Home / Mobile / Mobile App / GymPact

GymPact review

Niall Magennis



1 of 5

  • GymPact
  • GymPact
  • GymPact
  • GymPact
  • GymPact


Our Score:


GymPact is an iOS and Android app that aims to get you exercising on a more regular basis by paying you when you workout and penalising you when you don't.

It's the brainchild of two Harvard students who took some concepts from behavioural economics – mainly the idea that people are motivated more by not losing money than just by earning it – and applied it to fitness.


With Gympact you make a pact every week that involves committing to exercise on one or more days per week and agree to be fined between $5 and $50 if you don't reach your goal. At the end of the week, if you've completed your agreed number of workouts you're rewarded from the pot of money collected from those who didn’t make their goal. The rewards, however, are only between $0.50 and $0.75 per workout.

You log your visits to the gym by checking in using GPS, much like Foursquare, or alternatively by sharing data from the free Runkeeper app. If you're checking in at a gym you can only check in for one work out per day and each workout session must last for a minimum of 30 minutes. If you chose running instead, runs have to be over half a mille in length and last for over 30 minutes at a pace of over two miles per hour.

GymPact 1

Whether the app really helps motivate you will depend a lot on your own personality. For some it'll work well, but we didn’t find it all that motivating. Perhaps because we exercise regularly anyway and therefore the rewards are quite small and hardly worth the hassle of using the app.

Also the difference between the heavy fines for not reaching your goals versus the light rewards when you do made the whole system feel like it wanted you to fail to make the owners richer!

GymPact 2

Although we didn't have any problems with it recognising our workouts from Runkeeper, there are a lot of negative reviews on the Play store for the Android version with people experiencing problems and complaining of poor customer service.

Gympact Verdict

GymPact may provide some with the motivation they need to stick with their fitness regime, but the high penalties for skipping session versus the meagre rewards for achieving your goals make it feel like a bit of a swizz.

Overall Score


Colleen H

March 23, 2013, 3:50 am

Love this app, it motivates me to get out of the house so much more!
Use code: flexiColle when you sign up and get a 5$ joining bonus!!!

Scott Futrell

April 26, 2013, 4:53 am

Used your code and sure enough, five bucks. Thanks.

Courtney S

April 30, 2013, 6:34 pm

This is the worst app every. It is fraud. They falsely advertise that you will receive payment for days you work out, but the only thing they do is steal money when you miss days. I have met my contract for 2 weeks now, and have yet to see a dime. But I do see money taken from my account. DO NOT GET THIS APP!!

Oz D

May 10, 2013, 2:37 am

I totally agree with Courtney.. This App is a FRAUD.. Never checks in and never pays back but they will steal your money..

Howie Isaacks

May 11, 2013, 2:59 pm

I’ve been using GymPact for over a year. It’s a great motivator, and I have never missed a workout because of it. As a result, I’ve lost about 30 pounds. I work out 5 days a week with no exceptions. All this being said, this app is very flawed. It worked great up until August of last year, but when they started larding up the app with extra features, and changing the interface, it started canceling my workouts while I am still at the gym. Only after lots of complaining and nagging do they finally wake up and correct the canceled workouts. The delay that always follows my bug reports means that I can’t trust them to respond before the pact is supposed to end. We can’t trust these people with our credit card numbers since they may allow the problem to fester long enough for the pact to end, which means that we will get charged for missing a workout when we really didn’t miss one. Also, the payouts each week have been tiny over the last few months. I used to get $2-3/week. Now it’s only a dollar or so. I commit to 5 days a week with $20 per missed day on the line. That apparently doesn’t matter. You could commit to 7 days a week with only a dollar on the line and you would get the same amount. After all of this, I have actually earned about $140, but I would expect that to me more after over 280 total workouts. This app is a great idea, but its execution is inept, and bug reports get ignored for days. This is why I will soon be canceling my membership.

Mark Cardillo

June 4, 2013, 3:27 pm

I cancelled my gympact membership 6 months ago. It was too difficult trying to email in and get my workouts corrected especially using runkeeper for many of them. It wasn't bad, I just didn't have the time. BUT THEN...last week...I get a $150.00 charge to my debit card! Couldn't believe it! I probably would have missed it if I wasn't searching through my account for an amount I needed from a different purchase. I've emailed them 3x in the last 5 days...I've heard nothing. What a joke! Stay away!

Justine Lamers

August 1, 2013, 2:26 pm

I used gym pact briefly. It was a hassle so i deleted my account. To date it said it was deleted on the 22nd of July as of today i was charged $75 for missed workouts...today is August 1st....uhm...harder than hell to get a hold of anyone and have to just wait around for an answer by email.


September 19, 2013, 8:11 pm

I have been with GymPact for almost 6 months and for most of the time, I've had issues with RunKeeper synching and typically when I emailed, I would get a response. Lately, the service has nothing but AWFUL and no matter how many emails I sent, I didn't get a response or would get the generic one stating my exact email. I am deleting my account next week because I'm sick of it. I haven't missed ONE workout since April so I'm probably not a priority since I am not generating them money.


September 22, 2013, 3:38 pm

The customer service for this app is non-existent. I have been charged over $100 after deleting the app due to the same problems others are having in the comments section. These people are crooks. Steer clear.


September 26, 2013, 12:26 am

I've been with gym pact for over a year now and was happy with it until now. I have been trying to cash out for weeks. It always says server not available. Emails are never answered. The video for cashing out says no video exist. I think Geoff is one great con artist. I'd love to hear if anyone has actually gotten their money. Guess we are all just screwed and the boys from Harvard are laughing all the way into our banks!!!


September 29, 2013, 8:03 am

I have completed 2 weeks and have had nothing go into my account. The first week I joined was a Thursday thinking that was the start of my first week, no chance! That Sunday morning money was taken from my account. I have emailed them several times and have had no response


March 3, 2016, 2:00 pm

This app is a great concept but has terrible customer service. They claim that if you report a problem with your pact for the week you will not be charged until the issue is resolved. What they don't tell you is that their customer service response takes over a week and until they view your issue you will automatically be charged and you will then have to hound them for refund with lawsuit-like proof and evidence of your issue for a refund when according to their app you shouldn't have been charged in the first place.

comments powered by Disqus