HP LP2475w - 24in H-IPS LCD Monitor - OSD & Controls

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

10

User Score:

As you'd expect considering its supposed professional focus, the LP2475w's buttons are plainly visible and labelled at the monitor's front. It's a pity HP didn't make the OSD and button combination similar to the brilliant context-sensitive system used on its DreamColor LP2480zx (review coming soon), but then that's a monitor demanding close to £2,000.

Compared to implementations on monitors available to us mere mortals, the LP2475w's buttons and menus are very usable. Between the power button and controls is a tiny green (orange in stand-by) power indicator. Despite its size it's very bright, but though it can't be dimmed it can be turned off altogether.

Control buttons are divided into two sets separated by a small section of bezel, one dedicated to input selection and the other housing the menu controls and shortcuts. The input set consists of 'scan' and 'Quick Select'; the former scanning for active inputs, the latter allowing you to select one manually from a list or switch to the next active one depending on how it's set up in the dedicated 'Video Input' menu.

Unfortunately, the rest of the controls aren't quite as intuitive. From left to right the four buttons are menu/select, minus/auto, plus/reset and PiP/PoP (Picture-In-Picture/Picture-Outside-Picture). Our first objection is to the usefulness of the shortcuts. Having a dedicated 'auto' shortcut on a display that doesn't even feature a VGA input seems unnecessary, while a shortcut to a full factory reset is just completely illogical. Brightness or preset settings would have made far more sense here.

Our other complaint concerns menu navigation. With PiP/PoP being limited to analogue non-VGA sources its uses in this increasingly digital-only world are limited. Not to say that it shouldn't have had a dedicated button, but at least HP could have given it a dual function to act as a back/previous button in the OSD.

As is, in a system similar to the Dell 2408WFP, you're only left with one function button in addition to the minus/down and plus/up buttons to navigate with, which ends up being unnecessarily awkward. Aside from this quibble, though, menus are clear and logically laid out, if a bit industrial compared to the more colourful efforts seen on some rival manufacturers' displays. The amount of information given is quite extensive, even going so far as to include the number of backlight hours.

Hamish Campbell

March 27, 2009, 12:17 pm

I just don't get why you'd make such a great screen, then dress it up like the old screens you see at hospital reception desks.

Ed

March 27, 2009, 1:11 pm

It is quite dowdy isn't it. Still, making it look fancy would have just added more cost and I know which I'd rather have.

Isaac Sarayiah

March 27, 2009, 1:37 pm

I am beginning to doubt the reviews on this website. I have read several reviews regarding this monitor and there are several problems with it including a green tinge and poor image quality out of the box unless it is calibrated. The reviewer mentions nothing of this.

Jmac

March 27, 2009, 1:52 pm

I don't mind the design - it looks industrial and functional. The bezel is quite slim, and there is no unnecessary fuss. Looks like quite an astonishing bargain if the image quality is as good as you say.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 2:18 pm

@haim: LOL.


It actually looks better in real life than in the pictures, really it does.


And don't forget the market this thing is supposedly (despite its AV connectivity) aimed at: professionals and businesses. Still, it could have done with a splash of the Dell 2408's styling.

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 2:26 pm

@Isaac: Would you care to elaborate? Perhaps we've been reading different reviews, but most of the one's I've seen agree it's a very good monitor.

stephenallred

March 27, 2009, 3:17 pm

I've been waiting for a 24" H-IPS panel based screen for a while now. Having bought 3 S-PVA 24" screens and sending them all back thanks to funky pink ghosting across large parts of the screen I would never buy an S-PVA based panel again.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 3:55 pm

@Stephen Allred: Wow, that's tough luck! I haven't come across the phenomenon you describe myself with PVA, but either way looks like HP has the answer for you :)

LinguisticPedant

March 27, 2009, 4:39 pm

I purchased this monitor in January and it is a fantastic bargain. My brother has the Benq FP241wz and we sat them side by side. The Benq being a great monitor on its own, this HP takes it to the next level. The colour reproduction and response time is excellent. I'm glad I bit the bullet with this one. As a graphic designer and avid gamer, colour fidelity is paramount to me. Playing Crysis at 1920x1200 at the highest settings are truly breathtaking on this beast. I would expect this kind of performance from monitors that are twice the price.





Great review.

Georgi Chelebiev

March 27, 2009, 4:43 pm

At last- a display that suits me. It has everything that I need and even its design works for me; I hate the reflections of the glossy finish from my current Acer(not to mention the poor image quality).

Isaac Sarayiah

March 27, 2009, 5:27 pm

Here is one of the reviews:


http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/re...


Also read user comments on Amazon regarding this monitor.

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 5:54 pm

@Isaac: Okay, but I still don't see how this makes our review bad or inaccurate. As TFT Central pointed out in the conclusion:





"If you want a 24" monitor, this is a hard one to beat in my opinion. Given the extreme lack of IPS in this sector, HP are probably on to a winner here."





