Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder pictures

1 of 7 pictures

Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder
Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder

7 Pictures - Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder

  • Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder
  • Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder
  • Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder
  • Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder
  • Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder
  • Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder
  • Grundig GUFSDTR500HD Freesat+ HD Recorder

Mike

January 8, 2010, 7:29 pm

This is good news for the consumer market, as you say competition is always good for us as it tends to push prices down. However, I don't think Humax are sitting on their laurels though. I know they are due to be launching two second generation Freesat HD+ recorders, one with USB 2.O connection to enable a hook up to an external HDD and the other with an internal 500 GB HDD this year along with another model for Freeview ( I digress slightly!). What I'm a little confused about though is whether the new Humax mobels will all come with 1080P line input? I'm aware the Freeview model is supposed to be but not sure as yet about the Freesat one? I'm hoping that as long as the new model performs as well as the original Foxsat HDR including the later software upgrade to sort out it's teething problems, I think Grunding are definately going to get some severe competition from Humax, especially if the Freesat+ comes with 1080P!I would definately love to see companies, the likes of Sony start pushing something like this as well as a Blue Ray recorder!

HDRE

January 9, 2010, 3:38 pm

@TR/Danny Excellent Review.


More Freesat product reviews please. As a current Sky HD customer I'm very interested in any real alternative to Sky's very user friendly interface/platform.

justin steggles

January 9, 2010, 4:45 pm

Yes, more of the same please. I know alot of people looking for an alternative to the Sky HD box, which seems to be very unreliable. Everyone I know needs to reset there box at least once a week and failed recordings etc.


Roll on Freesat.

Mike

January 10, 2010, 3:45 pm

@justin steggles, that's interesting your comments about Sky boxes being unreliable and giving failed recordings. I have a Grundig Sky box under their freesat alternative to a subscription service. I find this box as with others I've tried from Sky, to be excatly that too! My box either freezes up so I can't change channels etc or it sometimes fails to switch on for a 'autoview' programme. Has anyone heard of similar occurrences on the Humam foxsat HDR ? ( Freesat +) recorder?

HDRE

January 10, 2010, 8:37 pm

@Justin, your not alone, Thanks to SKY HD, I've missed my chance to watch Heroes series 4 episodes 1 & 2! When you rely on Sky to record a series and find it's failed to record one of x in a series of episodes you begin to look else where. My Sky box couldn't find a signal, despite watching MOTD at the time! This is not the first time either. My current frustrating issue is the audio dropping every so often (though the usual trick of turn it off and on again does the trick) . My other SKY box (not HD) is fine and has never experienced anywhere near the level of problems I've had with my HD box. Considering I'm paying for a premium for the service, I'll be weighing my options up once more tech' is available or reviewed whether it be FreeSat or Freeview HD boxes. Bye bye SKY!

Wedge

January 11, 2010, 2:57 am

It's still overpriced compared to a Freeview PVR and I can't see why.

Gadgetsearcher

November 20, 2010, 7:44 pm

I have had this machine for 3 weeks in Spain. Got it from Cosco £200.00. Picture and sound just superb. Menus brilliantly clear but use of remote abit cumbersome and not so user friendly but quite manageable. It could do with the ability to sort recordings into files for those you want to keep. e.g. Films.


The fan is very noisy and it probaby better to take it off auto standby. I have a Humax Freeview PVR and this runs rings round it. It could do with FIND function and the worst feature is when deleting. There is no option to reconsider.


Otherwise it is superb and great value. I am going to get another and replace my Humax PVR which often starts late and very often finishes recording early so you miss the last minute ot two of the program. The Grundig behaves perfectly in this respect.I give it 4.875 stars.

Doodle

December 12, 2010, 4:55 pm

I've been trying to connect the Grundig to a Hava Titanium HD Wifi to view Freesat on my PC via the internet. The Hava has Component, Composite and S-Video inputs but no HDMI so I have to use the Scart on the Grundig. So far I've tried using a Scart to Composite adaptor but got no picture or sound. Can anyone offer any guidance about what the Grundig Scart can provide and correspondingly, which input to use on the Hava.

comments powered by Disqus