Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / HTC One X / Calling, Contacts, Messaging and Internet

HTC One X - Calling, Contacts, Messaging and Internet

By Edward Chester



Our Score:


User Score:

HTC One X Calling and Contacts

A signature change that HTC makes to all its phones is the dialler/contacts interface. It integrates these into one interface, allowing you to start typing a number or name using the number pad, which then narrows down the list of contacts shown above. You can also just grab that list and start scrolling through it to find who you're looking for. It's a great system that we find beats almost any other for the speed and ease with which you can call up the person you want.

Once a contact is found you can also view their Facebook and Twitter updates and pictures, if you've linked them up – something that is generally done automatically but is otherwise easy to do manually.

Making a few test calls we found the HTC One X delivers good audio quality and we encountered no obvious issues with signal strength. There's a noise cancelling microphone to make sure your voice isn't drowned out by the train you're on and the earpiece loud and clear. The speaker on the back is nothing to write home about, but is above average.

HTC One X - Keyboard, Email and Messaging

Another regular feature of HTC phones is their rejigged keyboard, and so it is here. What sets it apart is that keys all show their secondary functions as small icons above the primary one. We're not really a fan, as the secondary functions are visually distracting, making for slower overall typing speed. What we do like, though, are the cursor keys along the bottom. These make it easy to pinpoint exactly where you want the cursor to go when typing.

HTC One X - Keyboard

Otherwise the typing experience is excellent as the extra width and height of the screen allows the keys to be much larger and easier to hit.

Both messaging and email throw up few innovations though both are mostly excellent as we'd expect. The only issue we encountered was with zooming in HTML emails. It appears the default view shows just a a small portion of any email, rather than a fully zoomed out overview. And while you can zoom in further to take an even closer look, you can't zoom out to get an overview. It is actually almost a deal breaker for us, as it makes viewing emails decidely awkward, though we're on the hunt to see if there's a setting we've missed somewhere before passing full judgement.

HTC One X - Web Browsing

HTC One X - Web Browser

Web browsing is almost an unqualified success but HTC has stuck its nose in again to the phone's detriment. The core browsing experience is sublime with fast downloading and rendering of even graphical rich web pages. You can also optionally turn on Flash support for the full web experience.

Zooming in, panning around and generally interacting with a website's content is faultless and with that screen it's a joy too. However, one tiny little change that HTC has made lets the experience down – it has moved the Tabs buttons off the URL bar at the top and put it into a menu. This one little thing makes web browsing that much more inconvenient. Somewhat making up for it is a Read button which loads an easy to read, ad free version of whatever site you're on.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Ben Cove

February 27, 2012, 1:29 pm

spelling mistake last paragraph second line "al" to "all"
Great review :)

iain coghill

February 27, 2012, 3:55 pm

It is fortunate that these top-end phones are likely so expensive - you need to empty your pockets of cash in order to fit the damn things in!


March 14, 2012, 2:26 pm

what a shame only made out of plastic should be the aluminium with mao finish for real premium feel and the extra strength to protect the high investment we would be making tech specs are impressive so lets hope the service providers don't mess up with their overlays as usually happens


April 3, 2012, 3:28 am

The review says the screen is "Stunning", however the Image Quality has been awarded 7/10... ?? I can't think of 3 greater adjectives above Stunning hehe...

Have the Design score and Image Quality score been confused?


April 3, 2012, 3:36 am

Also, if you were to review the White version, is it likely this would have received a Trusted Award?? To wait for the S3 or not :s


April 3, 2012, 1:54 pm

Our Image Quality score refers to the camera, not the screen.


April 3, 2012, 1:55 pm

Possibly, though there are a number of other issues.


April 3, 2012, 3:55 pm

Dang! I got the grey verion on order :( I hope its not too much of disapointment your suggesting the finish is! Cheers for the review. Fingers crossed my hands wont find the new clown-phone format too large!


April 3, 2012, 4:11 pm

you wouldnt think having to press the top button to get out of stand by woud be much of a deal breaker but ive honestly nearly smashed my old htc phone about a 100 times because of it,weird.


April 3, 2012, 4:19 pm

also you said it has the best camera on ANY smartphone then gave it a 7


April 3, 2012, 5:08 pm

Do I? Where? I certainly didn't mean to. It's an okay camera.


April 3, 2012, 6:18 pm

you waxed lyrical about the camera in the video review,among the best has to be taken as it is said.


April 3, 2012, 6:45 pm

to clarify...among the best i would expect a 9,then add in the HOST of extra features translates as hard to find better.although not THE best certainly more than a 7.

then again maybe your paid to wax lyrical.


April 4, 2012, 2:26 am

Ah yes, I see. In fairness, I say it's among the best out there, which it is. However, it's good because of its features, not image quality. I appreciate it's not entirely clear.

