Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / HTC Mozart / Interface, Music Playback and Camera

HTC Mozart - Interface, Music Playback and Camera

Niall Magennis

By Niall Magennis



Our Score:


User Score:

After the continued debacle of the Windows Mobile interface, few of us expected much from Windows Phone 7. However, Microsoft has actually created something that’s very different to what you get on other handsets, while also managing to make it supremely stylish and relative easy to get your head around. The Windows Phone interface may look a bit iffy in screenshots, but in use it’s a pleasant surprise as the live tiles on the home page work really well and you get some of the most beautiful graphical transitions between menus that have yet graced a phone. More importantly these transitions don’t feel like they’re getting in the way when you’re navigating around the handset. And despite the odd pause for thought here and there, it feels very slick and responsive on the Mozart.

Nevertheless, it’s still missing some key ingredients including cut and paste and multitasking. Also, the on-phone app store has a long way to go before it catches up with the sheer range and quality of apps available for the iPhone, but seeing as the Nokia/Microsoft love-in is, in part, about building a better ecosystem around Windows Phone 7 – of which apps will be key – the situation is likely to improve in the future.

We do, however, have a couple of other reservations about the phone. For example, the Mozart name would suggest that HTC sees this as a music phone. However, the problem is that the handset has only 8GB of storage built-in and unlike some competing Window Phone 7 models it doesn’t have a microSD card slot, so you can’t add extra storage space. While 8GB isn’t exactly a tiny amount of storage, it falls somewhat short of what we’d expect to get on a music oriented handset these days.

Furthermore, the headphones that HTC ships with the Mozart aren’t wonderful. They’re standard, hard plastic bud type cans rather than in-ear, sound-isolating ones like those Sony Ericsson supplies with its music phones. The headphones’ bass response isn’t too bad, but the treble is a bit harsh for our liking. Nevertheless, as the phone uses a standard 3.5mm jack you can easily swap them for your own preferred cans, although you will lose the hands-free functionality if you do.

HTC has added its sound enhancer app to the phone, which offers both Dolby Mobile and SRS Enhancement modes as well as more straightforward equaliser presets. Of these, the SRS Enhancement is probably the best as it adds a deeper feel to bass and creates extra width to the stereo image without managing to sound overly processed.

As for the camera, the Mozart's 8-megapixel one looks good on paper, especially since most other Windows Phone 7 handsets have 5-megapixel shooters. However, the pictures it produces are not quite as inspiring as you’d expect as they tend to look soft and colours can be muted. The Xenon flash does help when shooting indoor in low light, though. The camera can also shoot 720p HD video, but again the results are disappointing. The frame rate tends to bounce around a lot - dropping off when it’s working under low light - and the autofocus is a bit slack, often leaving you with sections of blurry looking footage.


Overall, the Mozart is a very likeable smartphone. It feels speedy to use, has a great screen and the Windows Phone 7 OS has a surprisingly charming user interface. However, it is quite expensive, and if you do buy it you’re going to have to wait not just until cut and paste and multitasking arrives, but also until the range of apps can challenge other platforms like iOS and Android.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut


February 23, 2011, 2:32 pm

I don't disagree with the bulk of your (brief) review but it does astonish me that WP7 reviews always seem to be defined in terms of what's missing compared to iOS/Android. There is rarely any emphasis on the features WP7 brings that are lacking in other systems or what WP7 just does better.

The social networking integration is fantastic, the media player (and Zune desktop software) are the best out there, the email/office experience is a pleasure to use, the Xbox live integration is a major plus, the picture gallery is super slick and lag free.

Then there are the more subtle niceties that make such a difference. A dedicated camera button that doesn't require you to unlock your phone before taking a picture. The ability to upload a picture to Facebook, Flickr or Skydrive immediately after taking it. Being able to pin an album, favourite FM radio station, map or directions to your home screen. The way apps can integrate into the hubs to provide an integrative experience. The 25GB Skydrive storage.

Yep, there are things missing but the pros far outweigh the cons for me. Other people will disagree but I do think reviews should present the whole picture and let people make their own minds up. If you don’t like it then that’s fine but WP7 tries to be more than just a dumb app launcher and deserves that acknowledgement.

Finally, you can get this phone from as low as £330 (inc VAT), which has to be a complete bargain.

Hamish Campbell

February 23, 2011, 4:49 pm

@jorig.. Sorry, the /sarcastic somehow got stripped off your post so didn't realise you were joking for a while there.


February 23, 2011, 6:58 pm

I'm sorry JohnH none of the features you mention seems like a killer to me and frankly small compared to the ones it lacks (the ones mentioned in the article, plus many more e.g no VPN, socket support for applications, etc)

Also while I take your word on the Zune experience being great on Windows (I have no idea) the recently released Mac Connector is paltry to the point of being a joke. Looks like something I could write over a weekend..


February 23, 2011, 8:12 pm

It's pretty clear that people have completely different needs from a phone hence the differing opinions. The features you say it lacks (VPN, socket support), neither of which mean anything to me incidentaly, are probably not ones that i'd describe as big issues, but for someone else they would be. Likewise the Social integration in WP7 while very good might be meaningless to others.

I think JohnHs point is basically that the reviews could give more credit where it's due particulary with regard to the social integration side of things and what it does well compared to android/apple seeing as the review does go into areas where it lacks.

But then again this isn't a review of WP7 it's a review of a handset!


February 23, 2011, 8:20 pm


To you perhaps they are not killer but how many users out there actually use VPN/socket support?

Windows Phone is targeted at those who would otherwise go for an iPhone. The features John H mentioned such as best in class media player, top notch social integration as well as the slick interface are huge pluses to those users.

