Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / HTC 8S / Battery Life, Value and Verdict

HTC 8S - Battery Life, Value and Verdict

Andrew Williams

By Andrew Williams

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

HTC 8S – Connectivity

Next to the latest £500 phones, the HTC 8S offers fairly basic connectivity. There’s no 4G, no NFC and no FM radio. You do get Wi-Fi tethering, pretty snappy mobile internet, GPS and a 7GB chunk of free SkyDrive storage. This is Microsoft’s cloud storage solution, letting you upload photos and other files for retrieval later on a computer.

HTC 8S – Battery Life

The HTC 8S has a non-removable 1700mAh battery. This is a fairly standard capacity for a phone of this size, and in our experience Windows Phone has offered better power management than, say, Anrdroid.

HTC 8S 9

You’ll get a full day’s charge out of the phone, but moderate-to-heavy users are still some way off the smartphone Holy Grail of two-day use. As ever, switch off 3G and you’ll sail through two days easily enough.

HTC 8S – Value

Next to the other Windows Phone 8 handsets currently available, the HTC 8S looks like a bit of a bargain. It’s prettier than the comparably-priced Nokia Lumia 620, and also compares well with many rival Androids, especially in design terms.

However, it is significantly hamstrung by its limited internal memory, and while Windows Phone 8 is a joy to use in many respects, many of its old problems remain. App developer support is a problem, and that Windows Phone 8 has made this even worse when it’s not all that much different from Windows Phone 7 feels unnecessary. HTC 8S 10

Verdict

The HTC 8S is an attractive early entry to the world of the new Windows OS. It looks and feels great, and sells at a very reasonable price. It also has the power to make Windows Phone 8 as quick as it should be, aside from the occasional glitch. Look too close, though, and you’ll realise there are a few tasty bits you miss out on. 4GB of internal memory isn’t enough for the system to thrive on, there’s no user-facing camera and the lack of NFC will lock your out of some potentially exciting future developments in Windows Phone 8.

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Camera 6
  • Design 9
  • Features 7
  • Performance 8
  • Screen Quality 8
  • Usability 9
  • Value 8
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

beamerman

December 17, 2012, 7:22 pm

Have to say this is a really ugly looking phone. Much prefer the looks of the Lumia 620 as a budget competitor.

Nik

December 19, 2012, 5:31 pm

This was going to be an instant purchase for me but not allowing apps to be installed to the SD card has seriously crippled the device.

rasterized

March 31, 2013, 10:15 am

Oh, really? Lumia 620 looks like a toy, fat, so small and very curved.

Badal Mondal

May 17, 2013, 2:48 pm

I have purchased one HTC Windows phone 8S but unable to view my sd card's content. Contacted call centre and one Mr.Dhiraj said, unless you connect the phone to ur PC you can't find sd card's content. I want a symbol to first page of phone of SD card so that I can easily access/view the SD card's content. Any one can help me?

Arnab Banerji

June 5, 2013, 11:25 am

HTC 8s is perhaps the worst combination of software and hardware put together in an attractive but poorly designed package ever.

Software:
What can I say…windows has a history of making boring, unimaginative and the least user friendly operating systems since the dawn of desktop computing. For its mobile version, again I must say it is one of the prettiest OS on a hand held but also equally the least functional, the size of the OS is a massive 2GB?!!! On a phone that has 4GB (3.81 user space) of onboard space. To top it all it creates 1GB of files that you can’t remove and labels it, in true microsoft style, OTHERS. This leaves barely any space for any apps(I use Facebook, linked in, couple of games, Skype,)lyrics, dropshot apart from the bundled software that it came with)…with a strategy like that, no wonder they have the shittiest app store. Now with the new update out today, you have to reformat your phone to make 435mb of space to install it. I remember the days of android 1.6 where the ROM was a hardware limitation and one could only install softwares on the phone memory. A very frustrating experience that was thankfully rectified by an app by the name APP2SD freeing up precious space on you phone and liberating you from the tyranny of low memory space warnings. Microsoft, exercising better judgement has created its mobile software in the image (and size) of its desktop avatar….lazy buggers…incompetence and laziness, a winning combination when you target a product for the masses…after all that’s what we all are…

Hardware:
Gorilla glass prone to scratches and marks but this let down is nothing to the soft touch plastic finish…beware, this is not a finish as much as it is a coating, which has the following drawbacks:
It stains
It peels off…exposing shiny plastic underneath (blue, in my case)
It is the technological equivalent of Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy)…I hope they find a cure to that soon…
All in all, its the worst smartphone experience ever…it has the technology of the now but designed to perform a decade older…Usually one learns from others mistakes, things evolve and new technology should better if not match the current paradigm. Microsoft has decided that it will make the same journey of evolution that other OS’s did to reach some semblance of usable which, judging by its efforts so far, can be a while.
Currently the OS is still a monkey.

Ben Ta

August 15, 2013, 9:53 am

Wow, exactly the same review, word for word, in Techradar by the name “iamarnab”. Who are you “Arnab Banerji” or “iamarnab”. Just questioning your review Authenticity.

Mike Goodman

August 15, 2013, 11:15 am

I would imagine that they are the same person.
iamarnab = I am Arnab (Banerji)

RIck D

October 21, 2013, 12:08 am

If you are expecting to have a HTC experience in a W8 phone think again and look for your options somewhere else.
Just wondering if the people from the very ubiquitous Iphone were able to design, develop and launch a phone by themselves, why a software giant like MS didnt venture

to develop, design and launch a Wphone on their own brand and had to leech-attach to well established brands to cover their needs.
The genius that had the idea to have a project with HTC and NOKIA and accept a very sub-developed software (yes, taking more than 2gigs of of the 4gigs available, my phone has currently only 68mbs available and I have nothing stored in the phone only in the memory card, the rest is full with updates and stuff from MS).

CONS

The cam 5MP doesn't keep up with most of today's cameras capabilities in the market.
No frontal cam means no Skype or any other Cam chat app.
Beats Audio feature won't work with bluetooth?
For quicker reference, Settings System should have been in abc order, randomly arranged doesn't help in efficiency or quick access.
There's no a quick save new number, FIVE to SIX steps to save a contact.
You CAN NOT block a unwanted caller, no options.
Browser is total failure, designed by a person with little or negligible internet browsing experience, (it's like they say to someone in the street "hey you bro, do you want to get $50 for one day with us pretending to work in software developing?") NO BACK<-- or FORWARD--> buttons, that is purely genius (if that would be day one of the company in the computer business).
There are more things to list that need to be improved but I have more valuable things to do that pay too much attention to this thing.
You CAN NOT edit the dictionary, just adding new words every time but you CAN NOT delete them.

PROS
The Multi-language input and the Japanese full keyboard is a nice feature.
The white little packing box where it came in is quite pretty.

Claudia

January 15, 2014, 10:50 pm

My son bought me one of these, from day one, I had trouble turning it off, it would just turn itself back on. Of course, the inevitable happened, it turned it off or so I thought next morning the battery was completely dead and it cannot be recharged at all. Is there a battery which can be replaced? if so, where can I get one. Anyone have any ideas?

comments powered by Disqus