Summary

Our Score

9/10

Review Price free/subscription

Previous page
Next page

Ninjakettle

June 18, 2009, 2:58 pm

Nice bit of kit - I'll never buy HP again though after being one of the thousands of DV2000 series owners affected by the Nvidia solder problem (Laptops all started dying after approx 1.5 years). HP have lost a lot of loyal customers over the handling of that issue and i reckon regardless of how pimped their offerings are out of the box, in my opinion HP now have a questionable customer support record which should be taken into account when buying.

morsch

June 18, 2009, 4:18 pm

Looks ridiculous.

ilovethemonkeyhead

June 18, 2009, 4:21 pm

their last 13 inch (dv3500, which i have away at repairs) had horrid creaking issues over the right palm rest. and the viewing angles on the LED screen were... poor.

Duffman!!!

June 18, 2009, 7:26 pm

@Ninjakettle





I will never go for HP again either. Horrible customers service!!! Seems they do not want loyal customers. I keep to Lenovo and Samsung from now on...

Ohmz

June 18, 2009, 7:46 pm

I find it interesting that so many people are complaining about HPs' customer service. I used to work for them in fact, and I can sympathize! It was pretty bad, but let's not kid ourselves, they're all the same in the end.

ffrankmccaffery

June 19, 2009, 3:17 am

i dont know about the overall issues mentioned above since i dont own one myself (thinkpad x31 if your wondering) but i was fixing a friends hp (dv5)the other day and the damn thing lights up like the blackpool iluminations

Per

June 20, 2009, 7:54 pm

@Andy


Thanks for great reviews! We are looking at HP dv3 2055 and Samsung Q320 for my teenage son. He wants to do some occasional gaming but not necessarily the very latest ones. Both have the same graphics card but the HP have 512mb of dedicated memory. Will that make any difference in performance when playing?

panterarosso

June 22, 2009, 6:09 pm

i actualy saw one of these "espresso" color machines in the store. Think glare on the screen is irritating? wait till you have to sit at a silly angle in order to be able to see the letters on the keys.... Who ever thought of this one is more a fashiondesigner than a laptop user

Phlebas

October 11, 2009, 6:45 pm

Quality review, after looking around at the equivalent rigs (Acer Timelines and Aspires) I'm looking at getting the dv3-2130ea. From what I can tell the only difference is no fingerprint reader for £40 cheaper. Anyone know otherwise?

gareth jones

March 9, 2010, 9:35 pm

I had a samsung cinema home kit £1K!! and completed one of their updates which then made half my Blurays not work.. as it was just over a year they said I had to fit the bill!! after THEIR updates... so think it is not just HP that are poor at long term customer service

comments powered by Disqus