As a tech-savvy consumer I agree android is where it's at but honestly windows phone 7 is still a contender in my book for the reasons John H mentioned.

But then I'm misleading all of you because what I really want is an HP Pre 3 + Touchpad.


February 23, 2011, 9:29 pm


I'd think most companies (even students at Unis) would require a VPN to get inside their network, access documents, intranet webpages? For a phone that claims so great office integration I'm completely shocked it doesn't have this already.

Application socket support is required so developers can create things like Skype or Fring, Instant Messaging applications, SSH clients, access corporate databases, network printing apps... anything that's not HTTP.

It's a never-ending list of applications that users need and simply can't be made at the moment until Microsoft lets people have this

(no promises yet).

You're really better served with the Pre, at least they've already done all these things years ago.

Tim Sutton

February 23, 2011, 9:44 pm


Could not agree with you more. WP7 does a lot of things far better than iOS or Android and is just so NICE to use. I genuinely enjoy playing with it.

If my next handset isn't running WP7 then there will have to be an extremely good reason. There's nothing at all wrong with my Desire/'Droid combo, but the OS just isn't as good.

Andy B

February 23, 2011, 10:18 pm

Can't comment on WP7, as I've never used it. I have a HTC Desire, and judging by the comments I have seen about pretty much all of their phones, they aren't learning - the cameras are disappointing on all models as far as I can tell. Unless this changes, my next phone won't be an HTC.

simon 17

February 24, 2011, 6:01 am

I have this phone and have to say for me it’s not that great!

Up to 2 days on one charge? What battery have you got because mine won’t go past a day?

Backing up the phone i.e. calls, texts etc.? You CAN’T only thing you can back up is music and photos Hmmmm maybe it’s just me but this is a phone not just ZUNE mp3 player.Or is it ? even the radio is shall we say POOR (no RDS)

Had a windows 6.1 HTC touch HD before this and with windows "my phone" could back up everything on the phone anywhere any time and restore it.

If you loose a windows 7 phone you have had it. But don’t worry they’ve got your music and photos covered.

and when they say it’s a windows my phone they mean it’s THEIR phone not yours cant use your music as ring tones, change the colour of the tiles can’t change the back ground behind the tiles either

Just my thoughts


February 24, 2011, 2:24 pm

@simon 282, I wasn't going to come back in on this but feel the need to keep it real:

- Sadly, a day on a charge is not unusual for smart phones in general.

- You're right about not backing up texts (not sure what you mean about calls). Hopefully MS will bring some MyPhone functionality to WP7 at some point, along with some Kin studio features too. Having said that, don't forget you can remotely map, lock and erase your phone if you loose it.

- OK, there are no custom ring tones but you can change the tile and background colour.


February 24, 2011, 6:44 pm

@Simon282 Yes, you can definitely change the tile and background colour. For OLED screens like the Omnia 7 it's best to leave the background black to save battery.

simon 17

February 24, 2011, 7:54 pm

@JohnHSorry, @mistrip

sorry I mean contacts not calls and the background can only be changed from black to white and not a picture of your choice

Yes you can lock your phone but you will loose al your contacts as it backs them up on to the sim card

Martin Daler

February 24, 2011, 8:25 pm

as someone who has not used any smartphone (I have a mobile, I use it for phone calls and texts), I would like to think that I could rely on TR reviews for an unbiased and disinterested review of the device.

For the end user it has to be benefits, not features per-se, which matter, and the trouble there, as several of the posts above attest, is that we each look for slightly different benefits. The skillful reviewer should impartially tease out all the major features of a device, suggesting what benefits these might afford, so that the diligent reader can come to an informed conclusion based on personal needs.


February 24, 2011, 9:23 pm

Main problems is WP7 is expensive at present (330 pounds for the cheapest WP7 is hardly a bargain) and due to its poor ad campaign, poorly taken. I have not seen one in the wild yet and I haven't even seen one in some phone shops yet. It's reliance on internal memory with no external storage is odd, considering the large memory you would expect camera pics/other photos/music (Zune + personal)/Video/apps can easily swallow up 8 and even 16gb without too much trouble these days. Microsoft vagueness with updates and problems with the ones that are available also don't make good publicity.

Personally speaking, it looks a OS as a concept that should have come at least 12 months before it actually did to give it a better chance against the competition.


February 24, 2011, 10:04 pm

@simon For contacts probably the best way to do it is set up a windows live account as it pulls them in from there. Not sure if it does the same with Yahoo or Gmail, but definitely works with Hotmail/Windows Live.

Mark Finn

July 8, 2011, 6:46 pm

Just bought this mobile phone as replacement for my blackberry (which gave me nothing but trouble ) Orange salesman assured me that it was the best option and information ie outlook address books etc could be easily transfered - After a day and half still cant be done - beware it looks as though this phone is suitable only for teenage gamesters
Interface and speeker etc are terrible - limited to microsoft systems only - I will be changing it ASAP

Jasmine Clackett

January 27, 2013, 9:04 pm

I have brought this phone for £15 a month with unlimited texts, 100 minutes and 100mb internet per month. This phone is brilliant. Fast, sleek and the feel is great. I have not had a problem with this phone so far and i have had it for around 1/2 a year. Setting up this phone was simple and easy. I have only used half the memory and i store lots of photos and texts on the phone for future use. I have never been happier with a phone and i definatly prefer wp7 to android. To sync i can use windows account, google, yahoo, facebook, twitter and lots more. The phone can be easily personnalized using colours, layout etc. Personally i love the sound and camera. I could not have got a better phone. Thanks phones4u.


March 21, 2013, 5:10 am

How to remove my Windows Live id. and password so that it can not be display my contact list?

Sudarshan Kasar

July 1, 2014, 8:15 am

does it have voip

comments powered by Disqus