Martin Daler

April 4, 2012, 2:07 pm

Maybe review samples get more abuse (?), but even so that sticky-out camera seems vulnerable. Picture #3 seems to show quite a few abrasions around the edge of the 'spout', which seems to be soft aluminium, and the marks carry on to the lens cover, which I guess isn't Gorilla Glass? Since those marks will scatter parasitic light into the lens it will be more than just a cosmetic issue, although I suspect that on a £450 phone the cosmetic damage will be the greater issue to most owners.


April 5, 2012, 9:10 pm

Looking forward to seeing how this squares up to the Samsung Galaxy S3.

Lyndon Gray

April 6, 2012, 9:31 pm

Just received my htc one x. First impressions seem positive, the only software issue I've come across is that there seems to be some graphics banding on the left edge of the screen when scrolling to the right in google maps. It would be interesting to see if any other user or trusted reviews have this problem. I can't seem to recreate it anywhere else, though I haven't played any games on it as yet.


April 7, 2012, 8:36 am

Today, all phones on the market are the garbage. Where is that future? Around the corner or what? Until when?
We need flexi screens, lighter phones with long lasting batteries, more sofisticaded phones...
The future is now! Not tomorrow, not for decade. NOW!
To all manufacture companies: Go back to the drawing boards. Now.
Simple question: What I get better from the ex-generation? Simply put, NOTHING.
9/10, compare to what? Nokia 3210?
Evaluate again your criteria, from scratch.


April 9, 2012, 11:57 am

nokia lumia 800 is a "better looking phone"...WTH?
lumia 710 looks far better than 800...800 looks like a rectangular box!
man, u must be joking...and what do you mean by "A few silly ergonomics slip ups???"
i read your reviews for one reason,to have a good laugh!
you guys complain over every thing...remember,no phone is perfect!
image quality 7/10? and just underneath it you have mentioned "Excellent 8MP camera" and "Stunning HD screen"...based on what criteria have you given the rating? think before publishing a review about a product...this is not the first time i have seem trusted reviews post such silly reviews


April 10, 2012, 3:42 pm

although,the biggest joke is £459 dosn't surprise anyone.

guess we will never learn when it comes to smartphones.


April 11, 2012, 9:26 pm

I had a play with this handset in the local O2 shop and came away underwhelmed. Poor build quality and an average screen. I'll keep my HTC Desire thanks until the Galaxy S3 comes out.


April 19, 2012, 5:10 am

I happened across a thread saying that A2DP quality on the One X is pretty dire: http://forum.xda-developers.co...

This would matter quite a bit to me for music, and no doubt it would also matter to many people for hands-free calls in the car.


May 8, 2012, 3:31 pm

OK I have been using the One-x for a month now, and I can say on the whole its great. I will however say this, the screen coating scratches VERY easily, I now have many scratches on it with just normal in pocket use, no keys or other sharp objects. Very disapointed about this as the Desire it has replaced has lasted over 2 years with only a couple of very minor scratches. Not a fan of screen protectors as these things should be build to take this sort of thing! or whats the point in making it so thin to only bulk it back up with some naff looking protector.
Any how rant over, the rest of it is great.


May 13, 2012, 2:30 am

Got mine today and absolutely love it! Huge, huge upgrade over my 2,5 year old Nokia 5800.

Pros? Everything :) Screen is fantastic, sharp and more lifelike than AMOLED screens found in other top-end mobiles. Camera takes very good pictures. Android 4/Sense 4 combo much better than previous versions.

Cons? Speaker is not loud enough and it lacks oomph (compared to Nokia 5800's stereo speakers). Metal ring around camera lens sticks out and is prone to scratches. And I'll miss couple of games that are availible for Nokia at Ovi Store but are unavailible at Google Play (Bejeweled Twist, Gears).

Martin Daler

May 13, 2012, 1:56 pm

"only made out of plastic"?

Your perceptions of "quality" of metal over plastic are of course subjective (and shared by many). However, when you look at fitness for purpose, polycarbonate has many advantages over metal:

1) polycarbonate will absorb impacts without damage where metal metal will absorb the impact by denting
2) polycarbonate is thru-coloured so scratches are not so visible, metal usually has a surface finish which scratces through to reveal shiny metal underneath.
3) polycarbonate allows RF signals to pass, metal does not
4) polycarbonate is lighter than metal

Overall, polycarbonate would be my choice of material for a premium phone. Metal might have the shop-window benefit of 'perceived' quality, especially on day one when it is all shiny new, but polycarbonate is the better performer and will hold its looks better over time. I think the whole 'metal = quality' (and "heavy = quality") thing is a hangover from the days of literally 'cheap' poor quality plastic devices, but as high-end engineering polycarbonates start making their presence felt in premium products those associations hopefully will change.

If you want a dramatic example of polycarbonate's superior toughness and strength compared to metal, just go to the local vehicle scrapyard and see some crash damaged cars - the front end metal work will be all bent and twisted, but chances are the (polycarbonate) headlamps are still intact, even if they are hanging out by their wires.

comments powered by Disqus