue to most owners.


April 5, 2012, 9:10 pm

Looking forward to seeing how this squares up to the Samsung Galaxy S3.

Lyndon Gray

April 6, 2012, 9:31 pm

Just received my htc one x. First impressions seem positive, the only software issue I've come across is that there seems to be some graphics banding on the left edge of the screen when scrolling to the right in google maps. It would be interesting to see if any other user or trusted reviews have this problem. I can't seem to recreate it anywhere else, though I haven't played any games on it as yet.


April 7, 2012, 8:36 am

Today, all phones on the market are the garbage. Where is that future? Around the corner or what? Until when?
We need flexi screens, lighter phones with long lasting batteries, more sofisticaded phones...
The future is now! Not tomorrow, not for decade. NOW!
To all manufacture companies: Go back to the drawing boards. Now.
Simple question: What I get better from the ex-generation? Simply put, NOTHING.
9/10, compare to what? Nokia 3210?
Evaluate again your criteria, from scratch.


April 9, 2012, 11:57 am

nokia lumia 800 is a "better looking phone"...WTH?
lumia 710 looks far better than 800...800 looks like a rectangular box!
man, u must be joking...and what do you mean by "A few silly ergonomics slip ups???"
i read your reviews for one reason,to have a good laugh!
you guys complain over every thing...remember,no phone is perfect!
image quality 7/10? and just underneath it you have mentioned "Excellent 8MP camera" and "Stunning HD screen"...based on what criteria have you given the rating? think before publishing a review about a product...this is not the first time i have seem trusted reviews post such silly reviews


April 10, 2012, 3:42 pm

although,the biggest joke is £459 dosn't surprise anyone.

guess we will never learn when it comes to smartphones.


April 11, 2012, 9:26 pm

I had a play with this handset in the local O2 shop and came away underwhelmed. Poor build quality and an average screen. I'll keep my HTC Desire thanks until the Galaxy S3 comes out.


April 19, 2012, 5:10 am

I happened across a thread saying that A2DP quality on the One X is pretty dire: http://forum.xda-developers.co...

This would matter quite a bit to me for music, and no doubt it would also matter to many people for hands-free calls in the car.


May 8, 2012, 3:31 pm

OK I have been using the One-x for a month now, and I can say on the whole its great. I will however say this, the screen coating scratches VERY easily, I now have many scratches on it with just normal in pocket use, no keys or other sharp objects. Very disapointed about this as the Desire it has replaced has lasted over 2 years with only a couple of very minor scratches. Not a fan of screen protectors as these things should be build to take this sort of thing! or whats the point in making it so thin to only bulk it back up with some naff looking protector.
Any how rant over, the rest of it is great.


May 13, 2012, 2:30 am

Got mine today and absolutely love it! Huge, huge upgrade over my 2,5 year old Nokia 5800.

Pros? Everything :) Screen is fantastic, sharp and more lifelike than AMOLED screens found in other top-end mobiles. Camera takes very good pictures. Android 4/Sense 4 combo much better than previous versions.

Cons? Speaker is not loud enough and it lacks oomph (compared to Nokia 5800's stereo speakers). Metal ring around camera lens sticks out and is prone to scratches. And I'll miss couple of games that are availible for Nokia at Ovi Store but are unavailible at Google Play (Bejeweled Twist, Gears).

Martin Daler

May 13, 2012, 1:56 pm

"only made out of plastic"?

Your perceptions of "quality" of metal over plastic are of course subjective (and shared by many). However, when you look at fitness for purpose, polycarbonate has many advantages over metal:

1) polycarbonate will absorb impacts without damage where metal metal will absorb the impact by denting
2) polycarbonate is thru-coloured so scratches are not so visible, metal usually has a surface finish which scratces through to reveal shiny metal underneath.
3) polycarbonate allows RF signals to pass, metal does not
4) polycarbonate is lighter than metal

Overall, polycarbonate would be my choice of material for a premium phone. Metal might have the shop-window benefit of 'perceived' quality, especially on day one when it is all shiny new, but polycarbonate is the better performer and will hold its looks better over time. I think the whole 'metal = quality' (and "heavy = quality") thing is a hangover from the days of literally 'cheap' poor quality plastic devices, but as high-end engineering polycarbonates start making their presence felt in premium products those associations hopefully will change.

If you want a dramatic example of polycarbonate's superior toughness and strength compared to metal, just go to the local vehicle scrapyard and see some crash damaged cars - the front end metal work will be all bent and twisted, but chances are the (polycarbonate) headlamps are still intact, even if they are hanging out by their wires.

comments powered by Disqus