HP Deskjet 2540 specs

By Simon Williams

Reviewed:

Key Features

  • ePrint, AirPrint and Wireless Direct
  • Standard and high yield cartridges
  • Fast wireless connection
  • Scan to mobile device
  • Compact dimensions
  • Manufacturer: HP
  • Review Price: £47.00
specs
Quick Glance
Type Inkjet
Paper Size A4
Colour Yes
Fax No
Copier Yes
Scanner Yes
Physical Specifications
Height 252
Width 425
Depth 552
Weight 3.6kg
Functions
Scanner Yes
Copier Yes
Fax No
Printing
Type Inkjet
Duplex No
Print Resolution (enhanced) 4800 x 1200dpi
Paper Size A4
Sheet Capacity 60 sheet tray
Max Paper Weight 300g/sm
Colour Yes
Rated Black Speed 7ipm
Rated Colour Speed 4ipm
Number of Catridges 4
Print Without PC Yes
Scanning
Scan Resolution 600 x 300ipm
Features
Connection Type USB
Card slot None
Networking Yes
Extra Features ePrint, Wireless Direct, AirPrint

justme

November 15, 2013, 2:04 am

Does it print good quality photos?

Heidi Marie

January 12, 2014, 10:53 pm

How does it do printing card stock or half sheets? My current printer (also an HP) jams the paper and marks it. I'm wondering if it's the difference between the type of paper feeders.

Anna Ulloa

January 21, 2014, 5:55 pm

It works great and simple to install.

Jack

January 30, 2014, 3:29 pm

is it compatible with mac?

dodo

March 7, 2014, 10:35 am

supplied with a 2-pin socket - really?

Dennis Bird

April 18, 2014, 1:44 am

This is an amazing printer.
I run linux, and I had this baby up and running wirelessly within fifteen minuites.
Cudos to HP for providing a well functioning shell script which is nearly universal to all modern linux/unix systems.

Cant stress enough how important open source drivers from the manufacturer can be.

Thank You,
Thank You,
Thank You,

D. Bird - Ontario, Canada

Paul Smith

July 9, 2014, 3:07 pm

Don't buy this printer if you want to copy A4 pages.
Printing & scanning are fine, but when copying an A4 sheet the bottom 1.5cm is not copied. Issue discussed with HP but they don't give a damn. They admit that the unit is not capable of copying a full A4 sheet (as advertised) and that is the way that it is designed but will not replace it with a unit that is capable. Returned unit to shop as not not fit for purpose. HP customer support is exceptionally poor.

Tom Weaver

September 2, 2014, 3:24 pm

This is a fantastic printer. I had an HP 6100 before which was rubbish but this is so easy to setup and use. Easy HP best printer in this price range. I'm well chuffed and in ref to the previous review, you could always scan a document to your lappy and then print it if you can't get the bottom 1.5cm using photocopy.

Kev Landry

November 1, 2015, 5:17 pm

This is pretty much exactly the same as my problem with this cheap printer HP support is horrible! (at least I think it is, they never responded) Printer is NOT one you want for A4 pics. I will NEVER purchase from HP again!

anthony amos

November 1, 2015, 7:29 pm

i found when i wanted to scan a doc and come to save it i found that it was not possible to save as a wrd doc

Datch

February 15, 2016, 7:34 pm

I don't understand why you list something exotic like NFC as a con, but not the single colour cartridge.

comments powered by Disqus