Home / Computing / Printer / HP Envy 4500

HP Envy 4500 review

By

Updated:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR

1 of 6

HP Envy 4500
  • HP Envy 4500
  • HP Envy 4500 - Display
  • HP Envy 4500 - Open
  • HP Envy 4500 - Cartridges
  • HP Envy 4500 - Feature Table
  • HP Envy 4500 - Print Speeds and Costs

Summary

Our Score:

9

User Score:

Pros

  • XL cartridges available
  • Excellent draft print
  • Low purchase price

Cons

  • Tri-colour cartridge can lead to wastage
  • Photo image position problem
  • High page costs

Best Deals for HP Envy 4500

  • amazon
  • Compare prices
  • ebay

Key Features

  • Duplex print
  • ePrint, Wireless Direct and AirPrint
  • LCD display
  • Low-profile design
  • HP Printable themed downloads
  • Manufacturer: HP
  • Review Price: £49.00

What is the HP Envy 4500?

When HP introduced its Envy all-in-ones, they were very much lifestyle printers, designed to look good in living rooms, with their low-profile, automated trays and glass tops.

The company has now moved part of the concept to its entry level machines and produced the Envy 4500, still geared towards mobile devices and leisure printing, but at much lower cost.

HP Envy 4500 - Design and Features

The HP Envy 4500 is a low-profile black box, a bit taller than the Envy 120, but more discreet than its main sub-£50 competitors. It does this by using a similar, two-cartridge print engine, with black and a tri-colour cartridges. This makes the machine easier to maintain, but can result in ink wastage, if you print a lot of one colour.

HP Envy 4500

The 1,200ppi flatbed scanner has no Automatic Document Feed (ADF), which you wouldn’t expect on this class of machine, but the lid is substantial and avoids the fingerprint-hungry, high-gloss finish of earlier models.

The control panel, on a steeply raked facia at the front, has a 50mm LCD display set into it. This is unusual in an entry-level all-in-one, but HP has economised by using a mono LCD. This isn’t as restricting as it might seem. Although you can’t view thumbnails of photos, the printer has no card or USB slots, so there’s little call for any.

HP Envy 4500 - Display

The front panel folds down and becomes both feed and output tray, using a swing-out and fold-up support in the front edge of the tray – a very similar idea to Canon’s FastFront. Here, though, the tray pulls out for easier paper loading. It can take A4 sheets and photo paper down to 15 x 10cm.

Hinging up the top scanner section gives good access to the twin cartridges, which slide forward into their holder and are held in place by two flip-over levers.

At the back is a single USB socket, but most people will connect via wireless, as this gives access to Wireless Direct print from mobile devices, including both Android and iOS via AirPrint. You can also download HP’s Printable pages, most of which are colouring and join-the-dots-style amusements for you or your kids.

Best Deals for HP Envy 4500

  • amazon
  • Compare prices
  • ebay

londoncalling

February 16, 2014, 8:54 pm

It seems to cost about a third more than the review price. Which retailers are selling it for £49.99?

Prem Desai

February 17, 2014, 9:12 am

Really confused by this printer.

HP have enough budget devices out there already and envy is their premium moniker.

So is this their premium budget offering?

Sandyboss

March 16, 2014, 4:23 pm

Amazon. Post free.

KRMorben

May 16, 2014, 6:49 pm

Argos - May 2014 (Probably double next week, then half price the week after).

jagurus

October 8, 2014, 1:34 pm

Staples have it on offer for 49.99 as of now.

Ron

December 9, 2014, 5:35 pm

My HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One goes to sleep, then turns off. I can't turn it on with the On/Off button, I have to unplug the machine. what am I doing wrong?

ree

December 15, 2014, 7:20 pm

Staples in Swindon was £69.99, John Lewis was £49.99

jagurus

December 17, 2014, 3:22 pm

Yeah I decided to get the Envy 5530 on Black Friday for £49.99 instead, much better printer than the 4500.

Bob

February 23, 2015, 6:23 am

print and scan quality is fine. but prepare to troubleshoot this device everytime you want to use it. It is constantly offline, just google "HP ENVY 4500 offline" and you will get 100s of hits of people with the same problem. they have not released a fix yet.

The HP support page will recommend you to download the HP Scan doctor, which will scan your computer and "auto fix" your problems. After scanning it will claim that your device is now online, and they fixed your issue. Meanwhile the device is still offline.

Using the HP Scan doctor's "uninstall and reinstall" option to fix this problem will have the program uninstall all the drivers on your computer, restart your computer, then do nothing. So now you have to download and reinstall drivers manually.

Be prepared to do this every few days you want to use HP ENVY 4500 once it goes offline, its gone forever. Other than that though, the scan and print quality is great for the price.

mo15

July 20, 2015, 9:26 pm

The Most Horrible Printer I Have Ever Had To Work With!!!!!!!! 90 % of the time I have to work on it to get it to even work!

Te new Guy

August 20, 2015, 5:21 pm

Took It back. Very bad printer. Was charged for pages that were not printed correctly. When i tried to print off my computer it missed have the stuff i wanted printed. They also were keeping tabs on the pages i was printing. I used to love HP. I now think I will never buy from these people again. This printer was very slow.

rman17

December 5, 2015, 3:07 pm

Greatest printer I have ever had...bought 3 and none of them have gave me any problems. The wireless feature is great!

Laszlo Miko

December 6, 2015, 2:29 pm

I curse the day i bought this printer..If i am lucky enough to get the printer to feed the hp photo paper in than it will be miss aligned, or photo will be printed from half way(missing the top of the picture) shall i continue??? Its perfect if you have a lot of space in your bin and needs to be filled with something...as a printer??? a massive NOOOO. they tricked me into buying this with the hp instant ink... bare in mind that 75% of your pages will be used to try to get a decent picture... I never ever in my whole life had to use 25 pages to get a decent photo out of them,...Waste of money... instead of buying this piece of garbage you rather throw the money out the window, will save you going to shops

Peggy Alcorn

December 12, 2015, 11:54 pm

I had a HP Envy 114c for years. I loved it, and it performed well. When it finally bit the dust, I purchased a HP 4500. I rue that day. So far it has not performed a single function without a two hour session with HP service. This is a terrible example of what we are capable of doing! And, as usual, HP has no problem at all with changing the end date of your warranty to avoid free service! I will be returning it pronto and buying a printer that works as advertised. Grade E - Not excellent, remember school.

Peggy Alcorn

December 12, 2015, 11:57 pm

I cancelled HP instant ink on the first day. It took hours, but an HP tech finally got it to print ONE page. It was a status page and it showed 18 pages printed. Never trust anything from HP!

Peggy Alcorn

December 12, 2015, 11:57 pm

Do you work for HP????

Rick Harris

January 12, 2016, 7:03 am

After trying Canon Pixma competitor and finding it a disaster (wifi link totally unstable), I've had no such problems with this. It's been very reliable, easy to use, and quiet printing too.
The only slight gripe is that it's quite ink-hungry, but I don't tend to print much as it's a 2nd printer for me, so not bothered really.
Despite the many negative comments below, if you are a Mac user, or iPad owner, this is a good choice vs Canon.

Teri Buck

July 20, 2016, 9:16 pm

I hate this 4500. It worked pretty well gor the first 3 weeks, but now all of a sudden, every time I want to use it, I have to delete then reload the printer...ARE YOU SERIOUS?????????? Enough is enough and I am head to the store, 90 miles away, just to get a different printer. So disappointed HP, so disappointed.

comments powered by Disqus