Yes, it did note some issues with the calibration out of the box, but show me a monitor that doesn't? Moreover, you've got to take into account a level of manufacturing variability - it's rare that any one monitor is exactly the same.





As for the Amazon reviews, the same arguments apply. Clearly a few people there have got duds, but 90% of the reviews are overwhelmingly positive.

Ed

March 27, 2009, 6:05 pm

Just read that review you linked to, Isaac. The reviewer mentions relatively poor colour accuracy out the box but regularly qualifies this as only being a problem for colour accurate work. At no point does he particularly say it's a problem for general use and in every other respect he says it's very good. I quote "If you want a 24" monitor, this is a hard one to beat in my opinion. Given the extreme lack of IPS in this sector, HP are probably on to a winner here."

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 6:08 pm

Heh, great minds thinking alike there...we really need some time stamps on these comments.

Ohmz

March 27, 2009, 6:11 pm

"Heh, great minds thinking alike there...we really need some time stamps on these comments."





Don't you guys work near each other or something? Or at least close enough so you guys can collaborate before you respond to someone so these kinds of things don't happen?





Just wondering what the office situation is like.












xenos

March 27, 2009, 6:11 pm

Good panel but why the AWFUL casing and stand?





Plus you dont mention the BenQ FP241W as a competitor, as you can currently get it for about 𧷸 i think it definitely comes into the equation even though this is a good price for a panel of this spec.





The only other thing I can say is, its an HP wheres the catch and what will break first? :-P

Ohmz

March 27, 2009, 6:33 pm

Where the hell did all that space come from?

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 7:01 pm

@Ohmz: We *are* in the same office, but Ed just happened to start composing his reply right after I'd published mine, so he didn't see it. We chuckled.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 7:04 pm

@LinguisticPedant: Glad you like the review. I would have bought this HP monitor (as you can probably tell from my Xmas Wish List) but already purchased the NEC LCD24WMGX3 a while ago. Not sure I made the right choice, though I have used that remote a lot ;)





@xenos: As to the BenQ FP241W, see LinguisticPedant's comment :)


As to your comment about HP, have you had bad experiences with one of the company's products? We generally find them to be stylish (yes, this monitor somewhat excepted, though as I've said before it looks better in real life) and well-made.

Renoir

March 27, 2009, 7:06 pm

I was under the impression that using a wide colour gamut monitor in applications that cannot be colour managed, makes the image suffer from over-saturation. I'm asking since you are recommending it for console gaming which, as far as I know, cannot be colour managed. Is the over-saturation just something you get used to, or is it like input lag, some notice and some don't?

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 7:16 pm

This is true, though you can manually tune colours using the monitors settings. Moreover, in gaming, some level over-saturation isn't such a problem. Gaming just isn't colour sensitive enough for it to matter imho and when one talks about over-saturation, we're not talking radioactive levels here. Some people may disagree.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 7:38 pm

@Renoir: Personally I didn't feel colours were particularly off or over-saturated during non-computer use after some calibration. Like Andy said, you can set up the HP with a muted palette for things like console gaming and use the provided software to revert back to your preferred settings for computer imaging use. Though this *is* one of those scenarios where hardware presets (which the HP LP2475w doesn't, as far as I'm aware, offer) would have been welcome.

Chocoa

March 27, 2009, 7:49 pm

Well, in for a penny in for a pound....





Poor colour calibration out of the box? - Calibrate it, don't be lazy! I try to get the best out of any monitor and don't understand why anyone would not want to pro or gamer.





Styling a problem? Surely any style is transitory and 'of the moment'. I would imagine that the working life of this panel will be longer than the current vogue of piano black - retain every finger mark style. I would far prefer a good panel than celebrity styling!

xenos

March 27, 2009, 8:00 pm

Well I still got myself a bargain, I'm happy :-)





HP products, generally they used to be fantastic, but in recent years its my opinion that build quality has suffered. Im talking generally about printers and my friends ancient HP laser (10 years plus) that still chugs along just fine, I have had a particular officejet apart in pieces about 5 times, the ink head cleaning bay mechanism broke several times rendering the whole printer useless. I ended up glueing the screws in place as the plastic holes decided they had enough. Since then its worked perfectly..





Also I have an HP laptop that I won in a competition, its no cheapy either! The C key has been crunchy from the start only working if you push it on the right most side. It also has a sliding volume touch button that likes to move itself constantly if the laptop is in performance mode once its hot, or if its placed on a non uniform surface in any power mode; it makes an infuriating tapping noise constantly because of it and none of the other touch buttons around it work until its cooled down. I have a question actually, would you guys RMA it?





Other than that no bad experiences... :-)

xenos

March 27, 2009, 8:04 pm

@Chocoa - I think people mean more that the stand looks cheap more than anything else. Styling isn't that important yes, but it should reflect the products quality, ie. that of the screen.

comments powered by Disqus